Author Topic: Malwarebytes and Avast  (Read 7844 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TonyMontana101

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Malwarebytes and Avast
« on: January 07, 2012, 01:33:16 AM »
I am new here,so I wasn't sure where to post this topic, anyway Would I be fully protected if i had malwarebytes and avast installed. Because the MB is made to catch anything your antivirus misses. so would it be good?

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3634
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2012, 01:37:10 AM »
I am new here,so I wasn't sure where to post this topic, anyway Would I be fully protected if i had malwarebytes and avast installed. Because the MB is made to catch anything your antivirus misses. so would it be good?

Hi and welcome. Absolutely a good team MB and Avast! ;)
***HP ENVY 15K LT  W8.1 64Bit/750GB HD/ 16GB Ram/ Avast Secureline v1.0.239.2
**HP Compaq Buisness  W8.1 Pro 64Bit/1TB HD/ 8GB Ram/ HotSpot Elite      
*Dell Inspiron  xpSP4 PRO 32 Bit/ Avast Premier 2015.10.2.2218
Layered Security Protection       Backup & Recovery> WD 500GB HD/ Macrium Reflect
Do not confuse Kindness for Weakness

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2351
  • Memento Mori
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2012, 01:46:47 AM »
Would I be fully protected if i had malwarebytes and avast installed.
No.  You can't achieve full protection, it is an impossibility, but...
so would it be good?
....yes, it would be better than most people have.

This is assuming you are talking about MBAM Pro.  The free version is great but can't protect you from getting infected in the first place.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3634
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2012, 01:49:31 AM »
Would I be fully protected if i had malwarebytes and avast installed.
No.  You can't achieve full protection, it is an impossibility, but...
so would it be good?
....yes, it would be better than most people have.

This is assuming you are talking about MBAM Pro.  The free version is great but can't protect you from getting infected in the first place.

MBam Pro +1 :)
***HP ENVY 15K LT  W8.1 64Bit/750GB HD/ 16GB Ram/ Avast Secureline v1.0.239.2
**HP Compaq Buisness  W8.1 Pro 64Bit/1TB HD/ 8GB Ram/ HotSpot Elite      
*Dell Inspiron  xpSP4 PRO 32 Bit/ Avast Premier 2015.10.2.2218
Layered Security Protection       Backup & Recovery> WD 500GB HD/ Macrium Reflect
Do not confuse Kindness for Weakness

Offline !Donovan

  • Web Analyst
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2207
    • The WAR Against Malware
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2012, 01:51:16 AM »
If you go with MBAM Pro, you would have to add some exclusions for the antiviruses to run smoothly in realtime.
Familiarize Yourself! | Educate Yourself! | Beautify Yourself! | Scan Yourself!
"People who say it cannot be done should not interrupt those who are doing it."

Offline rickz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2012, 02:44:17 AM »
Just wondering...What exclusions?
AMD Sempron LE-1300 4GB Ram 2.3GHz Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit IE10
AIS 2015 10.2.2218, MBAM Premium

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 71830
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2012, 02:59:26 AM »
I have never found it necessary to make exclusions for MBAM on either my XP or win7 systems, but I have excluded c:\windows\temp\_avast_ in the MBAM Ignore List so it isn't scanning the temporary folder where avast sends/unpacks files it is going to scan.
Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ WinXP ProSP3/ avast! free 2015 10.2.2218 R2-SP2/ Outpost Firewall Pro9.1/ Firefox 38.0.1, NoScript, RequestPolicy/ MailWasher Pro/ DropMyRights/ MalwareBytes AntiMalware Premium 2.1.6/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security

Offline rickz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2012, 03:43:43 AM »
Thanks for the info DavidR
AMD Sempron LE-1300 4GB Ram 2.3GHz Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit IE10
AIS 2015 10.2.2218, MBAM Premium

Offline Pondus

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 26822
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2012, 03:48:50 AM »
Same as David, i never had any problems so never had to use any exclusions




but if you get problems and need to do it, this is how to...in section K
http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&st=0&p=417798&#entry417798
Chief Wiggum: Uh, no, you got the wrong number. This is 9-1…2.


Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 27504
  • 55 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Malwarebytes and Avast
« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2012, 01:01:22 AM »
Same as David, i never had any problems so never had to use any exclusions




but if you get problems and need to do it, this is how to...in section K
http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138&st=0&p=417798&#entry417798
+3 :)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://www.authorstream.com/Presentation/bob3160-1425909-protecting-yourself/    -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/
My Blog: http://bob3160.blogspot.com/ - Win 8.1 Pro 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, avast!2015.10.2.2218 Free, MBAM, WinPatrol -- How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXde