Author Topic: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178  (Read 4322 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nightshade

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« on: April 14, 2008, 07:27:46 PM »
I use Zone Alarm and checked all the avast settings, and they all show as version 1169, why would this be as I installed the beta which is 1178

98 S.E
« Last Edit: April 14, 2008, 07:44:07 PM by nightshade »
Free avast.
Product version 22.4.6011
Windows 7 32bit
Version 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11818
    • AVAST Software
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 08:12:25 PM »
That's OK; ZoneAlarm uses version info of (some) executables to display the version number - and this number wasn't updated in avast! 1178 executables.

Offline nightshade

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 08:19:40 PM »
That's OK; ZoneAlarm uses version info of (some) executables to display the version number - and this number wasn't updated in avast! 1178 executables.


Should I grant them all access in Zone Alarm?

And should I grant them all access for server too?
Free avast.
Product version 22.4.6011
Windows 7 32bit
Version 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2008, 08:25:44 PM »
Into the firewall settings, the following programs should be allowed to connect:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup (avast! Update executable). This is a temporary file that just appears when an update (check) is about to launch, and disappears again afterwards.

Don't need rights to connect:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service). Although, ashServ.exe sends ping packets to find out if the Internet connection is alive. You can turn this off by checking the "My computer is permanently connected to the Internet" box in the avast Program Settings > Update (Connections) page.
The best things in life are free.

Offline nightshade

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2008, 08:41:36 PM »
Let me confirm what I have done and let me know if it's correct please.

avast antivirus service I have completely blocked.

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service).

The rest I have given access to but not server access, is this correct too?

Free avast.
Product version 22.4.6011
Windows 7 32bit
Version 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2008, 10:41:09 PM »
avast antivirus service I have completely blocked.
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service).
I think this is ok for ZA, but I will just remove this program of the list. It will ask for permission later, if needed.

The rest I have given access to but not server access, is this correct too?
I think it's ok. But I'll let ZA to 'ask' for server rights when needed.
The best things in life are free.

Offline nightshade

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2008, 12:59:40 AM »
I have done the same, thank you.
Free avast.
Product version 22.4.6011
Windows 7 32bit
Version 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1

rdmaloyjr

  • Guest
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2008, 01:01:41 AM »
I have a non-free version of ZA on one computer & the free ZA on the other, ZA doesn't recognize avast! & never has.  Is there a new version of ZA that recognizes avast!?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2008, 03:42:06 AM »
Is there a new version of ZA that recognizes avast!?
No. Zonelabs just recognizes what it wants. There is no reason to expect a different behavior... marketing issues.
The best things in life are free.

Offline nightshade

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2008, 04:36:51 AM »
That's OK; ZoneAlarm uses version info of (some) executables to display the version number - and this number wasn't updated in avast! 1178 executables.


I have performed a manual update to build 1185 without disabling the self defence module given that I have 98 S.E and the user of this system is not allowed access to do this, so it all went through successfully, but as you mention in the quote about the executables I post here the settings I currently have on Zone Alarm on the entry detail.

Avast Anti-Virus Update version 4.8.0.0

Avast Email scanner service 4.8.1169

Avast Web Scanner 4.8.1184,0

Just wondered if these settings looked ok for the current build of 1185.
Free avast.
Product version 22.4.6011
Windows 7 32bit
Version 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1

Offline nightshade

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 702
Re: Zone Alarm shows 1169 instead of 1178
« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2008, 04:46:21 AM »
I would not worry too much about the version information being shown by ZoneAlarm.  It seems to be a regular feature of the beta program that these are not completely "tidied up" until the new final release is made available.     
   

alanrf has very kindly answered this question and put my fears to rest, thanks once again alanrf.
Free avast.
Product version 22.4.6011
Windows 7 32bit
Version 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1