Author Topic: Help with Virus not been remove by Avast  (Read 10400 times)

ThePablo

Help with Virus not been remove by Avast
« on: August 18, 2007, 02:57:26 AM »
So, I need help removing a virus. Each time I scan with Avast my laptop restarts itself really fast, but when it does the screen turns black (PS: the computer remains on) and the system never begins to run. I think it is Win32:Gatina-B still not sure. I have little knowledge in the area of spyware and viruses and how to remove them, so if somebody can tell me what to do I would really appreciate it.

PS: the first time I scanned with Avast when the system was starting it found a file with the Win32 virus on "WINDOWS" and deleted it, now I think i made a bad choice from reading some stuff about the virus.

Offline Lisandro

• Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
Re: Help with Virus not been remove by Avast
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2007, 03:11:31 AM »
Can you finish boot and login into Windows or not?

General cleaning procedure includes...

1. Disable System Restore on Windows ME or Windows XP. System Restore cannot be disabled on Windows 9x and it's not available in Windows 2k. After boot you can enable System Restore again after step 3.

2. Clean your temporary files. You can use CleanUp or the Windows Advanced Care features for that.

3. Schedule a boot time scanning with avast. Start avast! > Right click the skin > Schedule a boot-time scanning. Select for scanning archives. Boot. Other option is scanning in SafeMode (repeatedly press F8 while booting).

4. It will be good if you download, install, update and run AVG Antispyware. Some users recommend SUPERantispyware, Spyware Terminator and/or a-squared (take care about false positives).
If any infection is detected, better and safer is send the file to Quarantine than to simple delete than.