Author Topic: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?  (Read 33694 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Graphicool

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #45 on: June 28, 2010, 03:27:53 PM »
Can anyone tell me how it is that I could register through Avast and yet Avast can't download AV updates?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #46 on: June 28, 2010, 03:30:07 PM »
Can anyone tell me how it is that I could register through Avast and yet Avast can't download AV updates?
1. Firewall blocking it.
2. Problems with your system time and date.
3. Set "No proxy" into avast update settings (instead of auto detect).
4. Temporary glitch of the update servers.
The best things in life are free.

Graphicool

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #47 on: June 28, 2010, 03:57:37 PM »
Hi Tech

My answers in reverse order...

4 - Am I right in thinking that if this were the case the problem would be at the Avast end and nothing to do with my PC?
3 - I have tried both settings, with the same result. At present it is set to 'No Proxy'
2 - The time and date are correct.
1 - Apparently, according to the people on this forum, turning off my Firewall isn't good enough. I have to install it. I was about to do just that when I got you reply.

However the reason I haven't done that so far is because right up till the Avast people changed told me to move up to 5, Avast has been working perfectly well on my system for the past year. Up until now everyone on this forum have been pointing the finger of blame squarely at various software on my PC. The thing is though, my PC was running like a dream, no problems until Avast changed to 5 and I updated (or tried to). Now it's saying that there's an ERROR Cannot connect to servers. You are the first Avast supporter who has suggested that there might be something amiss with the servers!

The question now is, what can i do about it? 

Graphicool

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #48 on: June 28, 2010, 04:00:07 PM »
"1 - Apparently, according to the people on this forum, turning off my Firewall isn't good enough. I have to install it. I was about to do just that when I got you reply."

Should read...

"1 - Apparently, according to the people on this forum, turning off my Firewall isn't good enough. I have to uninstall it. I was about to do just that when I got you reply.


Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #49 on: June 28, 2010, 04:01:16 PM »
4 - Am I right in thinking that if this were the case the problem would be at the Avast end and nothing to do with my PC?
Depends on 1...

1 - Apparently, according to the people on this forum, turning off my Firewall isn't good enough. I have to install it. I was about to do just that when I got you reply.
Which is this firewall?

I suggest an installation from scratch (version 5 if you have XP or superior):

1. Download the latest version of avast! Uninstall Utility and save it.
2. Download the latest avast! version and save it.
3. Uninstall avast from Control Panel (if possible). If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after that.
4. Run the avast! Uninstall Utility saved on 1. If, for any reason, you can't run it, try booting in Safe Mode and doing it from there. Anyway, boot after you've run it.
5. Install avast! using the setup saved on 2. Boot.
6. Register your free copy or add the license key for Pro.
7. Check and post the results.
The best things in life are free.

Graphicool

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #50 on: June 28, 2010, 04:30:25 PM »
What again, this'll be about the third time since you suggested I did it at the start of this fiasco. But, hey ho, I'm nothing if not a glutton for punishment.

You didn't respond after I did it and posted the results last time though!?

If I haven't got a virus by now it would be some sort of miracle.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1886
    • AVAST Software
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #51 on: June 28, 2010, 05:32:23 PM »
Hi again,

you can go to troubleshooting section in avast setting, disable self defense, than stop all shields, e.g. by right clicking the avast icon, choosing avast! Shields Control  - Disable for 1 Hour.

Then you may stop "avast! Antivirus service" from services control panel, or might even skip this step and kill avastsvc.exe, avastui.exe and avast.setup processes in task manager - if they are running.

No, go to your firewall, remove all notices of avast from the list of applications and then start avastui.exe from the avast installation folder again. Click, "Fix now" button to restart the service. You should see a popup from the firewall, as the serviceses are being started and accessing the net. If not, the firewall is not detecting/allowing network traffic correctly.

Lukas.

Graphicool

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #52 on: June 28, 2010, 05:54:36 PM »
Hi Tech

This is the update

I followed your instructions...
Ashampoo Firewall asked 'Allow' or 'Block'?
ALLOW
 
POP UP
Welcome to Avast you have successfully installed etc

Registration
Type name and email - Thank you Registered for a year.

UPDATE AV
ERROR: Cannot connect to the server.
I CAN'T CONNECT TO THE INTERNET EITHER!

Clicked on CCleaner
Clicked run uninstaller for Avast - given 3 choices
Change - Uninstall - Update
Chose Update Components
Checked for updates - found updates - downloading packages (*.vpx)
INSTALLING
Product was successfully updated

I STILL CAN'T GET ON LINE
Try updating virus definitions
ERROR: Cannot connect to server

Tweaked shields...

File System Shield  - ON
Mail Shield            - OFF
Web Shield           - OFF
P2P Shield            - ON
IM Shield              - ON
Network Shield      - ON
Behaviour Shield    - ON

YIPPEE I can now get on line
But Avast still can't connect to server

Opened Ashampoo
Checked under 'Firewall Rules'
Avastui.exe - Full access
Avast.setup - Full Access

So, where do we go from here?

Graphicool

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #53 on: June 28, 2010, 05:59:19 PM »
Hi lukor

If you don't mind, before I try your suggestions I'll wait and see what TECH has to say re my reply. Cheers ¦¬]

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #54 on: June 28, 2010, 06:29:30 PM »
AvastSvc.exe must be allowed full access to the internet.
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

budema

  • Guest
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #55 on: June 28, 2010, 06:49:23 PM »
I had the same problem. I work in XP professional SP3...

I've done the following :
- from parameters, i put the proxy on "no proxy" in stead of "automatic detect proxy"
- in control panel - add remove software - on "avast", if you click on change/remove, you have the possibility to update program and database. I did it, and now the synchronisation of VPS and program works OK...

But i have another problem that is not solved : ik cannot download and upload my mails ... always problems (note : firewall / proxy / SSL / ports / ... everything is correct !
but it doesn't work...


 

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86130
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #56 on: June 28, 2010, 07:51:05 PM »
Hi lukor

If you don't mind, before I try your suggestions I'll wait and see what TECH has to say re my reply. Cheers ¦¬]

I would suggest trying what PK says as he is one of the avast developers.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.11.2500 (build 21.11.6809.528) UI 1.0.683/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #57 on: June 28, 2010, 08:21:08 PM »
So, where do we go from here?
Check your Hosts file (or even replace it with HostsMan tool) and see if it's ok.
Can you ping files.avast.com ?
The best things in life are free.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1886
    • AVAST Software
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #58 on: June 28, 2010, 10:00:17 PM »
AvastSvc.exe must have ALLOW access rights for both accept (server) and client - without that you are out of luck. What should worry you is why the firewall haven't asked you for that.

Would you mind sending me the list of your LSP network extensions - available e.g. via HijackThis or via this command line:

netsh winsock show catalog >c:\catalog.txt

Then send me,please, the file C:\catalog.txt

(providing you have windows vista+)

Thanks.
Lukas.

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4991
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: Can I reinstall AVAST 4.8 please?
« Reply #59 on: June 29, 2010, 11:20:54 AM »
I know some cases Ashampoo firewall blocks avast update even you disable Ashampoo. :-\
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=56120.msg475063#msg475063

Uninstall Ashampoo firewall and see results.
Main: Win10 Pro 21H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 22 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 21H1 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。