Author Topic: Do I need an additional firewall with avast 5 Internet Security?  (Read 2362 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline XO39

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Hi,

Sorry if this has been asked before, I just couldn't find any posts about it in this forum.

I was using Online Armor with avast 4. And I just bought avast 5 Internet Security, and I can see that it comes with a built-in firewall. Do I still need Online Armor with avast 5 Internet Security? Or is the built-in firewall is enough?

I'm running Windows 7, BTW.

Thanks everyonw

-XO

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 36755
Re: Do I need an additional firewall with avast 5 Internet Security?
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2010, 10:46:30 PM »
Only run one firewall, so you dont need Online Armor when you have avast! AIS

Offline XO39

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Do I need an additional firewall with avast 5 Internet Security?
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2010, 10:57:07 PM »
OK, Thanks.

I'm going to uninstall Online Armor right away.

Thanks again  :)

Offline DigiDis

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Do I need an additional firewall with avast 5 Internet Security?
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2010, 11:56:18 AM »
I came from OA and wondered if the Avast firewall would be enough. The first thing is to be behind a physical router/firewall as much as possible. Then set it to ASK on all connection attempts just to have control over outbound attempts. Then I would suggest running your browser always sandboxed and then just go into the virtualization options and exclude your history, cookies, bookmarks and downloads. This will give you a great layer of protection that can protect you almost as well as OA but without the many annoying popups. The rest is just safe computing and I bet you can do just fine without OA.

AIS is a breath of fresh air compared to OA!

Offline XO39

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Do I need an additional firewall with avast 5 Internet Security?
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2010, 10:38:01 PM »
Hi DigiDis,

Thanks for your suggestions.
Sorry for being silly with the following questions but I have to ask to know how to work with avast,
How to be behind a physical router? And how to set it to ask on all connection attempts? and how to run browsers sandboxed?

I just couldn't find where to set these options and I'd like to know.

Thanks again  :)
« Last Edit: November 01, 2010, 03:34:55 AM by XO39 »

Offline CBell

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
Re: Do I need an additional firewall with avast 5 Internet Security?
« Reply #5 on: October 31, 2010, 11:22:03 PM »
To run your web browser sandboxed, right click it and select "Run virtualized" or "Always run in sandbox". You do not need a router or to set the firewall to Ask mode.

Quote
Designed for autonomous operation, it automatically answers questions about location, applications and files with minimal, if any, user input. Decision autonomy of the Silent Firewall is based on three factors. First, the list of secure applications comes from on-going research and review by avast! of over 50 thousand popular applications. Second, avast! recognizes connection attempts by applications with digital signatures from renowned major vendors. Last but not least, the Firewall also shares information with other components in avast! such as the Behavior Shield which monitors the activities and behavior of applications trying to connect and the new PUP detection of key logger programs. Together, those three evaluations help the avast! Firewall decide whether to deny or allow inbound or outbound traffic with better precision than the ordinary computer user.
Win7 64bit / Avast Premier / Malwarebytes Pro