Author Topic: [Resolved] Avast won't open, and http doesn't work  (Read 22467 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #45 on: August 22, 2010, 11:37:01 PM »
Once that is done then you can safely run Combofix

Offline YoKenny

  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 8784
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #46 on: August 22, 2010, 11:42:58 PM »
I would buy a second hard disk either internal or USB to off-load or backup the overcrowded C: drive.

http://ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=36050&vpn=ST3500418AS&manufacture=Seagate&promoid=1088
E5200 2.5GHZ, 4GB RAM, 320GB HD, Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit, avast! V9.0 Free, IE10
P4 2.8GHZ, 1.5GB RAM, 40GB HD, XP Pro SP3 32bit, avast! V9.0 Free, Google Chrome
with hpHosts, MVPS HOSTS files, SpeedFan, WinPatrol PLUS

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #47 on: August 23, 2010, 01:17:19 AM »
Avast found nothing.

I put ComboFix on the desktop and nothing happens when I run it. I disabled Avast and ran it again, but still nothing.
A small status bar appears, finishes, and then nothing.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #48 on: August 23, 2010, 08:06:24 AM »
Classic,

Run TFC and let me know how much space that clears, then you must look at either deleting unused programmes or moving data file to another drive.  Otherwise any removal tools I use could break your system.
Did you Download TFC by OldTimer to your desktop and run it?  How much space was freed up when you ran it?  It tells you in a pop-up window.

link=topic=63069.msg532784#msg532784 date=1282510619]
Quote
%SystemDrive% = C: | %SystemRoot% = C:\Windows | %ProgramFiles% = C:\Program Files
Drive C: | 232.88 Gb Total Space | 6.81 Gb Free Space | 2.92% Space Free | Partition Type: NTFS
Drive D: | 596.17 Gb Total Space | 4.94 Gb Free Space | 0.83% Space Free | Partition Type: NTFS
Drive F: | 931.51 Gb Total Space | 0.77 Gb Free Space | 0.08% Space Free | Partition Type: NTFS
This is also a very severe problem - you have no drive space left - you will need to clear at least 15% from each drive [/quote]
Did you clear out at least 15% from each drive listed above?  In your last post, it sounds like you only were going to remove 80 gigs from my C drive.  If you need to put pics, music, etc. onto your J:/drive, which seems to have plenty of room...you can do that. 

Please try to follow Essexboy's instructions as he is trying to repair your machine.  Thank you.  He should return in the morning.

As for Avast, just keep it running as normal.  Don't do anything more except the instructions that Essexboy left you (see above).  Thank you.

Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #49 on: August 23, 2010, 11:51:48 AM »
Lets try a different tool

Download avz4.zip from here
  • Unzip it to your desktop to a folder named avz4
  • Double click on AVZ.exe to run it.
  • Run an update by clicking the Auto Update button on the Right of the Log window:
  • Click Start to begin the update
Note: If you recieve an error message, chose a different source, then click Start again


  • Start AVZ.
  • Choose from the menu "File" => "Standard scripts " and mark the "Advanced System Analysis with Malware removal mode enabled " check box.

  • Click on the “Execute selected scripts”.
  • Automatic scanning, healing and system check will be executed.
  • A logfile (avz_sysinfo.htm) will be created and saved in the LOG folder in the AVZ directory as virusinfo_syscure.zip.
  • It is necessary to reboot your machine, because AVZ might disturb some program operations (like antiviruses and firewall) during the system scan.
  • All applications will work properly after the system restart.
When restarted

  • Start AVZ.
  • Choose from the menu "File" => "Standard scripts " and mark the “Advanced System Analysis " check box.

  • Click on the "Execute selected scripts".
  • A system check will be automatically performed, and the created logfile (avz_sysinfo.htm) will be saved in the LOG folder in the AVZ directory as virusinfo_syscheck.zip.
Attach both virusinfo_syscure.zip and virusinfo_syscheck.zip to your next post

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #50 on: August 26, 2010, 09:15:20 AM »
Sorry for the lack of response. None of these programs were satisfactory, so I just reformatted. The virus appeared to be gone, but I had the same virus last year, and it's pretty vicious. It retrieves all logins from your FTP client, and uploads itself to every site that you admin. I couldn't take any chances, so I had to start from scratch.

Thanks for all of the responses.

One follow-up question. When I run Avast, it finds one infected file on my D drive in a hidden folder (System Volume Information), but when it tries to delete or move to chest, it says the file can't be found in red text. I can't access this folder at all manually, so I can't see whether it exists or not, but Avast says the mystery file is infected. Ideas?

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #51 on: August 26, 2010, 09:28:07 AM »
I would wait for Essexboy to respond as he may need to uninstall some tools that he used or give you additional instructions.  Thanks.  :)
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline essexboy

  • Malware removal instructor
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 40627
  • Dragons by Sasha
    • Malware fixes
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #52 on: August 26, 2010, 03:09:56 PM »
That is in the system restore folder of your D drive, turn off system restore for that and then turn it back on again.  That should clear it

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #53 on: September 07, 2010, 09:35:58 AM »
Classic, please let us know if everything is working on your machine now.  Thank you.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: [Resolved] Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #54 on: September 07, 2010, 09:40:54 AM »
Yes, everything's fine. You can close this thread, thanks again.