Author Topic: Keyboard Error  (Read 6015 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 6welchs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Keyboard Error
« on: December 12, 2007, 06:44:01 PM »
I know I have a virus, but when I attempt to run a boot time scan, avast says
Keyboard error
press esc to bypass scanning
files scanned 0...

and proceeds to boot.

Does anyone know what I can do?

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2007, 07:01:04 PM »
Do you have the latest build of avast? (4.7.1098)

Offline 6welchs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2007, 07:04:30 PM »
this was just downloaded and installed today so it should be the most up to date, right?  (I use avast always on my computer but dh thinks it slows the computer down so he didn't have it installed on here!)
« Last Edit: December 12, 2007, 07:19:18 PM by 6welchs »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2007, 07:42:01 PM »
Depends where you downloaded it from, but in any case, check the about avast for the version details (right click the avast 'a' icon, select about avast).
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline 6welchs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2007, 07:54:27 PM »
ok i checked and yes it is 4.7.1098

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2007, 08:53:12 PM »
That is strange there was some modifications made to overcome this on USB keyboards.

http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-4-home_pro-revision-history.html
Quote
boot-time scanner now functional even with USB keyboards

Are you using a USB keyboard, what type ?
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline 6welchs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #6 on: December 12, 2007, 10:18:00 PM »
It is USB, its a dell

Offline 6welchs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2007, 10:36:01 PM »
well, the good news at least for me is that i went and got an old keyboard out of the closet and plugged it in and its running now.

Thanks for your help!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84558
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #8 on: December 12, 2007, 11:07:42 PM »
No problem, welcome to the forums.

At least you have an option open to you of using the old keyboard if you need to do a boot-time scan. Though it is a bit disappointing that it doesn't work with dell usb keyboard as it has with others on the forum who reported this problem. I know dell uses some proprietary equipment so I don't know if this might have an impact.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline vojtech

  • Avast team
  • Advanced Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 939
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Keyboard Error
« Reply #9 on: December 13, 2007, 09:38:47 AM »
Could you please run the boot time scan again with the USB keyboard and then post the log file (Avast4\DATA\log\aswBoot.log), it may help us analyze the problem. Thank you.