Author Topic: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (now 4.7.1096)  (Read 128222 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #15 on: November 11, 2007, 10:33:58 PM »
Works like charm for now  ;)

Offline al968

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 847
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #16 on: November 12, 2007, 12:07:32 AM »
Works fine here on Windows XP Pro  :)

Al968

Offline bert2006

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #17 on: November 12, 2007, 02:43:49 AM »
Hi,

I installed the new beta version 4.7.1083 on Vista Business, and when Avast requested to reboot, the PC freeze dead just before booting. It happen twice so far. I wonder what causes that. I had to use the reset button to restart the PC after an avast update.

Bert

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9364
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #18 on: November 12, 2007, 08:26:12 AM »
Ok, this one isn't directly related to new avast! build but i am hoping for this small fix to be included in it already.
I was installing avast! Home slovenian (SLO) version to my friends laptop and found this one...

The thing is that our belowed slovenian translators did something strange...
Two different translated things for the same function, probably confusing user on what to do with found virus.



After some checking of all words, they seem to use "Virusni Zabojnik" instead "skrinja" in Simple interface GUI too.
So i think it would be best to rename text on button from "Premakni v skrinjo" to "Premakni v Virusni Zabojnik"

Any chance to fix this issue in this build (it's not that hard ;) )? I don't want my friend to be confused when she encounters some malware...

EDIT:
Oh, one more thing. Please add "View Chest content..." option into "a" ball right-click context menu. It's so damn annyoing to constantly run simple interface just to open it or make shortcuts on desktop (which makes usage of Silent Mode very inpractical). It's just annoying and i don't think adding one extra option is so hard not to be included for so long (i was nagging about it very long ago). I'm sure it wouldn't take pro coder like guys in ALWIL more than 15 minutes (including break time lol).
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 08:31:34 AM by RejZoR »
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline dj02

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #19 on: November 12, 2007, 02:55:02 PM »
I have Windows Vista Ultimate x64 (Finnish) installed and since 28.10.2007 auto update (virus definitions etc) haven't worked even in this new 4.7.1083 Beta version.

Even update (virus definitions etc) from taskicon menu doesn't work. Only update from add or remove programs works (virus definitions etc).

Warning.log:
................12.11.2007   10:18:36   1194855516   SYSTEM   1548   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
12.11.2007   11:19:09   1194859149   SYSTEM   1548   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
12.11.2007   12:19:42   1194862782   SYSTEM   1548   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
12.11.2007   13:20:15   1194866415   SYSTEM   1548   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
12.11.2007   14:20:48   1194870048   SYSTEM   1548   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
12.11.2007   15:21:21   1194873681   SYSTEM   1548   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 
12.11.2007   15:33:00   1194874380   SYSTEM   1544   An error has occured while attempting to update. Please check the logs. 


Error.log:
................
12.11.2007   14:20:48   1194870048   SYSTEM   1548   Entry point setifaceStartStat2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   14:20:48   1194870048   SYSTEM   1548   Entry point setifaceStopStatNoSummary2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   15:21:21   1194873681   SYSTEM   1548   Entry point setifaceStartStat2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   15:21:21   1194873681   SYSTEM   1548   Entry point setifaceStopStatNoSummary2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   15:32:59   1194874379   SYSTEM   1544   Entry point setifaceStartStat2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   15:33:00   1194874380   SYSTEM   1544   Entry point setifaceStopStatNoSummary2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   15:39:16   1194874756   Mika   5460   Entry point setifaceStartStat2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   
12.11.2007   15:39:16   1194874756   Mika   5460   Entry point setifaceStopStat2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.



« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 07:44:47 PM by dj02 »
By,

Mika,
Finland (North Europe)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #20 on: November 12, 2007, 03:35:50 PM »
SetIFace.dll error could be related to a non-good installation of avast.
Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).
If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

Do you use any other antivirus in your computer? In the past?
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11797
    • AVAST Software
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #21 on: November 12, 2007, 05:55:24 PM »
So i think it would be best to rename text on button from "Premakni v skrinjo" to "Premakni v Virusni Zabojnik"

You are right that it should be consistent. I'm not very happy to substitute a longer expression for a shorter one (the whole dialog has to be resized to that the long button fits in there), but "Virusni Zabojnik" is used almost everywhere, except for 2 places.

Oh, one more thing. Please add "View Chest content..." option into "a" ball right-click context menu. It's so damn annyoing to constantly run simple interface just to open it or make shortcuts on desktop (which makes usage of Silent Mode very inpractical). It's just annoying and i don't think adding one extra option is so hard not to be included for so long (i was nagging about it very long ago). I'm sure it wouldn't take pro coder like guys in ALWIL more than 15 minutes (including break time lol).

I'm afraid it's not that simple. The popup menu handling is somehow "fragile"... and it's very easy to make introduce a bug there. (And if the new item should be translated into 30 languages, you can count a month for it).
What I probably could do (right now) is enable the new item only if a special value appears in avast4.ini... this way the users won't be affected even when there is some problem there.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67255
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #22 on: November 12, 2007, 06:12:20 PM »
SetIFace.dll error could be related to a non-good installation of avast.
Igor, what about this problem? Am I right?
The best things in life are free.

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #23 on: November 12, 2007, 07:05:43 PM »
I'm looking for help of these beta users (I don't have any other info than their ip's):

200-100-115-25.dial-up.telesp.net.br
190-51-167-99.speedy.com.ar
Someone from India from mtnl.net.in with ip 203.94.211.6
20.66.217.87.dynamic.jazztel.es

Their logs contain information we need to check.

TIA
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 08:28:31 PM by kubecj »
Jindrich Kubec

Offline kubecj

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1123
    • ALWIL Software
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #24 on: November 12, 2007, 07:11:05 PM »
12.11.2007   14:20:48   1194870048   SYSTEM   1548   Entry point setifaceStartStat2 not found in module C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\SetIFace.dll.   

This is some kind of incomplete upgrade - your setiface is older than it should be. Please send file setup.log from avast4\setup directory to setupsupport AT avast DOT com.

If you can also check size of files and their creation / modification / access times, that would be great - we're interested in both setiface.dll and setifaci.ovr

Please also state if you use any other 'security' software.

TIA.
Jindrich Kubec

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11797
    • AVAST Software
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #25 on: November 12, 2007, 07:16:49 PM »
I was told (by forejt) that there was some problem that could cause non-updating of setiface.dll when updating the program from Control Panel. Renaming setiface.ovr to setiface.dll should hopefully help.

Offline dj02

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #26 on: November 12, 2007, 07:43:51 PM »
SetIFace.dll error could be related to a non-good installation of avast.
Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair).
If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?

Do you use any other antivirus in your computer? In the past?

No, i installed avast on clean Windows Vista installation. I'm happy to say that now i could update avast from Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Check Updates to this new v4.7.1083 update and after that auto update started to work.  :)
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 07:46:16 PM by dj02 »
By,

Mika,
Finland (North Europe)

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9364
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #27 on: November 12, 2007, 10:08:09 PM »
Actually i would go with "skrinjo" instead "virusni zabojnik" too ("chest" is indeed translated "skrinja" in our language). Just make sure to translate all strings into this one and everything should be fine (i noticed one instance in simple GUI but there might be others).
So, it's best to use the text already present on button instead (to avoid longer word and resizing of buttons).
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9364
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #28 on: November 12, 2007, 11:32:01 PM »
One more thing...



This feature doesn't seem to work under Vista. Or at least recently. avast! updates as usual but no tray icon (those two green and red arrows enclosed in circle). I know they appeared in XP and probably even in Vista. Anyway, check it out if everything is ok.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline gdiloren

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 1178
Re: *** Introducing: beta version of upcoming avast update (4.7.1083)
« Reply #29 on: November 12, 2007, 11:43:26 PM »
Stupid question:Do I have to uninstall completely the previous version of Avast?
My normal version of Avast (latest) works 100% fine, should I risk going with this beta version. I'm on Vista Home premium Intel dual core processor. :-X
Avast protects well!!!