Author Topic: Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?  (Read 9220 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« on: February 20, 2004, 04:13:24 PM »
Hi

I've got the Home version of avast and win 98SE. I'm running avast on a server at my home. This server is not comercial and I just run the server for fun. (So this is why I have the (free) home edition and not the server edition)

The server is also running a mailserver. Does anybody know if Avast scan all the email ports (110 and 25)?

I don't think so becouse If I send a email to my own server, there is no line included like "Avast have scanned this email, it is save" after I checked the "include a line to non-infected emails" (translation).

So it means It doesn't scan any incoming and outgoing mail acivity (?).
« Last Edit: February 20, 2004, 04:15:08 PM by sanderrrrrr »

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2004, 06:06:01 PM »
Mail scanning does not work automatically. Avast mail scanner scans only mail that is redirected to it. This is what the Mail wizard does at workstations. It is not usable for configuration at a server. You need to configure it manually according to help chapter Manual setting of mail protection/Cooperation with other software.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2004, 03:10:27 AM »
Sander, did you install the Home version into a system running Windows Server?  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2004, 02:49:40 PM »
Sander, did you install the Home version into a system running Windows Server?  ::)

I use argosoft's mailserver.
After I intalled the virusscanner, the computer need to reboot my server everyday  :-\
Now I'm trying to find out what the problem is (Mailserver or Avast).

Tnks for so far.
So, 'll be back in a couple of days. Sorry  ;)
« Last Edit: February 24, 2004, 03:11:32 PM by sanderrrrrr »

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2004, 04:51:41 PM »
Now I found the good part of the help programm  :)

This is what I have done in my .ini file
[MailScanner]
DefaultSmtpServer=127.0.0.1:25
DefaultPopServer=127.0.0.1:110
SmtpListen=127.0.0.1:25
PopListen=127.0.0.1:110
ImapListen=127.0.0.1:143

ShowTrayIcon=1
UseDefaultSmtp=0
AutoSetProtection=0

My Mailserver is working again but I still see no line of Avast! in my e-mails
« Last Edit: February 24, 2004, 04:52:51 PM by sanderrrrrr »

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2004, 05:36:16 PM »
Default...Server setting means where your mail server accept connections.

...Listen setting means where the mail scanner accept connections. It cannot be 127.0.0.1 if you want to accept connections from another computer. You can e.g. set
PopListen=:111
and set port 111 for POP in your mail client settings.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2004, 11:55:37 PM »
I suggest you take a look here for more information about the avast4.ini file and Mail configuration.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2004, 03:44:15 PM »
OK,

This is the situation now. The Mail server runs on this ports:
SMTP: 25
POP: 110
Imap: 143

Avast4.ini:
[MailScanner]
DefaultSmtpServer=127.0.0.1:25
DefaultPopServer=127.0.0.1:110
SmtpListen=:26
PopListen=:111
ImapListen=:144

ShowTrayIcon=1
UseDefaultSmtp=0
AutoSetProtection=0

The server and Avast4 are running on this IP 10.0.0.13, and the client computer wich have to connect is running on 10.0.0.7 (inrelevant)

If I set my client on port 111, it will try to connect to 10.0.0.13:111. So it will connect to Avast4. Avast will scan the e-mail and then give it to the IP/port 127.0.0.1:110. And that .. is my mailserver!! WHOOo, yeah !!!

The problem is, it does not work. If I try to connect to 10.0.0.13:111, This message is returned :
" Username hase been refused
Reactie from server:
'-ERR no POP server defined. Use avast! Mail Protection Wizard to configure it.',
Poort: 111 "

So ... what is my mistake?
« Last Edit: February 25, 2004, 03:44:57 PM by sanderrrrrr »

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #8 on: February 25, 2004, 06:00:04 PM »
1) either DefaultPopServer was not found
2) or the username in your mail client is not good

1) Look to the file Avast4\DATA\log\aswMaiSv.log and search for "POP Default server settings changed:", what is there ?

2) does your username contain '#' ?

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #9 on: February 25, 2004, 07:18:28 PM »
1) either DefaultPopServer was not found
2) or the username in your mail client is not good

1) Look to the file Avast4\DATA\log\aswMaiSv.log and search for "POP Default server settings changed:", what is there ?

2) does your username contain '#' ?


1)
"02/25/04 15:39:20:   Cannot connect to POP server mydomain.com:110. connect error 10061
02/25/04 15:39:28:   Cannot connect to POP server mydomain.com:110. connect error 10061
02/25/04 15:40:33:   Cannot connect to POP server mydomain.com:110. connect error 10061
02/25/04 16:08:36:   Cannot connect to POP server mydomain.com:110. connect error 10061"
2) The username contains the '#'

So, he is trying to connenct with my IP adres (mydomain.com). That's not good, he have to send it to my local IP, haven't he?
« Last Edit: February 25, 2004, 08:12:40 PM by sanderrrrrr »

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #10 on: February 25, 2004, 08:19:31 PM »
But, I don't understand. If there is a email send to user@mydomain.com, he comes in on port 25. What is Avast's job if there is a email send to por 25? He will just not notice it, becouse he is listening on port 26 ?!?!

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2004, 09:18:27 AM »
If the username looks like NAME#SERVER:PORT, avast will connect to SERVER:PORT and login here as NAME.
If the username is NAME without any '#', avast will connect to DefaultPopServer and login here as NAME.

In your configuration avast will check only mail that comes with SMTP to port 26 and that is retrieved with POP from port 111.

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2004, 12:07:20 PM »
Ok guys, it is working (yeah):

[MailScanner]
DefaultSmtpServer=127.0.0.1:24
DefaultPopServer=127.0.0.1:109
DefaultImapServer=127.0.0.1:142
SmtpListen=:25
PopListen=:110
ImapListen=:143
ShowTrayIcon=1
UseDefaultSmtp=0
AutoSetProtection=0

The mailserver is listening on port 24,109,142

It is all working fine :). Only one thing where Avast still doesn't check viruses is, if I compose a message ot webmail (a service of my mailserver) and I if send the message, it does not add the line 'This message is save'.

So that means, a message witch is made with the webmail program, does not going through the normal ports. I don't thing so. Why is Avast not scanning that part of the server?
« Last Edit: February 26, 2004, 12:09:50 PM by sanderrrrrr »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2004, 12:39:18 PM »
So that means, a message witch is made with the webmail program, does not going through the normal ports.

Yes, the message is send by other ports (used by the browsers)...  8)
The avast! Internet Mail just scan the pop3/smtp messages  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline sanderrrrrr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re:Avast (home) doesn't scan all incoming 'mail'?
« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2004, 12:49:15 PM »
Oh no, evil browsers  :)

There is no way to scan those activities?
« Last Edit: February 26, 2004, 01:21:01 PM by sanderrrrrr »