Author Topic: [Solved - Settings Issue] Context menu scan doesn't work  (Read 7961 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
So in the process of checking a site, I scanned a script (in a text file) with the context menu scan, and it reported clean.

If I do a manual scan from the GUI or scan it in the chest, it is detected.

Same behavior with EICAR...

I think that I have seen another thread that mentioned this, but I can't remember seem to find it...

What is the problem?

Looking at the stats, avast isn't even scanning the files ???

Win 7 64 Home Premium
avast Free 6.0.1125
Winpatrol

« Last Edit: May 16, 2011, 12:38:39 AM by spg SCOTT »
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2011, 06:59:59 PM »
Same behavior with EICAR...

Just tested, works here...
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2011, 07:22:01 PM »
The context menu would detect it if it scanned it...For me, even right clicking eicar and selecting scan, produces the results shown above. Nothing scanned, and subsequently nothing detected.

Quote
I think that I have seen another thread that mentioned this, but I can't remember seem to find it...
To add, the thread talked about a file that a user downloaded, scanned it via context menu and it showed clean. Once it was added to the chest, it was detected.
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2011, 08:00:40 PM »
The context menu would detect it if it scanned it...For me, even right clicking eicar and selecting scan, produces the results shown above. Nothing scanned, and subsequently nothing detected.

As said, it works here.
See screenshot.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2011, 08:04:20 PM »
Wish it would for me...

The thing that worries me though is, that there was another person with a similar issue so it may not just be me...

I know what to look for, so not *such* a big deal, but for those that don't know...
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2011, 08:07:53 PM »
I know what to look for, so not *such* a big deal, but for those that don't know...

I know what you mean...
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2011, 08:10:30 PM »
Scott, did you maybe exclude the folder..??
(infections etc)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2011, 08:12:41 PM »
I made it so that I could do the "select folders to scan" scan to show that a manual scan catches it. Plus there are no exclusions set for the context menu scan
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 84559
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2011, 08:33:33 PM »
The context menu scan, being an on-demand scan will also use any avastUI, Settings, Exclusions entries.
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.1.2449 (build 21.1.5968.561) UI-1.0.597/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2011, 08:41:56 PM »
Empty...but then the other scans wouldn't pick it up either if there was an exclusion...

“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 69288
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2011, 08:44:18 PM »
Empty...but then the other scans wouldn't pick it up either if there was an exclusion...

We're just guessing... ;)
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 21.2.2450.Beta#1 [UI.599] - EEK - Firefox ESR 78.8 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 78.8
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 88.2 - Cleanup P 21.1 - SecureLine 5.9 - Driver Updater 21.1 - CCleaner 5.77
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline mag

  • Advanced Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 740
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #11 on: May 14, 2011, 11:25:22 PM »
It's not apparently related to the setup in your sig
Win 7 64 Home Premium
avast Free 6.0.1125
Winpatrol

I have all of those, and right click scan detects eicar fine here.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #12 on: May 14, 2011, 11:33:45 PM »
I bet it's related to the fact that the file/folder is on desktop... but apart from that, no idea about the true reason.

Offline spg SCOTT

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 4125
  • There is no magic, only lost physics
    • spg SCOTT
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #13 on: May 14, 2011, 11:54:20 PM »
I bet it's related to the fact that the file/folder is on desktop... but apart from that, no idea about the true reason.

Unfortunately, I am not even sure about that...
“There is a computer disease that anybody who works with computers knows about. It's a very serious disease and it interferes completely with the work. The trouble with computers is that you 'play' with them!”Richard Feynman

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11786
    • AVAST Software
Re: Context menu scan doesn't work - i.e. nothing is detected/scanned
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2011, 01:33:18 AM »
Hmm... OK, what if you enable creation of the report file (for the "Scan from Windows Explorer" scan) and let all item types be included there. What does the report file show after performing the same scan again?