Author Topic: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem  (Read 43182 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

ashtp

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #30 on: November 05, 2011, 03:50:54 AM »
thanks

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #31 on: November 05, 2011, 12:16:18 PM »
As much as we appreciate the acknowledgement, however, you didn't need to go through the trouble of getting Battlefield 3 to test the problem. All you need is this test site. http://websocket.org/echo.html

Thanks! I didn't know that (I didn't read all posts here, because I'm not the guy who will fix this).
This should speed up solving the problem.

DCS

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #32 on: November 06, 2011, 05:31:42 PM »
I am wondering, did those with issues buy it off EA Store, or go and get the DVD's and install it? I installed mine from DVD's and don't have the issue, but 2 friends who downloaded a digital copy from EA via Origin do.

chabbo

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #33 on: November 06, 2011, 06:47:45 PM »
my BF3 exe is a trojan says avast from now.

ady4um

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #34 on: November 06, 2011, 06:52:46 PM »
my BF3 exe is a trojan says avast from now.

That's a different issue altogether. Please open a new topic under the "Viruses and Worms" section of the forum.

Sambuccashake

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #35 on: November 09, 2011, 10:27:06 AM »
Come on, fix this already!   >:(

I'm tired of disabling my Web Shield in order to get my BF3 battlelog to work.

I've been using and recommending Avast for as long as I can remember but my patience is wearing thin.

At least, give us a heads up on where you are in the process so that we can decide if we should:
A - Wait
B - Choose a different Anti Virus program.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89266
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #36 on: November 09, 2011, 01:47:52 PM »
I haven't reread this topic, but I'm fairly sure a workaround without disabling the web shield as mentioned in another topic that you posted in (see below).

As Dommelrbb mentioned in another topic there is a workaround:
<snip>
Disabling webshield, or enabling "Scan traffic from well known browser processes only" works.
<snip>
I would like to report that adding *battlelog.battlefield.com/*, or any form of that. Has no effect on the issue, I cannot receive party invites and Battlelog doesn't not auto refresh. Only solution at the moment is either disable webshield, or enable "Scan known processes only".

Obviously the lessor of the two evils so that you retain web shield protection is Don't disable the Web Shield, check the "Scan traffic from well known browser processes only" option in the avastUI, Real-Time Shields, Expert Settings, "Scan traffic from well known browser processes only."
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2011, 01:53:09 PM »
-
« Last Edit: November 09, 2011, 02:16:19 PM by pk »

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89266
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #38 on: November 09, 2011, 02:13:53 PM »
Why is that pk, as several users at least are reporting that disabling the web shield or the enabling the Scan traffic from well known browser processes only option, does work ?
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2078
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #39 on: November 09, 2011, 02:17:06 PM »
Why is that pk, as several users at least are reporting that disabling the web shield or the enabling the Scan traffic from well known browser processes only option, does work ?

You're right - but this may not work for all scenarios; lukor is trying to fix this...

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89266
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #40 on: November 09, 2011, 02:18:18 PM »
OK, thanks.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

The_SECONDONE

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #41 on: November 14, 2011, 04:38:38 PM »
It seems the BF3 website doesn't work properly when avast WEB Shield and SCRIP Shield are enabled.
When you disable both the site seems to work ok most of the time. If I exclude an address will it exclude all sub addresses too? or can I use a wild card like this
Code: [Select]
http://battlelog.battlefield.com/*It seems there is somekind of ping system that refreshes the page and it doesnt work yet with my exlutisions. Is there a possibility to log all scanned pages to get all the right addresses for exlutions?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11244
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #42 on: November 14, 2011, 04:47:52 PM »
It seems the BF3 website doesn't work properly when avast WEB Shield and SCRIP Shield are enabled.
When you disable both the site seems to work ok most of the time. If I exclude an address will it exclude all sub addresses too? or can I use a wild card like this
Code: [Select]
http://battlelog.battlefield.com/*It seems there is somekind of ping system that refreshes the page and it doesnt work yet with my exlutisions. Is there a possibility to log all scanned pages to get all the right addresses for exlutions?
See reply 36 DavidR

Uzerrr

  • Guest
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #43 on: November 15, 2011, 08:45:37 PM »
But this way you are loosing important protection. New update will fix it? I've seen beta somewhere. I've switched to Eset's trail waiting for fixing the issue.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 89266
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Battlefield 3 and Avast Problem
« Reply #44 on: November 15, 2011, 09:32:11 PM »
You don't lose any important protection if you do as suggested and only check the "Scan traffic from well known browser processes only" option in the avastUI, Real-Time Shields, Expert Settings. As the web shield is still running, it is just the non-browser element that won't be monitored.

So this effectively puts you where you were before this new option to scan all http traffic and not just well known browsers as it did before.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 24.5.6116 (build 24.5.9153.762) UI 1.0.808/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security