Author Topic: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall  (Read 124222 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11219
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #60 on: March 08, 2012, 08:33:10 PM »

What about Online Armor Free? can we use Online Armor free?
Your sig states that your already using OA ::) it's working isnt it ??? Outpost firewall works good too

hardov

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #61 on: March 08, 2012, 08:47:43 PM »

What about Online Armor Free? can we use Online Armor free?
Your sig states that your already using OA ::) it's working isnt it ??? Outpost firewall works good too

i dont know , im not  a expert  ;D

iroc9555

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #62 on: March 08, 2012, 08:52:31 PM »
Hardov.

OA is ok. Up to now this behavior is affecting only Windows 7 64 bit using Windows firewall, Comodo FW, and now there is a new report that Private firewall is affected. 
« Last Edit: March 09, 2012, 04:04:57 AM by iroc9555 »

Offline jason7619

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 88
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #63 on: March 08, 2012, 08:55:19 PM »
Online Armor is not affected as seen in  https://forums.comodo.com/firewall-help-cis/comodo-firewall-and-avast-7-t82382.15.html Reply 28 / 47. I have Outpost in another pc and it's not affected. Seems to be affecting x64 systems. I have Online Armor Premium ver5.5 with Avast IS Build 1426 on an Win7 x32 and it's not affected. My other x32 with AvastFree and CIS ver5.9 seems to be functioning okay. I can block FF in CIS>Firewall rule while I have Avast WebShield enabled.

In my CIS FF is set as "web browser"(built-in rule in Comodo). The same rule I use for Google Chrome and IE/Opera. I tried to set it at "Blocked application" in Comodo and CIS blocks the connection and launching of the browser. On an x64 pc it ain't like that.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2012, 08:57:56 PM by jason7619 »
Avast IS 19.8  /  Malwarebytes Premium / Windows 10 x64 Build 1903 / AMD A10 Processor desktop with R9 Graphics 32GB Ram.

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1883
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #64 on: March 08, 2012, 10:20:55 PM »
are you guys setting any rules for the localhost communication. since it is actually the connection between the browser and Webshield that you want to control and it is between 127.0.0.1:xxxx and 127.0.0.1:12080, so really are your firewalls able to block the localhost traffic, or control it - are you sure you don't have there some big rule allowing all trafic inside the computer (localhost only) etc.

DogStar

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #65 on: March 09, 2012, 03:37:26 AM »
are you guys setting any rules for the localhost communication. since it is actually the connection between the browser and Webshield that you want to control and it is between 127.0.0.1:xxxx and 127.0.0.1:12080, so really are your firewalls able to block the localhost traffic, or control it - are you sure you don't have there some big rule allowing all trafic inside the computer (localhost only) etc.

Thanks for the reply.

1.This didn't happen using Avast 6, it's a specific 'issue' with Avast 7.
2. Some Applications specifically require access to loopback for internal communication, for example firefox.
3. Creating a specific rule to block all localhost communication, for IE, had no effect.

By the way, this 'issue' affects 32 bit and 64 bit Windows 7.   
 

Offline lukor

  • Administrator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1883
    • AVAST Software
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #66 on: March 12, 2012, 10:02:51 AM »
As I've said before - avast7 uses different driver API to do the redirection. It really depends on the firewall how they do treat that. Maybe before, with avast6 Comodo was not even aware of the fact, that the browser is not really connecting to the Internet (instead making only localhost connection to the scanning proxy) and hence it treated it with its outbound rules. Just guessing though.

Maybe a rule with "incoming connections to avastsvc.exe - ASK" will solve that.

huynhhon2610

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #67 on: March 12, 2012, 01:10:05 PM »
I highly recommend that you use only avast or comodo firewall. In my opinion, avast is enough. You do not need to install any third-party firewall. Installing many firewall softwares does not insure that your computer is well-protected. In addition to that, there will occur conflicts between the sofwares which will slow your computer down or even cause the blue screen of death! :)

Offline Asyn

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 76051
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #68 on: March 12, 2012, 01:11:51 PM »
You do not need to install any third-party firewall.

True, but we're talking about avast! Free or Pro here. ;)
W8.1 [x64] - Avast Free AV 23.3.8047.BC [UI.757] - Firefox ESR 102.9 [NS/uBO/PB] - Thunderbird 102.9.1
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 109.0 - Cleanup 23.1 - SecureLine 5.18 - DriverUpdater 23.1 - CCleaner 6.01
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

iroc9555

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #69 on: March 12, 2012, 01:23:39 PM »
You do not need to install any third-party firewall.

True, but we're talking about avast! Free or Pro here. ;)

Second Asyn statement, and add that W 7 firewall is also affected so It is a must to have a working third party firewall with Avast! Free or Pro.

Hellion

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #70 on: March 13, 2012, 08:50:30 AM »
Hi All,


Please note that CIS was updated to version 5.10.228257.2253.

This issue with Avast and Comodo Firewall is still very much present.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2012, 03:21:59 PM by Hellion »

james castel

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #71 on: March 13, 2012, 02:32:10 PM »
Cool....i was waiting for an update coz i want 2 install the comodo firewall n use avast free alongside......so u mean that comodo have fixed the problem with avast and both r working fine?????

iroc9555

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #72 on: March 13, 2012, 08:45:44 PM »
Cool....i was waiting for an update coz i want 2 install the comodo firewall n use avast free alongside......so u mean that comodo have fixed the problem with avast and both r working fine?????

No, Comodo has not fixed it yet. This issue is still happening with a few FW. If running Avast! 7 free under W 7 better get OA or Outpost.

Hellion

  • Guest
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #73 on: March 14, 2012, 03:21:26 PM »
Hi All,

Sorry edited my previous post as it made no sense.

Offline Chris Thomas

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1936
  • Christian Geek - aka 'born again' Geek
Re: Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall
« Reply #74 on: March 14, 2012, 04:53:25 PM »
I have no problem whatsoever. I installed Avast 7 first, then I rebooted and installed Comodo Firewall.

I read somewhere years ago that its better to install Avast first then only install Comodo Firewall.

But I am not sure.