Author Topic: program update error  (Read 7851 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
program update error
« on: February 15, 2004, 08:24:49 PM »
I have a problem, when I update the program I get the following error "Avast detected that the following program is running: F-Secure Anti Virus ...... There can be one on-access scanner active on the same time, 4 items were disabled"
The problem is, I don't have F-secure, never had also.
The two latest updates have this error, version 4.1.280 did n't have this problem.
I am running windows XP

Sorry for my bad englisch

Offline techie101returns

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1900
Re:program update error
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2004, 01:11:38 AM »
Quote
I have a problem, when I update the program I get the following error "Avast detected that the following program is running: F-Secure Anti Virus ......
Believe me, if Avast is telling you that F-secure is on your system (or was) then it is correct.  Did you ever "try" F-secure and then uninstall it?  Did anyone else without you knowing?

What version and build of Avast do you now have?.  The most current is version
4.1.342 and the database is 0401-15

Quote
"There can be one on-access scanner active on the same time, 4 items were disabled"
If Avast gave you the message that 4 items were disabled, I would be puzzled since Avast does not disable anything.  Give your Program folders a good look through.  Recheck your Add/Remove utility for an F-secure listing.

Quote
The two latest updates have this error, version 4.1.280 did n't have this problem.
I am running windows XP
The latest updates DO NOT HAVE ANY ERROR.  And I use Windows XP also.  NO problems at all.

Quote
Sorry for my bad englisch
Your English is just fine.

Lets see if we can get to the bottom of this ok?

techie

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:program update error
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 05:16:39 AM »
I have a problem, when I update the program I get the following error "Avast detected that the following program is running: F-Secure Anti Virus ...... There can be one on-access scanner active on the same time, 4 items were disabled"
The problem is, I don't have F-secure, never had also.
The two latest updates have this error, version 4.1.280 did n't have this problem.

I really suggest, after reading the last forums, a revision of the mechanism for detection previous av installations...  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2004, 12:52:45 PM »
My last perfect working version is Avast home 4.1.280 build okt 2003, my virus definitions are up to date that is not the problem.
Mij PC is a new clean machine, I did never try F-secure, I even now the program, nowbody else in my home did try that program, I am real sure.
I am also running AVP (Kaspersky),but this is NOT F-secure!
When I disabled AVP it did n't make any different, but till version 4.1.280 it was no problem, both scanners working together, why then now this error? ???
I will ussing this both scanners, note; there is one scanner running on- access

Greetings

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:program update error
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2004, 01:20:02 PM »
Try searching your system drive for a file called fsav.sys .

If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2004, 01:35:44 PM »
Nothing found. :-\

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:program update error
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2004, 02:13:43 PM »
You can try sending me the export of the registry key
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Services .
I'll identify the conflicting driver for you.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2004, 03:09:45 PM »
Sorry, a can't find the key you mean, a long key, I think?
BUT!!, I found F-secure,... on the same location!
It is in connection with Kaspersky???? >:( (in the registry)
What is the connection between F- Secure and Kaspersky
I think they are two different antiviral labs :-\

Offline Omik

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 32
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2004, 03:15:33 PM »
Sorry, a can't find the key you mean, a long key, I think?
BUT!!, I found F-secure,... on the same location!
It is in connection with Kaspersky???? >:( (in the registry)
What is the connection between F- Secure and Kaspersky
I think they are two different antiviral labs :-\

One of F-Secures scanning engines is the AVP aka. Kaspersky engine.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:program update error
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2004, 03:16:36 PM »
F-Secure Antivirus uses (among other) the Kaspersky engine.
Anyway, if you have Kaspersky, you shouldn't have F-Secure.

What does it mean, I can't find the key?
Open regedit, navigate yourself to the key mentioned, right-click the key and select Export.

Then send me the file (via email).

Thanks
Vlk

If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:program update error
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2004, 06:57:19 PM »
Thanks for the file, Benew.
Exactly what I thought: the F-Secure drivers are being loaded.

Are you telling me that you're trying to use the avast and F-Secure's (Kaspersky) resident shields at once? This is not a good idea.

If you want to use F-Secure/Kaspersky only as an on-demand scanner, you can do the following:

rename (or move to some other location) the files

C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus\FSAVP.SYS
C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus\FSFILTER.SYS
C:\Program Files\Kaspersky Lab\Kaspersky Anti-Virus\FSGK.SYS

and reboot the machine. This will solve the problem.

Hope this helps,
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2004, 07:37:04 PM »
Thanks for so far, I  try this, and let you now the answer.  

Greetings. ;)

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2004, 11:22:13 PM »
I have done so you told me, ........ it works, ;) I think everything is working well, so I can see.
May I thank you very well for your support!

Greetings.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re:program update error
« Reply #13 on: February 23, 2004, 02:33:50 AM »
I have done so you told me, ........ it works, ;) I think everything is working well, so I can see.
May I thank you very well for your support!

Greetings.

Wellcome to the best support forum!  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Benew

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • I'm not a llama!
Re:program update error
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2004, 07:33:03 PM »
You're absolutely right.

We may say it!!!!!!! :-*