Author Topic: [Resolved] Avast won't open, and http doesn't work  (Read 22832 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
[Resolved] Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« on: August 22, 2010, 05:52:03 AM »
I got a virus alert from Avast a few minutes ago, on an infected site. Then suddenly, most of the internet stopped working. I say "most" because my Gmail, newsgroups, and torrents still work, but I can't access any websites (I'm typing this from my laptop).

I tried to open Avast to see if it's blocking something or changed the firewall, but Avast won't open at all. I have the latest version.

I'm assuming I got infected with the virus, and I don't want to restart. I've reset my modem a few times, but it's not that (and the internet is working fine from my other computers). Can someone please help me troubleshoot this issue? For starters, how can I open Avast to scan my PC?

Thanks
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 09:40:01 AM by Classic »

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 06:49:12 AM »
I right click and run as Administrator, but it still doesn't open.  ???

anyone?

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 07:03:31 AM »
Hi Classic and welcome to the forum.  :)

First I need to ask you some questions to learn more about your system:
1. What is your OS, 32 or 64-bit, RAM?
2. What version and product of Avast are you using?  5.0.594 is the latest version.
3. What security software do you currently and previously have on your machine including antivirus (AV), firewall (FW), and other security programs (resident and on-demand)?
4. Are you current with your Avast definitions?
5. Are you current with your MS (if you have Windows) Updates?
6. Are you current with your software updates?

When you say you got a "virus alert from Avast," what exactly happened?  Did something come up on the screen or was something put in the Virus Chest?  Try to give me more details as this will help.  Thank you.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 07:25:46 AM »
thanks for the reply SafeSurf

1. Windows 7 32 bit
2. 5.0.5 something. I updated it maybe a week ago or sooner
3. Just Avast
4. Yes
5. No
6. Avast, yes.

I got a pop-up alert from Avast that said the site I was on had a virus. The page stopped working, and shortly after that, every site stopped working except for Gmail. I'd been to a similar site before in the past and got a variant of the gumblar virus. This was December 2009, and actually lead me to purchasing Avast in the first place. Avast has protected me against this virus all year, and now I can't open the program at all.  :-[

Any help would be appreciated.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 07:37:47 AM by Classic »

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2010, 07:56:12 AM »
Just to clarify your system:
1. You are using Avast Pro (paid), you think you have the most current version but not the latest definitions.
2. You are not current with your MS Updates?
3. What do you use for a FW?  Windows FW, third-party FW, or nothing?

Where you using Google at the time you got the splash screen alert? 

We will need you go use the machine that is having the problem.  I will need you to install Malwarebytes’ Anti-Malware (MBAM) to do an initial check for malware.  Please print these instructions, then download it onto the (possibly) infected machine:

·   Download free http://www.malwarebytes.org/ for an on-demand scanner.
·   Double Click mbam-setup.exe to install the application.
·   After install, click update so you have latest database before scanning.
·   Under Settings:
o   General: Automatically Save File After Scan Completes is checked off
o   Scanner SettingsCheck all boxes
o   Updater: Download and install update if available is checked off
·   Once the program has loaded, select "Perform FULL Scan", then click Scan.
·   The scan may take some time to finish, so please be patient.
·   When the disinfection scan is complete, a log will appear in Notepad and you may be prompted to Restart. (See Extra Note).
·   Click the “remove selected” button to quarantine anything found.  You will find the infection details under the Quarantine tab.
·   The log is automatically saved by MBAM and can be viewed by clicking the Logs tab in MBAM.
·   Copy & Paste the entire report in your next reply.


If MBAM encounters a file that is difficult to remove, you will be presented with 1 of 2 prompts -- Click OK to either and let MBAM proceed with the disinfection process; If asked to restart the computer, please do so immediately.

After doing this, use you unaffected machine to post while I review your MBAM log.  Do you have any questions?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2010, 08:02:13 AM »
1. Yes, I'm using pro and I have the definitions from late July. I'm not sure if those are the latest. This virus is from December 2009 though, I'm positive of that.

2. No, it's a trial of Win7 that I never updated.

3. Windows FW

I don't get an alert on Google or any other site. The browser tab just loads indefinitely.

I will download Malware and let you know, thanks.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2010, 08:05:58 AM »
mbam-setup-1.46.exe won't open on the other machine. Should I start to get worried?

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2010, 08:15:13 AM »
mbam-setup-1.46.exe won't open on the other machine. Should I start to get worried?
Is the other machine the machine that was infected before?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2010, 08:18:31 AM »
That was last year, and I was using Windows XP. I've long reformatted since then.

Like I said, Avast has protected me from this all year. Now it won't open at all, and apparently Malwarebytes can't install.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2010, 08:19:32 AM »
1. Yes, I'm using pro and I have the definitions from late July. I'm not sure if those are the latest. This virus is from December 2009 though, I'm positive of that.

2. No, it's a trial of Win7 that I never updated.
1. When I refer to Avast definitions, what I'm saying is Avast "updates."  Do you remember when you last got an update on the machine we are trying to fix now?

2. For future reference, it's good practice to keep your MS Updates current as well as your software to avoid security holes, which help prevent things from happening.  But we will get this fixed after figuring out what is going on and doing more work.  OK?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2010, 08:22:58 AM »
Have you tried going into Safe Mode to download?  Only stay online long enough to download it then sign off.  Everything else can be done off-line for MBAM in normal mode.
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2010, 08:28:52 AM »
1. When I refer to Avast definitions, what I'm saying is Avast "updates."  Do you remember when you last got an update on the machine we are trying to fix now?

2. For future reference, it's good practice to keep your MS Updates current as well as your software to avoid security holes, which help prevent things from happening.  But we will get this fixed after figuring out what is going on and doing more work.  OK?
1. Yes, I updated a couple of weeks ago.

2. Okay

Have you tried going into Safe Mode to download?  Only stay online long enough to download it then sign off.  Everything else can be done off-line for MBAM in normal mode.

I already downloaded the set-up file on this computer, and moved it to the infected one. The exe file will not run on it.

Is there a way to go into safe mode without rebooting? I'm trying to fix this problem before it gets worse, which it will if I restart my computer.

Offline SafeSurf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 5198
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2010, 08:33:23 AM »
I already downloaded the set-up file on this computer, and moved it to the infected one. The exe file will not run on it.
How did you do this?  With a USB Flash drive?
Are you getting an error message?  What is happening when you try to do the install?
Mac 10.9.4 /Safari and Firefox (NoScript/AdBlockPlus/BetterPrivacy/Ghostey)/
Vista Home Prem (same add-on's)/Avast Free/Online Armor Premium Firewall/MBAM Premium)/ Mobile MBAM.

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2346
  • Memento Mori
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2010, 08:39:28 AM »
Alternative?>>http://www.superantispyware.com/
Try the portable?
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline Classic

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 49
Re: Avast won't open, and http doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: August 22, 2010, 08:40:02 AM »
I already downloaded the set-up file on this computer, and moved it to the infected one. The exe file will not run on it.
How did you do this?  With a USB Flash drive?
Are you getting an error message?  What is happening when you try to do the install?
It's on the network, I just moved it over. The internet  works fine on this computer, just not that one.

And nothing happens when I try to install. When I click the malwarebytes set-up file, or the Avast executable, nothing happens. No error, just nothing. There is something preventing virus protection from running on the machine. I right clicked, "run as Administrator" also, and nothing happens that way either.