Author Topic: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?  (Read 17526 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Texas-Hansen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« on: February 04, 2010, 03:59:33 AM »
I have Avast 5 installed. It appears that Avast 5 might be preventing System Restore on Windows 7 from completing.  Upon reboot during the System Restore process., I get an error message that it couldn't complete due to Avast. Anyone else seeing this?

Offline buttoni

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • I love rat terriers!
    • Buttoni's Low-Carb Recipes
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 05:17:09 PM »
Well, FWIW, no, I'm on a new pc running Win7 x64 with Avast5 AV installed cleanly (in safe mode, after uninstalling 4.8 & running aswClear.exe also in safe mode) and I'm having no problems with System Restore.  Have only used it once since getting this pc.  No problems creating restore points either.
System Specs:  Hp Pavilion p6270z quad core; 2.6 GHz; 8GB DDR3 ram; Win7x64 Home Premium; FX 3.6; DSL 2Wire 1800 router; Yahoo Web Mail; MVPS Hosts; Comodo FW (D+ enabled); Avast5 AV Free Ed; SuperAntispyware Pro; Windows Defender; MBAM on demand.

Offline Mogens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 07:47:51 PM »
I have exactly the same problem running Win 7 x86.

I needed to restore the system as it was prior to an attempted upgrade of TuneUp utilities that failed because Avast was running, so this is a double whammy.

I think I can get around it _IF_ there is a way to turn Avast 5 off temporarily - but how do you do that?

A friend of mine had a similar problem and gave up on Avast in favour of Microsoft Security Essentials.

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2010, 08:19:09 PM »
did a system restore this afternoon, but did it in safe mode to avoid security software interference. Was more worried about Comodo def+ then Avast to be honest. Anyway all went fine.
w7 - ais7

Offline Mogens

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #4 on: February 04, 2010, 08:30:43 PM »
My attempted system restore was also done in safe mode.

Offline pluft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2010, 09:28:22 AM »
I can also confirm that Avast 5 seems to interfere with system restore on Windows XP Home Edition SP3.  I've seen this on two computers, now (both running XP Home).  I had to use system restore on my netbook (running Avast 5) a few days ago, and after reboot system restore hung.  All I had was a blank screen.  I was able to kill rstrui.exe from task manager, which allowed windows to finish loading.  I thought this was odd, but then I had to do a system restore on another machine today, also running Avast 5.  Same problem.  I noticed Avast.setup was running while the system was hung, so I ran the following test:

Under avast troubleshooting I checked "Load Avast services only after loading other system services."  I also disabled automatic updates of both the definition database and the program.  I then did another restore (for another date), and the restore completed successfully.  This is obviously not definitive proof that there is an Avast problem, but I think this needs to be looked into.   Thank you!

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2010, 04:45:51 PM »
Was that with avast 5.0.462?
This last build contains some fixes related to system restore functionality (but only relevant to the paid editions of avast - are you using the Free AV, or the Pro AV and/or Internet Security)?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline pluft

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2010, 01:45:51 AM »
Hi Vik,

Thanks for the reply.  It's 5.0.462, free home version on both computers. If you need any other info, let me know.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2010, 07:44:15 PM »
Yet not working...
After system restore, avast service does not load (can't be manually started), repair (Control panel) does not work, Fix button does nothing... There is still a bug...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 72814
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2010, 08:30:09 PM »
Was that with avast 5.0.462?
This last build contains some fixes related to system restore functionality (but only relevant to the paid editions of avast - are you using the Free AV, or the Pro AV and/or Internet Security)?

Thanks
Vlk


to vlk and all readers:
no probs with xp sp3!!!
used sytem restore twice without any problems...
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.10.6772.IBC [UI.679] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.3 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.3.2
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 96.0 - Cleanup 21.3 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.3 - CCleaner 5.87
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2010, 08:53:04 PM »
avast mess my day...
Just using System Restore to get a fully messed avast installation.
Nothing works... boot take molasses to finish, Internet connection to be detected...
After all, nothing can restore avast installation... I'll have to uninstall and install again...
Why can't I get any kind of support or acknowledge here?

Repair fails with the following log:
Code: [Select]
18.03.2010 16:49:41 general: Started: 18.03.2010, 16:49:41
18.03.2010 16:49:41 general: Running setup_ais-1ce (462)
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Operating system: Windows 7 ver 6.1, build 7600, sp 0.0
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Memory: 36% load. Phys:1995268/2097151K free, Page:4194303/4194303K free, Virt:2046160/2097024K free
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Computer WinName: ...
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Windows Net User: ...\...
18.03.2010 16:49:41 general: Cmdline: /uninstwiz 
18.03.2010 16:49:41 general: Old version: 1ce (462)
18.03.2010 16:49:41 registry: Deleted registry: Software\Alwil Software\Avast\5.0\UpdateReady
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Using temp: C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\Temp\_asw_aisI.tm~a05440 (34226M free)
18.03.2010 16:49:41 general: SGW32AIS::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
18.03.2010 16:49:41 general: DldSrc set to inet
18.03.2010 16:49:41 internet: SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/5.00 (ais-462;p)
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Computer DnsName: Notebook
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.0.197
18.03.2010 16:49:41 system: Installed in: C:\Util\Security\Avast (34226M free)
18.03.2010 16:49:42 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
18.03.2010 16:49:42 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
18.03.2010 16:49:42 package: Part prg_ais-1ce is installed
18.03.2010 16:49:42 package: IsInstalledPartVpuOkay: C:\Util\Security\Avast\Setup\part-vps_win32-10031700.vpx does not exist
18.03.2010 16:49:42 package: Part vps_win32-10031801 was guessed as installed
18.03.2010 16:49:42 package: Part setup_ais-1ce is installed
18.03.2010 16:49:42 package: IsInstalledPartVpuOkay: C:\Util\Security\Avast\Setup\part-jrog-68.vpx does not exist
18.03.2010 16:49:42 package: Part jrog-6b was guessed as installed
18.03.2010 16:49:42 general: LoadState: Edition=3
18.03.2010 16:49:42 general: Old version: 1ce (462)
18.03.2010 16:49:58 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 304->133->133
18.03.2010 16:49:58 general: GUID: 3a01d0f2-8a9a-495d-beaa-a10f40627c7f
18.03.2010 16:50:01 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 362 (maintenance:0)
18.03.2010 16:50:01 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download615 AVAST5 Server' from 'main'
18.03.2010 16:50:01 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
18.03.2010 16:50:01 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Operation set to INST_OP_REPAIR
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entered SetupProcessAIS::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entered SetupProcess::Do( INST_OP_REPAIR )
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entered SetupProcessAIS::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_INSTALL_PACKAGES )
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_UPDATE_INSTALL_PACKAGES )
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: Entering:UpdateInstallPackages
18.03.2010 16:51:34 general: progress thread start
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: LoadProductVpu: C:\Util\Security\Avast\Setup\prod-ais.vpx
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: LoadPartInfo: jrog = jrog-6b returned 00000000
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: LoadPartInfo: program = prg_ais-1ce returned 00000000
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: LoadPartInfo: setup = setup_ais-1ce returned 00000000
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: LoadPartInfo: vps = vps_win32-10031801 returned 00000000
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: LoadProductVpu: C:\Util\Security\Avast\Setup\prod-ais.vpx ended with 00000000
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: FilterOutExistingFiles: 133 & 133 = 0
18.03.2010 16:51:35 package: IsFullOkay: vps_32-150.vpx - not okay (doesn't exist)
18.03.2010 16:51:39 package: SetDownloadBits: vps_32 setting 3 diffs to process
18.03.2010 16:51:39 package: IsFullOkay: vps_win32-165.vpx - not okay (doesn't exist)
18.03.2010 16:51:40 package: SetDownloadBits: vps_win32 setting 3 diffs to process
18.03.2010 16:51:40 package: ArePartsInstallable: 0
18.03.2010 16:51:40 package: Error processing packages. 0x20000011
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2010, 09:08:03 PM »
Yet not working...

Obviously, it IS working now, I mean, you can now do System Restore, can't you.

After system restore, avast service does not load (can't be manually started), repair (Control panel) does not work, Fix button does nothing... There is still a bug...

This is because system restore messes up our files in the Setup folder. I.e. it reverts some of the files (but not all of them) to a previous state, leading to a bad inconsistency.

If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2010, 09:43:06 PM »
Obviously, it IS working now, I mean, you can now do System Restore, can't you.
Yeah, but with boot messed (speed) and avast corrupted.

After system restore, avast service does not load (can't be manually started), repair (Control panel) does not work, Fix button does nothing... There is still a bug...
This is because system restore messes up our files in the Setup folder. I.e. it reverts some of the files (but not all of them) to a previous state, leading to a bad inconsistency.
But why don't the Fix button or the Repair function work here?
All other applications are being restored by System Restore, why doesn't avast?
The best things in life are free.

Offline PAL10

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 41
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2010, 12:08:22 AM »
    Their is nothing wrong with Avast 5....it is your computer  ;D     Sorry just couldn`t resist...... ;D
E8400, 8 GB DDR2, EVGA Gforce GT240 512 DDR5, 500 WD Black, 2 250 Sam spin, Windows 7 64 bit, Photoshop CS4, had Avast 5.....now back to Avast 4.8. This is your basic lean photo editing machine......

Offline logos

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9441
Re: Avast 5 prevents System Restore of Win 7 from completing?
« Reply #14 on: March 19, 2010, 12:26:59 AM »
Quote
This is because system restore messes up our files in the Setup folder. I.e. it reverts some of the files (but not all of them) to a previous state, leading to a bad inconsistency.


so I guess if the defense module is deactivated before restore is launched, all avast files should be reverted and be consistent again...I didn't have to use sys restore since the last build came out so I don't know  how it works now, and I don't want to do it just for a test. The problem here is that you might have to go for a system restore in safe mode (in case you can't login normally for any reason), and as Avast services are of course off in safe mode, you can't deactivate the self defense module from there, and you're screwed. Only way out then is to uninstall Avast completely and reinstall once logged in normally.
 On a side note, I had a cool BSOD two or three days ago. I uninstalled the firewall (just the firewall) to test another one, sometime later after uninstalling this other one , I attempted to reinstall Avast firewall, once again as it often happens with the uninstaller, the dialog box vanished a bit after I checked "firewall" in the list... and I stupidly rebooted, although I was almost sure the firewall wasn't reinstalled. Had a BSOD in the shut down phase and couldn't boot the system anymore. Went to safe mode, uninstalled avast from there, could boot and log in normally again and of course had to reinstall AIS from scratch. I was a bit upset so I run CCleaner before the new install and lost all dump files ::). So, there's a serious problem with the uninstaller every time you attempt to make a change to the setup (complete uninstall runs always fine). If you're not fast enough, the process just dies. Sorry for hijacking this thread a bit but I didn't feel the need to start a new one for that. This problem has been mentioned already...somewhere in the forum (uninstaller issues...).
w7 - ais7