Author Topic: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)  (Read 25326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #45 on: August 25, 2005, 01:32:04 PM »
Alwil ? Can we at least hear your opinion on this one ? That would be sooooooo nice.  :)
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11664
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #46 on: August 25, 2005, 06:12:42 PM »
Sasha, I like what I see but I'm afraid we won't have time to make any larger GUI changes before avast 5...

For avast 5, my idea was very similar of what you posted, or maybe something like this - our new upcoming product (still classified - pssst!!) :) I mean it.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #47 on: August 25, 2005, 06:14:05 PM »
UUUUUU  looks very nice Vlk i just can't wait for the new version hihihi  ;D

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #48 on: August 25, 2005, 06:46:25 PM »
Looks nice, although those icons still looks kinda unfinished (jaggy edges on some of them), and some of them looks like they are for something else... for example, updates icon looks like "connections" icon. RJ45 connector icon represents more connection than updates (downloads)... Maybe you guys still have enough time to consider those I showed earlier in this thread... if not, no big deal. I was just trying to help somehow...

Cheers !

EDIT: Although, ther is no record of "edited" message, I see you guys updated that screenshot... no jagged edges any more, but still some strange way of combining some orange-ish, and purple-ish colors in some icons... But, true... new versions of icons look much better than the old ones.  ;)
« Last Edit: April 03, 2006, 03:02:30 PM by S.Z.Craftec »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11805
    • AVAST Software
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #49 on: August 25, 2005, 07:18:49 PM »
Well, what Vlk showed is a different product - no list of providers is there.
Otherwise, you icons are cool, of course - as always ;)

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #50 on: August 25, 2005, 07:24:52 PM »
No, no Igor... I know it's a different product, it says so on the topic line of Vlk's screenshot... it's just, I thought you guys will maybe use that kind of icons over there... I know those are not for this product, at least not for this one, haha...

Thanks for your opinion on icons... some of them use Windows Vista icons as a base, but 99% of work is totally mine... If you need them, just alarm me, and I'll send them... I have PNG or ICO files here, whatever you need. If not, no problems at all... I just tried to be of some help if possible... but sure it's nice to hear from you guys. We don't need our forum members to break their neck trying to explain how much they like these icons, I mean it's obvious judging by their responds in this thread... but, it's nice to hear from you as well...

Regards !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #51 on: August 25, 2005, 07:32:29 PM »
Come on guys use sasha's icons you know they look nicer than the ones we have now i mean it's not like he wants money for them hehe(i think nobody else would do this for free)  ;D

Cheers

Mikey

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67247
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #52 on: August 25, 2005, 07:36:10 PM »
Vlk, now we're curious...
What is Write lock and U3?
Where are the providers lists? Why Igor say it's a different product?
The best things in life are free.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #53 on: August 25, 2005, 07:40:19 PM »
Well obviously it's a different product... Vlk also mentioned same thing... See here:

Quote by Vlk:
Quote
...maybe something like this - our new upcoming product (still classified - pssst!!)  I mean it.

It looks to me that Mac is getting an avast! antivirus... hihihi... it must be they are not so invulnerable after all...
« Last Edit: August 25, 2005, 07:42:45 PM by Slaaaaap! Hihihi »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline YLAP

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2119
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #54 on: August 25, 2005, 10:20:51 PM »
It looks to me that Mac is getting an avast! antivirus... hihihi... it must be they are not so invulnerable after all...

I think the same... But it looks so...  :o cool... I hope that avast HE someday will look more or less in the way  like shown in the picture...  ;)

Offline neiby

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 220
  • I'm a llama!
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #55 on: August 26, 2005, 08:26:35 AM »
You can add my name to the list of people voting for Sasha's icons. They look fantastic!

Offline Dwarden

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1791
  • Ideas, that's ocean without borders!
    • Bohemia Interactive
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #56 on: August 26, 2005, 02:09:23 PM »
to be fair ... i really like the "little" design change suggestion from this shot

http://img388.imageshack.us/img388/1007/untitled19xy.jpg

i wish some "small" update to 4.6.xxx in future do this (before we get some new big version) ...

also these icons from Slaap are very nice ...

https://twitter.com/FoltynD , Tech. Community, Online Services & Distribution manager of Bohemia Interactive

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6957
Re: Providers list too big? I have an idea :)
« Reply #57 on: August 26, 2005, 03:24:55 PM »
Hello Dwarden my friend, it's me... Sasha...

Thanks for your opinion, I am so honoured by your generous moral support people... you have no clue how much that means to me.  :)

The only problem with that idea (the one from the screenshot I made and you posted in your previous reply), could be when user press LESS DETAILS... button. We all know what happens after that. Icons becomes hidden, non-visible, but since the avast! banner (black,dark-green,orange strip) is placed horizontally, it would be kinda difficult to shrink that window by horizontal axis. Maybe Alwil guys have some other solution that can help, but certainly this would allow us to have much more space for words (especially in other languages) right next to the icons...

Cheers !
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s