Author Topic: Cannot access AVAST webpage!  (Read 54492 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #45 on: January 10, 2010, 11:06:09 PM »
Ok, there goes the file, but the problem persists.  :(

YoKenny

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #46 on: January 10, 2010, 11:41:12 PM »
Ok, there goes the file, but the problem persists.  :(

I would have given up by now and found my install CDs and backed up my important data to external media then ran FORMAT and install the operating system then restore what I needed.

essexboy must have the patience of Job:
http://www.usingenglish.com/reference/idioms/patience+of+job.html

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #47 on: January 10, 2010, 11:52:32 PM »
Whilst I research that error can you set the computer as opposed to the router to use OpenDNS

Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #48 on: January 11, 2010, 12:00:59 AM »
 ???
That means, return to automatic DNS ? Have done it already...
Or... to deactivate the router?


(Just seen your post YoKenny:  :) . Was thinking in turning off my PC. Will have patience. Tks.)
« Last Edit: January 11, 2010, 12:32:51 AM by Kary »

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #49 on: January 11, 2010, 08:33:40 PM »
No set the router to use OpenDNS along with setting your computer to do the same the instructions for both are on the OpenDNS link

Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #50 on: January 11, 2010, 09:14:40 PM »
Have read a little over Dynamic DNS (my modem can use it, but it's not in use now) but am not sure if that is what you mean by Open DNS  :-[
Is it so, please?

Also I've seen my modem is using a firewall (server's?).

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #51 on: January 11, 2010, 09:53:05 PM »
OpenDNS bypasses the router DNS lookup if you could go to this page https://store.opendns.com/setup/computer/ select your operating system and then follow the instructions to set your computer to use OpenDNS.  Let me know if that enables you to access Avast 

Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #52 on: January 11, 2010, 11:11:21 PM »
Been trying to change the DNS on the modem, but cannot find the way. Have called the provider but they say it's too late to talk with the technicians now and that I should call tomorrow... ::)

Anyway I've also read about the possibility of a higher risk of malaware and virus attacks using open DNS...  :-\

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #53 on: January 11, 2010, 11:40:53 PM »
Quote
Anyway I've also read about the possibility of a higher risk of malaware and virus attacks using open DNS... 
Really OpenDNS have their own database of bad sites and block access to them, I have never encountered any malware since using it - and I do look for it

Can you access your router by typing in the address bar of IE 192.168.0.1


Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #54 on: January 14, 2010, 08:44:08 PM »
Hello Essexboy.

Have just tried to load what you said. Nothing.

Said page not found in IE. Tried in Firefox: first said the page took too long to load, 2 or 3 times after: the same 'page not found' appeared... :(

Avast page and Microsoft's still show message: 'cannot find the server'...

Online DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89441
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #55 on: January 14, 2010, 09:35:48 PM »
Whilst that is the generally accepted local IP address for router setup, some routers use a different address, so you will have to check your routers documentation.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.6.6121 (build 24.6.9241.848) UI 1.0.809/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #56 on: January 14, 2010, 11:07:58 PM »
Have you tried OpenDNS yet ?

Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #57 on: January 15, 2010, 06:50:37 PM »
Have tried OpenDNS page also with my netbook.
Found the address for my modem, but there stays only the DNS am using but no possibility to change them.
Have also called the provider. They say within 3 days (!!!) a thecnician will call me... ::)

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40589
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #58 on: January 15, 2010, 08:17:48 PM »
Can you try openDNS on the computer ? as that may give you a temporary respite

Kary

  • Guest
Re: Cannot access AVAST webpage!
« Reply #59 on: January 16, 2010, 08:04:45 PM »
Have tried, I think, all possibilities...

Seems the DNS are controlled by the provider, no way to change them in the modem.

Have changed DNS in my PC, I can go in internet, open OpenDNS page, login, open my modem page, but cannot find the way to change the DNS of the modem. (Of course, still cannot open AVAST nor Microsoft pages).

Have seen the DNS in both PC and netbook are the same. What changes is the IP.

Have also noticed , each time I clean the disk (each time I go out from internet), even If I have opened one or no page, there are a big quantity of files to compress (???), round 27MB(!!!).


Today I have called again the provider and talked with a technician. He said they cannot change the DNS (!!!), they can only read it.... I asked which were those values and he gave me (for the ethernet connection) 2 very different ones [from the DNS I can see on the control panel (IP link) of my modem], and didn't want to give me the link where he could see those DNS values (said was a private info)...

Someone blocked the connection (!) (= cleared the sftw. to reach the modem) and I had to erase the connection program and reload it newly (from provider's CD).

Please HELP!

Have just controlled the clock of my PC: it was 8 days and some minutes back (!!!!)...

« Last Edit: January 18, 2010, 07:57:20 PM by Kary »