Author Topic: Firewall offered by Avast?  (Read 19761 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

S.Z.Craftec

  • Guest
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #30 on: July 30, 2004, 02:28:49 PM »
Yeah, take a look at his signature...

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?action=viewprofile;user=sowen

Who is he to call anyone in these forums terrorist ? He is one of a kind... yeah right...
« Last Edit: July 30, 2004, 02:29:54 PM by ..:: SZC ::.. »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #31 on: July 30, 2004, 02:38:34 PM »
ZA has security holes in the free version which i don't like

It's not truth. You must read more about any 'hole' in ZA free version. At least you're talking that the version has less feature than the Pro one. This is obvious. There is no hole in close ports to Internet (the major use of a firewall).

But i have never used outpost because im told it is very complicated.

Well, a little bit more as it is a 'rule' based application and not an 'application' based like ZA. But I don't think you can't learn with all the help of avast users here...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Cloussau

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 897
  • AVAST! antivirus with balls
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #32 on: July 30, 2004, 02:39:04 PM »
looks like you guys had a  little altercation of opinions, Ive just looked at his last ten messages and he `s payin out out on any and all. think i might go and review the whole thread now   ;D
sys- p4  3.0D ,  1024mb ddram ;arsenal :Avast IS 5.0 pro / Firefox / adblock /noscript : win xp/pro/sp3 32 bit

Offline lee20

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2326
  • The only true failure is when you give up
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #33 on: July 30, 2004, 09:39:38 PM »
Quote
It's not truth. You must read more about any 'hole' in ZA free version. At least you're talking that the version has less feature than the Pro one. This is obvious. There is no hole in close ports to Internet (the major use of a firewall).

Its in the way it checks mail, it is fine in the pro (paid) version, something to do with the .dot extension or something, but this may be fixed in the latest version.


Quote
Well, a little bit more as it is a 'rule' based application and not an 'application' based like ZA. But I don't think you can't learn with all the help of avast users here...


Sounds interesting, im happy with sygate right now, but i might test it soon.


--lee

"Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new."-Albert Einstein

Comodo Firewall, Avast 4.8, SpywareBlaster, Spybot + superantispyware, PeerGuardian and ALL software patched!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67273
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #34 on: August 01, 2004, 05:27:16 PM »
Its in the way it checks mail, it is fine in the pro (paid) version, something to do with the .dot extension or something, but this may be fixed in the latest version.

I think they won't 'fix' it as this is a feature of the 'pro' version...
The best things in life are free.

Offline LIFE

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #35 on: August 02, 2004, 12:59:19 AM »
Here is that old nagger  ;) Well someone has to do it :D

1) Freeware firewalls like ZoneAlarm, Kerio, Sygate are not bad, but you get what you paid for.
2) Real hackers don't tell they are, so your friend ain't one. (trust me I know)
3) Best firewall is still a hardware firewall. For about 40 you can get a router with build in hardware firewall. That still is the best protection you can get. And lets face it, you buy a computer for about 600, if you buy all software you want to use (not speaking of the freeware ones ofcourse) you will need at least another 600 before you have some decent progs. So what is 40 for a router/firewall and secure your system a lot more?!
4) Don't forget that viruses, spyware, adware, malware, trojans and such are different things and that there is NO WAY that one single application/security messure can deal with them all.

For a some more information about security you may want to have a look at http://v1ru5help.org/phpBB2/index.php and read the things I posted there about this subject.

TIP1: Don't protect just the 'outside', also have a look at your security from the inside

TIP2: Whatever firewall you choose to use. Close ALL ports and open only those who are really needed, don't make the mistake to do it the other way around.


Hi Artras !

Hardware Firewalls  they protect inbound only. I run a linksys router BEFSR41  i no there is an hardware firewall in but i use zona alarm 4.5.594.000 and SSL 128 bit encryption with a proxy call the total net shield it cost 100.00 usd for one year but it militar style encryption from www.anonymizer.com and it make all your online business anonym. Mr Militar guy or not what is the best software firewall i mean outbound protection have you ever hear about a hardware firewall call bitguard from www.tryus.dk  it cost about 50 euro for 3 years with full support and you can`t get  cheaper because there are only 4 companys who have it

Kind regards
LIFE

To all on the forum
I believe that banking institutions are more dangerous to our liberties than standing armies.- Thomas Jefferson

Offline BILLYANGEL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #36 on: December 05, 2004, 01:58:22 AM »

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42784
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #37 on: December 05, 2004, 04:07:54 AM »
Does Avast offer a firewall...?
Avast is an Antivirus Program. If you need a free Firewall, May I suggest ZoneAlarm. The current version is 5.5.062.004 and you can download it HERE.
Hope that answers your question.

LIFE:
You might want to update your copy. Your using an old version of ZA. ;D
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline Cookie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #38 on: December 07, 2004, 03:52:03 AM »
I use Zone Alarm and I also have a router/firewall installed.  I have liked Zone Alarm ever since I got my hands on it
Cookie
Windows XP 2000
AMD 2300+
Cable Modem 3mg

Offline troubleshooting

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
  • AVAST! COOL AV,IT BEATS NORTON & MCAFEE
    • home page
Re:Firewall offered by Avast?
« Reply #39 on: December 11, 2004, 05:44:25 PM »
My friends Don't expect a 100% protection from the firewall(on any firewall)Coz hacker ar very smart now a days to by-pass the firewall.

Be prepare to face it. ;D
Guys & Gals I don't repeat my system config.Here is my system config P-4,1.7GHz,RAM 512 SD RAM and H.D.D 40GB + 120 GB(high Speed) O.S Win XP Pro Sp2 (U.S version) Firewall Zone Alarm security suite 6.0.631.003 ,Ad-aware personal edtion 1.0.6V & Avast! 4.6 Pro