Author Topic: Error when scanning.  (Read 10741 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Aidendale

  • Guest
Error when scanning.
« on: August 09, 2007, 06:50:31 AM »
I dont know how to insert a picture since I never done it before
but each time I scan I get this error message Its in the avast folder and called 0000
I got a virus today looking something up and I cant delete , rename , move or scan it.
I tried to repair it under control panel but that didnt work. I removed it (avast) and reinstalled it and I still get the same message.

3.2 ghz dual core , 1GB 533MHz  ram , Windows Media XP , ATI Radeon X600 SE

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2007, 02:37:44 PM »
To know how to post a screenshot, see http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=8982.0
You can use Gadwin PrintScreen to get a screenshot (http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/) or the free version of WinSnap 1.1.10 (http://www.filehippo.com/download_winsnap/?2173).

What was the filename and path where the virus was found?
The best things in life are free.

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2007, 06:35:14 PM »
I'm using the free version 4 home.
I'll try uploading the picture.

However I have tried renaming it but it doesnt seem to be renamed. I have also tried deleting it and it says when I do it will be deleted at next start and says beside it that everything is ok but then when done and turned off or rebooted (tried both) I still get this same error.


marcjessa

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2007, 07:21:17 PM »
As i can see.. It is in the Avast! folder..

Maybe the folder/file is I/O lock and use by the system.

Try to uninstall the Avast!

Then find the said file/folder.. try to delete it manually..

Or try Online scan of http://security.symantec.com/sscv6/default.asp?productid=symhome&langid=ie&venid=sym Norton.


(Just the online scan!, i'm not recommending NORTON as AV program)

After the scan, it will show all infected files..

Return to this poll, then report the result..

or send it to virus@avast.com
If problem persist..

Just wait, many help will come..

8) 8) 8)

-mattrex0220

« Last Edit: August 09, 2007, 07:30:26 PM by mattrex0220 »

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2007, 08:34:02 PM »
That failed to work as well.

I cant delete the problem peroid. I cant find any problems with other anti virus programs and anti spyware. I've emailed avast and they were of no help at all there answer was something I told them in the email I did and it didnt work.


Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4140
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2007, 08:59:55 PM »
Expand the colums so more of the error message appears.

Offline Maxx_original

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1479
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #6 on: August 09, 2007, 09:10:03 PM »
aidendale: we need the whole error message... the file is locked maybe.. are you running avast under the admin account?

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #7 on: August 09, 2007, 09:48:25 PM »
Sorry I am watching after 2 little ones so my delayed posting cant be helped. I am sorry for it though.

Offline Maxx_original

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1479
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #8 on: August 09, 2007, 09:56:13 PM »
can you go to the directory, where the strange file is located and run "dir /X > output.txt"? post the results from output.txt here, pls.. i'm curious if windows can assign some 8.3 name to the file..

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2007, 12:24:51 AM »
I dont really understand what your telling me to do sadly :(
Do you have a link that can guide me to do step by step what you just said?

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2007, 12:51:33 AM »
I have a friend "trying" to help me although were both still confused
I expanded to picture on here so you see what I do and some of the directory is still cut off not matter how far I expand it to so I have no real clue to its location.

Offline oldman

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 4140
  • Some days..... MOS...this bug's for you
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2007, 02:03:36 AM »
You have a starting point. In windows explore go to C:\program files\Alwil software\avast4. Just keep clicking the + sign beside each heading. Click on the avast4 folder and check for the file in the right hand panel.  If not go to the next folder.

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2007, 02:53:51 AM »
I've done that but I cant find a file thats 0000
theres close ones in the chest that are 00000004 - 00000006
but nothing is just 4 straight 0000

Aidendale

  • Guest
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2007, 03:05:29 AM »
I am sorry I totally forgot to answer someones question.
I am the only person using this computer so yes I am the Admin account.

Online DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 87080
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Error when scanning.
« Reply #14 on: August 10, 2007, 03:14:17 AM »
The path that is shown in the image truncates the full path C:\program files\Alwil software\avast4\...\ (the \...\ is the truncated sub folder) I believe that because at one point you tried to move/rename a file and that it will be in the C:\program files\Alwil software\avast4\moved folder.

Lets also not forget that this is a file that can't be scanned nothing much to be concerned with. So I would suggest you check the moved folder and if there is anything in it, try a right click quick scan and see if it scans. Personally I would move it into the chest, open the avast chest and from the User Files section select Add now point to the file in the moved folder and add it to the chest.

Here it can do no harm and it will also be excluded from normal scans.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.10.6038 (build 22.10.7633.734) UI 1.0.733/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security