Author Topic: [Resolved] Right Click 'Scan' not working  (Read 4814 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Seven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
[Resolved] Right Click 'Scan' not working
« on: November 30, 2010, 07:51:18 PM »
When I click on a file or folder to scan by right clicking it doesn't scan. It was working until this evening when I noticed that my AV shields had failed and wouldn't allow me to start them.
I reinstalled avast and now the right click isn't working.

I do have all options for this clicked.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2010, 08:26:34 AM by Seven »

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 10996
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 08:03:05 PM »
Try a repair through add remove program's

Offline Seven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 09:29:23 PM »
Thanks Craig -tried with no success.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6418
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2010, 12:08:56 AM »
When you did the reinstall did you a clean uninstall through Add and Remove and then also run ASWCLEAR5(Clean up Utility)in safe mode? Then reinstall the latest version.
May help...doing a clean uninstall is important in getting a clean install ;)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.6.2416 beta /Secureline v.5.6.4977/VS 5.77/ASB v.83b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.6.2416 beta/ASB v.83b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield Elite vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION all OS

Offline DavidR

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83341
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2010, 01:04:18 AM »
For a clean reinstall follow (I have assumed you are using the free version):
- Download the latest version of avast, 5.0.677 Free AV: - http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free_eng.exe (English only) and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again (if you didn't save your last download). Use that when you reinstall.

- Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, aswClear5.exe find it here and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for both 4.8 and 5.0).
  • 1. Now uninstall avast! (using add remove programs, if you can't do that start from the next step), reboot.
  • 2. run the avast! Uninstall Utility from safe mode, first for 4.8 if previously installed and then for 5.0, once complete reboot into normal mode.
  • 3. install the latest version, reboot.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.5.2415 (build 20.5.5410.561) UI-1.0.532/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Seven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2010, 06:51:51 AM »
Thank you everyone, I booted this morning and it was working again.
Maybe I just needed to reboot after installing?

BTW -is it possible that a hacker or virus could stop AVAST's shields?
I discovered all my shields were down and the 'START' button was greyed out preventing me from starting any services. Very odd.

Many thanks for all your input David, Graig & Schmidt.

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6418
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2010, 07:48:29 AM »
You are welcome.
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.6.2416 beta /Secureline v.5.6.4977/VS 5.77/ASB v.83b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 2004 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/Avast Premium 20.6.2416 beta/ASB v.83b/SANDBOXIE/Prey Project/HotSpot Shield Elite vpn 
     
*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
<LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE PROTECTION all OS

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2010, 07:57:40 AM »
BTW -is it possible that a hacker or virus could stop AVAST's shields?
I discovered all my shields were down and the 'START' button was greyed out preventing me from starting any services. Very odd.

Are you sure it was all shields or was it just the mail and web shield, occurring right at start-up, and fixing itself shortly after?
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5203
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2010, 08:59:07 AM »
Maybe I just needed to reboot after installing?
Yes, you do need to reboot after installing.

In the future if you have a problem with Avast, instead of jumping the gun and uninstalling Avast, try the Avast Repair option first:
- Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > Avast Antivirus.
- Scroll down and choose Repair function in the pop-up window.
- Reboot.

This usually does the trick.

When you feel that your issue is resolved/fixed, please go back to the first open post in this topic, click the modify button in that Post and change the title/subject, add [Resolved] to the beginning of the title so this thread can be closed. 

Feel free to come back any time you need help, to learn something new, or just to ask questions.  We are here 24/7 for your convenience.  Thank you. :)

Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Seven

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2010, 11:21:47 AM »

Are you sure it was all shields or was it just the mail and web shield, occurring right at start-up, and fixing itself shortly after?

Yes it was all shields, and this was yesterday after hours of being logged on. Where it says Avast! Shields Control on the right click UI, it stated ' All shields are off'.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5203
Re: Right Click 'Scan' not working
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2010, 11:41:49 AM »
Yes it was all shields, and this was yesterday after hours of being logged on.
Do a quick scan today to make sure all is clean.  Sounds like things are back to normal now.  :)

Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.