Author Topic: Compatible Mode (Malwarebytes)  (Read 4339 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RoGard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Compatible Mode (Malwarebytes)
« on: March 23, 2012, 03:09:29 AM »
I recently (3/22/12) downloaded and installed FREE Avasta version. Shen I installed it, i choose "compatible mode" because I also use Malwarebytes (registered, real time protection version) installed and I didn't want conflicts. On the SHIELDS screen in Avasta, only the Script shield is on. Am I lacking other shields due to the compatible mode in installed? or is that all i get with the free version.

I am especially concerned that my email (Outlook - connected via IMAP to Gmail) is not being protected.

Any insight truly appreciated.

Offline iroc9555

  • CCS, Vzla.
  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 7464
  • No soporte por PM.
Re: Compatible Mode (Malwarebytes)
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2012, 03:38:30 AM »
Rogard welcome to Avast! forum.

You do not need to install Avast! in compatible mode to run it with MBAM. There are not conflict between them.

Some members choose to exclude each other following this guide.

Read section K

http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=10138
Hernan.
Dim 9200. C2D E6600; 2.40GHz. 4GB DDR2RAM. XP Pro_86. Spk3. IE8 & FF41. Avast FREE 2015. CIS 5.12(FW/D+). MBAM Premium. MCShield. WinPatrol +. SpywareBlasterOpenDNS. uBlock. WOT. Sandboxie

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Compatible Mode (Malwarebytes)
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2012, 03:38:34 AM »
I recently (3/22/12) downloaded and installed FREE Avasta version. Shen I installed it, i choose "compatible mode" because I also use Malwarebytes (registered, real time protection version) installed and I didn't want conflicts.
avast is fully compatible with MBAM (free and pro).

On the SHIELDS screen in Avasta, only the Script shield is on. Am I lacking other shields due to the compatible mode in installed? or is that all i get with the free version.
It is the compatibility mode. The free version has all pro shields.
The best things in life are free.

Offline RoGard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Compatible Mode (Malwarebytes)
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 02:42:43 PM »
Thank you. so then the next question... how do I install FULL version without uninstalling compatible mode and starting install all over?

Offline CraigB

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11048
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: Compatible Mode (Malwarebytes)
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2012, 03:17:16 PM »
I dont know whether you can change the full features back in via add remove programs and click change, if it's not possible the you'll have to do a clean install.
Note that compatibility install is for working with other AV's and Malwarebytes is not an AV, Malwarebytes is designed to compliment your AV.