Author Topic: Win32:Trojan-gen (other).  (Read 9512 times)

arcbuilder

Win32:Trojan-gen (other).
« on: October 20, 2008, 09:15:04 AM »
Hi,

I am very new to this and not an expert in software (not even a novice) so forgive the possible lack of information. More can be posted as necessary.

I keep getting a notice from avast! during a thorough scan saying that a file has Win32:Trojan-gen (other). I remove to the chest as advised. Each time I re-run the scan I get the same message but for a different file. Each time I remove to the chest as advised.
I get this message consistantly when the scan is at 94% completion and it only notifies me of 1 file each time.

In work now so don't have the full details with me as I am half afraid to go onto the internet at home since I've picked up this virus. Is it safe to use my laptop whilst getting this message, i.e. go online, hook up a media player (Archos 705), etc??

I only dowloaded avast! 3 days ago so any advice/tips on what I should do would be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Offline FreewheelinFrank

• Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • I'm a GNU
    • Don't Surf in the Nude!
Re: Win32:Trojan-gen (other).
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2008, 09:19:11 AM »
Hi arcbuilder,

What is the name and location of the file detected? (You can find this information from the avast! log.)

Try a boot time scan with avast! Right click the scanner screen, select 'schedule a boot time scan' and reboot when requested. (Or open the tab at the top left of the scanner screen and select the boot time option from there.)

Try the usual free adware/spyware scanners.

Ad-Aware Free
Spybot Search & Destroy
SUPERAntiSpyware Free
Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware

Download, install and update the programs. Disconnect from the internet (pull the plug) before running scans in Safe Mode if possible.