Author Topic: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration  (Read 26824 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« on: July 28, 2010, 09:23:38 PM »
help! i got a message saying that my older version of Avast! 4.8 was going to expire soon, so i decided to upgrade to 5.0. i can't get ot to work at all. i've tried all the tips i can find... i dled the uninstaller and have reinstalled 5.0 three times now and i still get the following message:

"The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log for more detail."

is there a dl of 4.8 i a can get, because i'm sick of this. i love Avast!, but this is ridiculous...

help!

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 09:42:03 PM »
btw, my os is Vista on a 1 year old HP laptop. i also use spybot s&d.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84607
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 10:01:43 PM »
I would suggest you do a clean reinstall of avast:
This is for the free version as you didn't say which you are using - Download the latest version of avast free, 5.0.594 http://files.avast.com/iavs5x/setup_av_free.exe and save it to your HDD, somewhere you can find it again (if you didn't save your last download). Use that when you reinstall.

- Download the avast! Uninstall Utility, aswClear5.exe find it here and save it to your HDD (it has uninstall tools for both 4.8 and 5.0).
  • 1. Now uninstall (using add remove programs, if you can't do that start from the next step), reboot.
  • 2. run the avast! Uninstall Utility from safe mode, first for 4.8 if previously installed and then for 5.0, once complete reboot into normal mode.
  • 3. install the latest version, reboot.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69431
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2010, 11:18:49 PM »
Search for that term in the forum:
The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect
There are many related threads...! ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2453.Beta#4 [UI.601] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 11:42:32 PM »
thank you both!

i'll try the dl installer (btw, my version is the free one) and i'll check the other threads.

^_^

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69431
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2010, 11:54:15 PM »
thank you both!

i'll try the dl installer (btw, my version is the free one) and i'll check the other threads.

^_^

You're welcome..!
Hint: You need the C++ 2008 redistributable... ;)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2453.Beta#4 [UI.601] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2010, 12:25:35 AM »
thank you both!

i'll try the dl installer (btw, my version is the free one) and i'll check the other threads.

^_^

You're welcome..!
Hint: You need the C++ 2008 redistributable... ;)
asyn


okay tried the C++ 2008 redistributable... rebooted... the whole shebang for the 6th time. still getting the side by side message. this is ridiculous.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69431
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2010, 12:34:38 AM »
Did you install the right version..?
There are two of them..! (32bit/64bit)
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2453.Beta#4 [UI.601] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2010, 12:40:06 AM »
Did you install the right version..?
There are two of them..! (32bit/64bit)
asyn


i don't know. i need the 64 bit version. i'm REALLY tired of this uninstall/reboot/reinstall over and over again. i'll try ONE more time, but this will be the last. if it doesn't work this time, i'm going w/ avira. too bad, as i really did like the old avast!

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2010, 12:42:39 AM »
Did you install the right version..?
There are two of them..! (32bit/64bit)
asyn


i don't know. i need the 64 bit version. i'm REALLY tired of this uninstall/reboot/reinstall over and over again. i'll try ONE more time, but this will be the last. if it doesn't work this time, i'm going w/ avira. too bad, as i really did like the old avast!

okay, when i go to dl avast!, it gives me no options for either 32 or 64 bit. it just gives me one standard dl. screw this, i want the old version back w/ the old interface.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2010, 12:45:21 AM »
I think what Asyn was asking was which version of C++ you installed. There are both versions on the MS download site.

Here's what you have to do. You have to uninstall Avast!, then install the C++ package, then reinstall Avast!.  I had the exact same problem on the Vista machine here and that was how I fixed it. I first installed the C++ files with Avast! still installed and then the Avast! GUI would open but I couldn't get it to update the virus defs correctly. It said I needed to update but then the updater said I had the latest defs. The only thing that fixed it was to uninstall Avast! completely, including using the removal tool, rebooting and then reinstalling Avast!. Ever since then it's been working perfectly. For some reason, the Avast! 5 installer does not always properly install the needed C++ files.

Once you get everything working, go to Windows update and see if there is an update for the C++2008 package, there almost certainly will be one that shows up and it's an important security fix.

You really should do this and get v5 working. It's much better than v4.8 was.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 12:49:22 AM by Dch48 »
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69431
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2010, 12:46:26 AM »
No, I was talking about the C++ 2008 redistributable..!!
Did you install the 64bit version..??
asyn
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2453.Beta#4 [UI.601] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2010, 12:49:00 AM »
You have to uninstall Avast!, then install the C++ package, then reinstall Avast!.

that's what i did. still the exact side by side message pops up.

Offline nonotnyet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2010, 12:49:42 AM »
No, I was talking about the C++ 2008 redistributable..!!
Did you install the 64bit version..??
asyn


yep. the 64 bit version is what i installed.

Offline Dch48

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 3150
Re: Avast 5 won't work- side by side configuration
« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2010, 12:50:44 AM »
Did you use the Avast! removal tool? You may have to run it for both versions to get completely reset. Run it for v4, reboot, run it again for v5, reboot again and then try installing the latest version.
« Last Edit: July 29, 2010, 12:53:14 AM by Dch48 »
Avatar FX6327X desktop, FX-6300 CPU, RX 470 GPU, 8GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 64 bit
HP dv6-6140us laptop, A8-3500M APU, 8GB RAM, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
RCA W101 v2 10" tablet, Intel Atom Bay Trail Z3735F processor, 2GB RAM, Windows 10 Home 32 bit