Author Topic: What Anti-Spam Program is Recommended?  (Read 20590 times)

Sunny

What Anti-Spam Program is Recommended?
« on: May 31, 2004, 04:51:34 AM »
Hello:

I'm new to this MB. I run Win98SE, IE 6sp1, Outlook Express 6, on an HP Pavilion 8570, Pent. III, 256.

Can someone suggest a good, free if possible, anti-spam program for OE which runs well with Avast 4 Home?

Thank you all in advance for any suggestions.

Max M.Wachtel III

Re:What Anti-Spam Program is Recommended?
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2004, 06:07:10 AM »
sunny-
have you tried mozilla? I tried it out about 2 wks ago now and I like it better than IE6+OE. The e-mail has a really easy to use junk mail filter with more settings than OE.
And I just imported my address book and favorites folder.
Good to go!
-max

SirL

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2004, 10:37:53 AM »
I use K9 and 99.5%(and rising...) of all spam i get i sorted right. It's a small and free program.

http://keir.net/k9.html

/SirL

Offline Bluesman

• Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • Amiga Power!
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2004, 01:17:19 PM »
I use Spamihilator, works very well for me!

http://www.spamihilator.com

/Bluesman
"The blues are the roots, everything else is the fruits" -Willie Dixon

Online DavidR

• Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • No support PMs thanks
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2004, 02:23:05 PM »
I use MailWasher Pro, too many good points to list, check it out. I'm not sure if there is still a freeware version, I used that to start with, that only scans one email account, if you have multiple accounts you would need the pro version @ $US 37.

http://www.firetrust.com/home/index.php

If nothing else use the 30 day free trial, I really like it and when I purchased it (29.95) 18 months ago, I have had three free upgrades to the current version 4.1.

David