Author Topic: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?  (Read 24407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tetsuo

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« on: November 14, 2013, 03:09:28 PM »
Hello,

I suspect there's some Google Analytics code in the GUI (or something like that, I'm not a programmer).

Should I be right, could you please tell me how to disable it?
I can recall some other user asked the same question  months ago, during the beta-testing.

Best regards

Offline Tetsuo

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2013, 09:42:24 PM »
Anyone from Avast (or the guy who asked before/someone who knows)?

Offline Secondmineboy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 3650
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2013, 09:44:00 PM »
Why do you think that there is Google analytics code in Avast?
Windows 10 1909, 4 GB DDR3 RAM, 500 GB 5400 RPM HDD, 1366 by 768 LCD Screen, Intel Core i3 5010U Dual Core, Intel HD Graphics 5500
HUAWEI P30 Pro. Android 10

Offline Arnold72

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 564
  • RIP.Jay "padre" Miner.(May 31, 1932 – June 20, 19
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2013, 10:04:25 PM »
Open the interface and then scrutinize the web shield readings...Indeed there are google analytic activity occuring.
Avast Free V9.0.2006.||Comodo Firewall 6.3||Sandboxie.||SUA.||Firefox Web Browser.

Offline Tetsuo

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2013, 01:19:17 PM »
Thanks,  Arnold72.

Anyway, as I said before, I can recall some other user asked the same question during the beta-testing. Someone from Avast replied, but I can't remember anything more - well, to be honest, I remember he confirmed there's some Google Analytics code somewhere in the GUI...

EDIT: added some info
« Last Edit: November 19, 2013, 01:22:41 PM by Tetsuo »

Offline ankurk91

  • avast! User
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
  • Building a better avast!
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2013, 01:45:15 PM »
avast 9.0.2008 free x86.
I have also noticed some spy activity here-

I have noticed that once you open avast interface it begins to connect google (1e100.net) servers. :o

I just run netstat -b command and got this-->

Code: [Select]
  Proto  Local Address          Foreign Address        State           PID
  TCP    win-pc:1618            a118-214.142-13.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com:https  ESTABLISHED     2860
  [AvastUI.exe]

  TCP    win-pc:1619            bom03s01-in-f30.1e100.net:https  ESTABLISHED     2860
  [AvastUI.exe]

  TCP    win-pc:1620            bom03s01-in-f30.1e100.net:https  ESTABLISHED     2860
  [AvastUI.exe]

  TCP    win-pc:1621            a118-214.142-13.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com:https  ESTABLISHED     2860
  [AvastUI.exe]

  TCP    win-pc:1622            a118-214.142-13.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com:https  ESTABLISHED     2860
  [AvastUI.exe]

  TCP    win-pc:1623            bom03s02-in-f0.1e100.net:http  ESTABLISHED     2860
  [AvastUI.exe]



But when i add these lines in my host file (c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\host), avastui.exe stopped its activity. 8)

Code: [Select]
# block Google Analytics via host file#
127.0.0.1 pagead.googlesyndication.com
127.0.0.1 pagead2.googlesyndication.com
127.0.0.1 adservices.google.com
127.0.0.1 ssl.google-analytics.com
127.0.0.1 www.google-analytics.com
127.0.0.1 imageads.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads1.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads2.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads3.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads4.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads5.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads6.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads7.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads8.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 imageads9.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 partner.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 www.googleadservices.com
127.0.0.1 apps5.oingo.com
127.0.0.1 www.appliedsemantics.com
127.0.0.1 service.urchin.com


strange! :o
I think avast downloads ads from somewhere and then shows them in its UI. ::)


« Last Edit: November 19, 2013, 01:47:18 PM by ank91 »

Offline Charyb

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2442
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2013, 02:03:23 PM »
Hi Tetsuo,
Here is the comment from Vlk regarding Google analytics. -> http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=126470.msg950033#msg950033

Offline Tetsuo

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2013, 02:19:45 PM »
Thank you very much for the help, Charyb.

So, I was right. The avast UI contains an analytics module.

Offline Ѕeeкɘя

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2013, 03:03:22 PM »
Thank you very much for the help, Charyb.

So, I was right. The avast UI contains an analytics module.

Yes, it does. At first I was worried about this unsolicited connection requests but then I found out that the interface use GA to monitor how we use the interface. It can be uncomfortable for some. It is for me so I blocked access altogether. Any unnecessary interaction is unacceptable! If avast needs feedback about how we use the interface, we would provide them happily but not this way. Well, avast do not even listen to most of the users. The new GUI is the example. But that's ok and it looks ok too!
Intel® Core i3 2310M 2.1 GHz || 3GB || Windows® 7U SP1 32 bit || Avast Free 2015.10.2.2215 |||| MBAM Free || IE 11, Chrome 65, FF Beta 60

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2013, 03:08:21 PM »
Open the interface and then scrutinize the web shield readings...Indeed there are google analytic activity occuring.

I doubt that you can use this as any degree of accuracy that there is any traffic related to the avastUI. Many sites use google analytics so that is the traffic activity you are seeing in web shield related activity.

Thank you very much for the help, Charyb.

So, I was right. The avast UI contains an analytics module.

Since that topic is from June and relates to avast 8, there is no confirmation that avast 9 does also.

In all honesty the avast 9 UI needs all the help it can get by using google analytics, as it really isn't intuitive, nowhere as user friendly and easy to find things as in the avast 8 UI.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Tetsuo

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 594
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2013, 03:40:03 PM »
Since that topic is from June and relates to avast 8, there is no confirmation that avast 9 does also.

You can see the traffic looking at Statics/Your Stats for a while. Or better, you can use HostsServer's log feature (abelhadigital.com).

Offline cooby

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 441
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2013, 04:05:49 PM »
It's been like this for ages, see http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=109668.0 posts 4, 7 and others. It's not related to using GUI, just updating definitions.

attached log from yesterday - note that google analytics fails - that's because I use HOSTS file

« Last Edit: November 19, 2013, 04:10:40 PM by cooby »
1. Toshiba Satellite A75, Windows XP-Pro-SP3, Avast! free v9, Sunbelt Firewall 4.7.4.0, SSM, Opera 12.17, SeaMonkey+NoScript, mvps hosts, (MalwareBytes updated and run on demand only, rarely used), Acronis v11, SUMo
2. Toshiba Thrive tablet (rooted) ICS, AdAway (hosts), Opera, Avast Mobile Security 3.0.7801, Titanium Backup, App Backup&Restore

Offline abruptum

  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2363
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2013, 04:16:08 PM »
Is it possible to block Google Analytics  with Avast website blocking ?
Something like *.google-analytics.com* ?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85966
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2013, 04:17:14 PM »
Since that topic is from June and relates to avast 8, there is no confirmation that avast 9 does also.

You can see the traffic looking at Statics/Your Stats for a while.
Or better, you can use HostsServer's log feature (abelhadigital.com).

Sorry the traffic in the Statistics isn't detailed enough to tell the origin of the request (which is being checked by the web shield). I honestly don't know if the avastui traffic would be being redirected through the web shield.

Unfortunately I have never used HostsServer, so I can't say or check.

But as I have said the UI really needs all the help it can get (too many levels and not intuitive) on how users navigate it.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.9.2494 (build 21.9.6698.703) UI 1.0.672/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Ѕeeкɘя

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
Re: Google Analytics code in Avast GUI?
« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2013, 04:17:28 PM »
Quote
It's not related to using GUI, just updating definitions.

Seriously? Avastui.exe had nothing to do with updating definitions. It simply does not have any function that would require it to connect to internet for the antivirus to work. It does however require internet connection when you want to see global stats and trace IP address. An easy process would be to block avastui.exe in firewall and see the firewall logs. You can determine to which IP address it constantly tries to connect, Use that to find the domain name and it will turn out to be google analytics and another server within your region (I found this for a different IP it tries to connect). But be sure, it does not take part in updating virus definition.
Intel® Core i3 2310M 2.1 GHz || 3GB || Windows® 7U SP1 32 bit || Avast Free 2015.10.2.2215 |||| MBAM Free || IE 11, Chrome 65, FF Beta 60