Author Topic: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?  (Read 14521 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

TheEvilHammer

  • Guest
Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« on: September 12, 2005, 11:19:29 AM »
I've been testing my avast! installation with the eicar test file and I've noticed something odd with the spinnng "radiation" .gif that is displayed within the "A Virus Was Found!" dialog.  The transparency doesn't seem to work correctly for the first half second or so and there is a white background in the .gif.  After a half second or so, the transparency seems to kick in and the .gif looks normal.  Has anyone else seen this?

Offline TedNelly

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1538
  • Trust No-One!
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2005, 12:24:02 PM »


Just ran a couple of tests on the eicar test file  and the "radiation.gif"seems to be working fine here.

Windows 10 Pro | Intel I7 CPU | 16 Gig 2133 RAM | Avast beta 17.5.2295 | Firefox 54 b9(64-bit) | Cyberfox 52.1 | T-Bird 52.1.1 | SpyWareBlaster 5.5 | MalwareBytes 3.0.0.865 | WinPatrol 35.5.2 | GlassWire 1.2.100 | Cybereason Ransomfree 2.2.7 |  Pulla-dePlug Final!

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31078
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2005, 12:29:06 PM »
No problems here either.

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2005, 01:25:25 PM »
Working like a charm here... try updating your video card drivers or using only those certified by Microsoft.
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

TheEvilHammer

  • Guest
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2005, 10:35:17 PM »
I have an nVidia card with the newest Forceware drivers and I've never seen any graphical problems in any other program, so I don't think it's the video card or drivers.  I've posted some pictures to show the problem:





The first image was grabbed very quickly after the "A Virus Was Found" dialog opened and the transparency was not working correctly.  The second image was grabbed after a second or two when the transparency had fixed itself.

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2005, 10:40:10 PM »
And this really bothers you ?

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2005, 10:52:53 PM »
And other people don't have such a problems. Believe me it could be exactly your video card drivers... even if they are latest drivers. That's why we all have "Report some issues to developers" options... believe me I know what I'm talking about, working as computer technician for the last 15 years.

I really don't see any other possibility, just because it's animated gif. Your gfx card (drivers) is reading it properly or it doesn't... nothing else deals with bitmaps except your gfx card.

Cheers !

EDIT: also it would be good to hear from others... maybe someone else is having exactly the same problems (although I never heard it before), so we can maybe take something (some similarities) out of all those reports and finally find what's the problem...
« Last Edit: September 12, 2005, 10:54:40 PM by S.Z.Craftec »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2005, 10:58:41 PM »
No problems here Saša

FastGame

  • Guest
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2005, 11:04:07 PM »
Its a problem with your system icon cache.

darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2005, 11:07:45 PM »
Its a problem with your system icon cache.

So how does he solve this problem?

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #10 on: September 12, 2005, 11:12:06 PM »
He can try clearing the icon cashe with Tweak-UI, see attachment...



...but personally I don't think this is the case this time... since radiation gif shouldn't have anything to do with icons nor it's being cashed into memory... I believe it's integrated (hardcoded into that message window) but I am not 100% sure...

But certainly he can try...
« Last Edit: September 12, 2005, 11:16:07 PM by S.Z.Craftec »
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s


darth.mikey

  • Guest
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #12 on: September 12, 2005, 11:19:49 PM »
Great! Now we will just have to see if that worked  ;)

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2005, 11:28:15 PM »
Also he can tell us if he is having exactly the same problems with this animated gif:



And also I'll have to make another reply to try it on grey (using default forum theme) background...
MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s

Offline szc

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 6927
Re: Spinning "Radiation" GIF Transparency Problem?
« Reply #14 on: September 12, 2005, 11:28:37 PM »
Same thing again, but this time on grey background:

MB: GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UD3H Intel 7 Series  - LGA1155, CPU: Intel Core i5-3570K - Quad Core, 3.40GHz (3.80GHz Max Turbo), CPU COOLER: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO Direct Heat Pipe R2, RAM: 16 GB Kingston HyperX Blu DDR3, VIDEO CARD: Galaxy GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 1GB, GDDR5, POWER SUPPLY: Corsair Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 - 750 Watts, HD: Seagate Barracuda - 2TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gb/s