Author Topic: XBox and AVAST  (Read 8369 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
XBox and AVAST
« on: March 17, 2010, 02:05:20 AM »
Hi all. MY xbox will not connect to my laptop unless I turn AVAST off. I need to know in Laymans terms what I need to do in AVAST to allow my xbox to find my laptop!

Thanks,
Paul.

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 02:10:58 PM »
Anyone?

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2010, 06:59:49 PM »
What version of avast! ???

Free, Pro or IS?

What is the operating system and Service Pack level?

What application do you use to connect to the xbox?
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2010, 10:01:25 PM »
Hi there. It is AV IS V.5.0.462.

Win 7 fully updated.

I have to turn off the AV to get the Xbox to connect to the laptop. I simply want to know what I need to adjust in AV to allow it.

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8786
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2010, 10:07:23 PM »
IS has the firewall that is blocking the connection I believe.

Are you familiar with how firewalls work?
Do you know how to set up a firewall?
http://computer.howstuffworks.com/firewall1.htm
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2010, 01:21:29 AM »
Hi, thank you for the reply.

I know how they work, I just need to know what ports to open to allow the xbox through!

Thanks.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4130
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2010, 01:56:24 AM »
Hi Scot and thank you for the reply. I have had a look at those sites and advice given but I do not know what settings to change on Avast or where to start!

I see things like this;

Application   Protocol/Port   Direction   Network
ehshell.exe   TCP 5555
UDP 7777   Inbound
Inbound   Local Subnet
Local Subnet
Mcrdsvc.exe   UDP 3776   Inbound   Local Subnet
Svchost.exe   UDP 1900
TCP 3390   Inbound
Inbound   Local Subnet
Local Subnet
Local Subnet
MCXNetTw.exe   Random   Outbound   Local Subnet
MCRMgr.exe   TCP 3932   Outbound   Local Subnet
Ehexthost.exe   Random   Outbound   Internet

and then I see it says this;

The procedure for manually configuring a firewall is different for each firewall model and for each firewall manufacturer. For more information about how to configure your firewall, see your firewall documentation.

So I need basically step by step instructions how to change these settings. :)

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1878
    • AVAST Software
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #8 on: March 18, 2010, 02:39:43 PM »
Hi Ekkl,
do the problems go away, when the firewall is turned off ?

Thanks.
Lukas

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #9 on: March 18, 2010, 03:27:24 PM »
Hi Lukas.  When I try and connect the media player from my xbox to the laptop it will not connect. When I turn off the Avast firewall it connects no problem! I just need to know where in the firewall I can let the xbox through!

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1878
    • AVAST Software
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2010, 03:44:29 PM »
Hi, I believe it should work OK, if the applications in question (from your previous post) are configured to accept inbound connections from friends zone. You can verify that on the Application Rules page on the FIREWALL tab. They should be listed under Microsoft Corporation group.

Do you see them there? If you still have the firewall in auto-decide mode (default), it should configure itself automatically. Currently we don't have XBOX here for testing, but from the fact that it does not work automatically it must be something more  :'( ... it works here when connecting two Media Centers from Windows, I'll test with XBOX hopefuly tomorrow.




Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #11 on: March 20, 2010, 11:51:01 AM »
Thank you. I hope we can work something out! :)

Offline T.C

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #12 on: March 21, 2010, 12:48:01 AM »
I'm having the same propblem.  I found svchost.exe and ehshell.exe in the "application rules" section, but was unable to find the other programs listed.  Still can't connect the xboxes to WMC.

Where can I find mcrdsvc.exe, mcrmgr.exe, adn the rest of the other programs to allow them access ?

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2010, 07:25:58 PM »
Can anyone help us!!!!!! :D

Offline ekkl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: XBox and AVAST
« Reply #14 on: March 26, 2010, 03:33:33 PM »
Anyone from AVAST here?