Author Topic: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium  (Read 1869 times)

Offline epp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Avast has been installed on a 64-bit PC that came with the 32-bit version of Windows Vista Home Premium pre-installed.  I'm happy to report that the installation went through perfectly and daily updates take a matter of seconds.  :)

I read elsewhere on the forum that beginning with Vista, the VRDB wasn't used with Vista, yet after the installation, both its (i) icon as well as the (a) icon appeared in the taskbar.  Should that have been expected? 

Note that I was surprised to see a 32-bit OS pre-installed on 64-bit hardware...


Offline logos

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9456
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2009, 12:36:22 PM »
you're on a 32 bit OS that's all what matters... anyway vrdb runs fine in both Vista and Seven (including 64 bit versions). And: vrdb will be discontinued by Avast in version 5  ;)

edit: don't be surprised, close to 100 % of new hadware is 64 bit, and close to 99% of pre-installed OS are 32 bit.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2009, 12:38:19 PM by Logos »
w7 - ais7

Offline epp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2009, 12:52:02 PM »
edit: don't be surprised, close to 100 % of new hadware is 64 bit, and close to 99% of pre-installed OS are 32 bit.

We also have a 64-bit version of a variant of Ubuntu Linux running on the same system.  :)






Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8800
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2009, 01:08:43 PM »
I like my Windows 7 64bit system that's running avast! V5.0.239 beta2

My old XP Pro system is still working great as well. 
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline logos

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9456
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2009, 01:12:48 PM »
edit: don't be surprised, close to 100 % of new hadware is 64 bit, and close to 99% of pre-installed OS are 32 bit.

We also have a 64-bit version of a variant of Ubuntu Linux running on the same system.  :)


yeah, because you installed it yourself, what's your point  ???
w7 - ais7

Offline epp

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2009, 01:15:38 PM »
It just seemed a bit odd that a PC manufacturer would install a 32-bit OS on 64-bit architecture, thats all.  No harm done.  :)




Offline logos

  • avast! Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9456
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Avast installation on 64-bit system with 32-bit Vista Home Premium
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2009, 01:22:02 PM »
It just seemed a bit odd that a PC manufacturer would install a 32-bit OS on 64-bit architecture, thats all.  No harm done.  :)

they all do that  ;)
w7 - ais7

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now