Author Topic: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...  (Read 6049 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

algasys

  • Guest
ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« on: March 27, 2008, 03:46:13 PM »
hello everybody,

As Alanrf, I have the same trouble about ashServ.

I have tried to apply the solution that Tech provide but I have noted that to click on the VRDB icon don't run. Nothing happends.
Then, I have disabled the VRDB generation and I'll wait for 2 or 3 days and see if my computer freeze again.

Please note I got this problem since the last program update.

I use win xp 2 last updates.
Avant Browser
Dell Inspiron 9300

In advance, I thank you very much for your help.

Alain

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2008, 03:51:55 PM »
I think you'll have to create a dump...

The command-line version http://public.avast.com/~vlk/userdump.exe . The syntax is
userdump.exe ashServ.exe c:\ashServ.dmp
(producing dump file in the root of C:\ drive) but I guess you have to be quick!

Also, check the folder <avast>\data\log
Are there any files called unpXXXX there  (where XXXX is a random number)?
If so, send them to vlk (at) avast.com
They may contain more information about the problem (maybe a link to this thread).
The best things in life are free.

algasys

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2008, 04:06:07 PM »
I think you'll have to create a dump...

The command-line version http://public.avast.com/~vlk/userdump.exe . The syntax is
userdump.exe ashServ.exe c:\ashServ.dmp
(producing dump file in the root of C:\ drive)

Hello,

Thank you for your help.

After 3 attempts I did not succeed doing the dump.  ???

Every time, the PC seemed frozen. The time the most during which I awaited was 20 minutes without any reaction from the computer. I have had to reload the PC.

To do the dump I put the soft in the c: main folder and I did "execute" since the sart menu.

Did I do something wrong??

Kind regards
« Last Edit: March 30, 2008, 04:08:30 PM by algasys »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2008, 04:40:07 PM »
Did I do something wrong??
It's beyond my knowledge... I need Vlk's help.
The best things in life are free.

algasys

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2008, 05:11:39 PM »
It's beyond my knowledge... I need Vlk's help.

Would you I write to Vlk?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2008, 05:22:05 PM »
Would you I write to Vlk?
I've done it.
The best things in life are free.

algasys

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2008, 05:29:20 PM »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67241
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2008, 05:33:14 PM »
You're welcome.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2008, 01:01:10 AM »
algasys, have you set the sensitivity of the avast on-access scanner to High?
If so, can you try to put it to Normal and see if that resolves the issue (CPU hogging)?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

algasys

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2008, 10:08:26 AM »
algasys, have you set the sensitivity of the avast on-access scanner to High?
If so, can you try to put it to Normal and see if that resolves the issue (CPU hogging)?

Firstly, thank you for your help.

sensitiveness is set up of this manner since the beginning of my usage of the software:
  • Internet mail
  • Network shield
  • P2P
  • Standard shield
  • Web shield

are on HIGH.

Until next to last soft update. Troubles appear since +/- one month.

Thus, I think this is not the setup which is wrong. Maybe some "conditions" have changed in my computer (windows???)

I have putted this item as high because I am very distrusting in the net.

But, I shall do as you tell me and wait and see.... Hope I don't get any virus!!

Have a nice day.



Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86662
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2008, 03:39:12 PM »
There is no effect in setting these to High (see below), as there is only one scanning level, the provider windows look the same, I think for aesthetic reasons.
# Network shield
# P2P

With the other setting set to High you have to accept that you are going to have more files scanned. This is especially true of the Standard Shield as it is effectively going to scan everything including files that are of nor risk of infection.

The normal setting for the standard shield provides a good balance between protection and performance. I have had mine set to that for just under 4 years.

I would leave the Web Shield and Internet Mail on High, they too are my settings.
« Last Edit: March 31, 2008, 03:55:09 PM by DavidR »
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2008, 03:44:22 PM »
I was talking specifically about the Standard Shield.
There is a BIG diference between the Normal and High senstivity in case of this provider. Setting the sensitivity to High basically means that each and every file will be rescanned as soon as it's changed.

This can have a big performance impact, especially in certain scenarios.

Again, please try setting it to Normal and see if it makes any difference.


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

algasys

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2008, 04:51:59 PM »
There is no effect in setting these to High (see below), as there is only one scanning level, the provider windows look the same, I think for aesthetic reasons.
# Network shield
# P2P
With the other setting set to High you have to accept that you are going to have more files scanned. This is especially true of the Standard Shield as it is effectively going to scan everything including files that are of nor risk of infection.
The normal setting for the standard shield provides a good balance between protection and performance. I have had mine set to that for just under 4 years.

I would leave the Web Shield and Internet Mail on High, they too are my settings.

Thank you for your answer. I'll change the set up.

algasys

  • Guest
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2008, 04:53:43 PM »
I was talking specifically about the Standard Shield.
There is a BIG diference between the Normal and High senstivity in case of this provider. Setting the sensitivity to High basically means that each and every file will be rescanned as soon as it's changed.
This can have a big performance impact, especially in certain scenarios.
Again, please try setting it to Normal and see if it makes any difference.

Thank you for your advices. As I tell to hereunder, I'll change the setup.
In a couple of days, I'll tell you the news.
Bye

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86662
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ashServ.exe hogging CPU...
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2008, 07:15:31 PM »
No problem, glad we could help.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.5.6015 (build 22.5.7263.730) UI 1.0.711/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security