Author Topic: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - NOW 6.0.1279 **  (Read 156791 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

mantra

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #45 on: August 25, 2011, 08:44:26 AM »
mantra you only get the update audio with the auto updates not with manual updating so as you have disabled the updating which is auto is why you wont recieve any audio, if i understand you correctly.
no
let me straight
automatic update -> disable the pop up
after an automatic update -> no voice (it 's associated to the pop up) , but i get the update

Dch48

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #46 on: August 25, 2011, 09:01:11 AM »
in this new beta the web shield have a priority over firewall. i'm using pc tools firewall and it will not give a notification when internet explorer or firefox try to connect to the internet. because they will connect to avast service that act like a local proxy. this problem happen only with the new beta.
There are known and admitted problems with PC Tools and Avast's web shield. It's not really new , just an escalation of an already existing problem. I was having a problem with that firewall not creating rules for some applications, especially 64 bit ones. It refused to make connection rules for CCleaner for example. I was told after they investigated that it was due to a conflict with their ESP module and the Web Shield of Avast. I removed PC Tools as a result. It's very buggy with Windows 7, especially the 64 bit version.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 09:06:28 AM by Dch48 »

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5181
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #47 on: August 25, 2011, 09:53:52 AM »
Thanks. Downloaded and installing... :)
Main: Win10 Pro 21H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 22 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 21H1 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #48 on: August 25, 2011, 09:55:05 AM »
After updating with latest version I get these errors
when trying to update SUPERAntispyware and MalwareBytes
with avast! shut down or disabled updates happen just fine


hayc59, the question is, can you access the web from your browser?
I mean, it looks like the firewall is blocking the avast service (AvastSvc.exe) from accessing the Internet. And since in this new version, all HTTP requests from all processes are routed through WebShield (AvastSvc.exe), blocking the process from accessing the Internet effectively means blocking all processes from accessing the web.

Try deleting the AvastSvc.exe entry in the firewall - it's quite likely it will be recreated, with the right rules.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

LunarWolf

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #49 on: August 25, 2011, 10:08:39 AM »
Just want to know does this version resolve the numerous BSODs?

Nice list of improvement. ;D Took you guys long enough to release a beta. lol

pikaczu

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #50 on: August 25, 2011, 10:14:44 AM »
cool. I look forward to the full version and quickly update through the update, not like last, after a week I update avast alone.

Offline NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5181
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #51 on: August 25, 2011, 10:34:24 AM »
Script Shield works fine with FIrefox 6 32bit. 8)

BTW, is there any plans to add a way to prevent WebShield from scanning all processes (i.e. INI settings or like that)?
I know scanning all processes can prevent viruses more efficiently but this also make outbound firewall nearly useless.
Once AvastSvc.exe is trusted by firewall (and I do so) then all apps can connect to the internet via HTTP without FW prompt.
This is not good for me... :-\

Edit:
Indeed a prompt ("trying to connect to port 12080") is appear, but it's still not good as I can't block specific IPs.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2011, 11:19:09 AM by NON »
Main: Win10 Pro 21H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 22 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 21H1 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

logo

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #52 on: August 25, 2011, 11:01:55 AM »
new version causes tencent qq crashing...

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #53 on: August 25, 2011, 01:05:37 PM »
new version causes tencent qq crashing...

Could you please tell us a bit more details?
Which version of QQ, exactly?
What OS?
At which stage is it crashing, exactly?
And could you please send us any associated information (or ideally minidumps), e.g. as reported in the Event Viewer?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67235
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #54 on: August 25, 2011, 01:58:01 PM »
MS Outlook continue to act weird and AIS asking for connections ::)
The best things in life are free.

The Seeker

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #55 on: August 25, 2011, 02:26:15 PM »
- Web Shield now scanning all processes by default

Does this mean Ad Muncher should now work out of the box?

Martinss

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #56 on: August 25, 2011, 02:40:32 PM »
clean install in windows XP and Seven, FF 6 and IE 8/9 Working without problems  :)

The only problem I have is not working properly silent installation, have this problem too:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=81506.0

ronnycopeh

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #57 on: August 25, 2011, 03:22:14 PM »
program won't stay update from file, over existing version, keep reverting back. need some help, thanks

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 86921
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #58 on: August 25, 2011, 03:30:30 PM »
- Web Shield now scanning all processes by default

Does this mean Ad Muncher should now work out of the box?

Good question:
I think it will be the same as it is right now, some report no problems and some have a problem.

Some existing topics, if admuncher is acting as a localhost proxy (I don't use it) and that gets in before the web shield then the web shield would have nothing to scan (regardless of what that traffic is), unless you uncheck Ignore local communications, as this is still on in the beta.

So I don't know as the new beta settings don't clarify if that would include other localhost traffic. See images, click to expand.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 22.9.6034 (build 22.9.7554.734) UI 1.0.728/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Wolf_Tech

  • Guest
Re: ** INTRODUCING: NEW BETA VERSION OF AVAST - v6.0.1270 **
« Reply #59 on: August 25, 2011, 03:40:02 PM »
Well Still no option in Windows XP 64 bit to turn off the Auto Sandbox feature. No pull down option nothing it works in XP Vista And 7. Yes people will say why not switch to windows 7. Well windows 7 sucks as a service machine needed for repairs and hard drive recoverys XP 64 reads everything 7 says oooh hard drive not readable.

So please I need to turn off this option in Windows XP 64 bit for the reason When I try to open some of my hard drive recovery programs it almost locks the computer because sandbox option comes up which I hate with a passion.