Author Topic: Avast on SUSE 10.0  (Read 29203 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

howard.v

  • Guest
Avast on SUSE 10.0
« on: March 04, 2006, 08:24:59 PM »
Hi,
I tried installing then starting Avast and this is what I get:
ramius@reached:~> su
Password:
reached:/home/ramius # cd /home/ramius/Downloads
reached:/home/ramius/Downloads # rpm -Uvh avast4workstation-1.0.4-1.i586.rpm
warning: avast4workstation-1.0.4-1.i586.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 8c2bca60
Preparing...                ########################################### [100%]
   1:avast4workstation      ########################################### [100%]
reached:/home/ramius/Downloads # cd /usr/lib/avast4workstation/bin
reached:/usr/lib/avast4workstation/bin # avastgui
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified

reached:/usr/lib/avast4workstation/bin #

How do I specify the address for the server?
Where do I specify the protocol to use?
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks, Vance

Culpeper

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2006, 09:08:29 PM »
Just download the rpm and install through Yast.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2006, 09:29:04 PM »
I'm not a Linux expert, far from this, but is this enough to get the root ?

Quote
ramius@reached:~> su
Password:

Did you install any previous version of avast?
For me, the command made the installation perfect on SUSE 10.0 (login as root).
The best things in life are free.

howard.v

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2006, 11:42:29 PM »
Just download the rpm and install through Yast.

I did that the first time and got the same message. I uninstalled it through yast. I then downloaded the gz package and extracted it and got the same result.  I removed it and tried installing in the terminal window with the same result I posted.

howard.v

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2006, 11:45:21 PM »
I'm not a Linux expert, far from this, but is this enough to get the root ?

Quote
ramius@reached:~> su
Password:

Did you install any previous version of avast?
For me, the command made the installation perfect on SUSE 10.0 (login as root).

su is usually all that is needed to install something globally. su stands for super user I was told. I will try installing from a root session and see if it makes a difference.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2006, 12:06:00 AM »
I did that the first time and got the same message. I uninstalled it through yast.
When you (or Culpeper) have some time, can you post the screnshot of how I could install/uninstall using YAST?
I've tried a lot and give up... the only way was using:
rpm -Uvh avast4workstation-1.0.4-1.i586.rpm
into a root section  :-[

I had the previous version of avast installed but this does not help (I mean, for YAST).
Thanks for your comprehension of this newbie Linux user  8)
The best things in life are free.

Culpeper

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2006, 12:42:06 AM »
Just download the rpm and install through Yast.

I did that the first time and got the same message. I uninstalled it through yast. I then downloaded the gz package and extracted it and got the same result.  I removed it and tried installing in the terminal window with the same result I posted.

Crap, I didn't see that!  Dublin will be back on Monday.  He created the program.  There might be something going on since I downloaded and installed the rpm file.  I actually used the registration link and filled out the information before I downloaded and installed the rpm file from this page...

http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-for-linux-workstation.html


Culpeper

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2006, 12:53:23 AM »
I did that the first time and got the same message. I uninstalled it through yast.
When you (or Culpeper) have some time, can you post the screnshot of how I could install/uninstall using YAST?
I've tried a lot and give up... the only way was using:
rpm -Uvh avast4workstation-1.0.4-1.i586.rpm
into a root section  :-[

I had the previous version of avast installed but this does not help (I mean, for YAST).
Thanks for your comprehension of this newbie Linux user  8)


Techie:

Open up the Kmenu and select the following:

System
Control Center (Yast)


From there you need to use the Adminstor Mode button to enter Software Management.  This will be your root login password.

Software Management

Search for "Avast"

In the right hand window the Avast install should show up.  Right click on this line and select "Delete" to remove Avast.

Installation is similar depending on your Installation Sources.  If you download an rpm file you can right click on it using File Manager (Super User Mode) and select "Preview in KRPMView" and select "Install with YaST".

Like Windows, there are several ways to install software.  Actually, more in Linux than Windows.

Also, use www.suseforums.net for help.



« Last Edit: March 05, 2006, 12:59:26 AM by Culpeper »

howard.v

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2006, 01:16:55 AM »
Ok,
I logged into a root session and installed the rpm and now it works.
I didn't realize that selecting scan all files would also scan the other two partitions on this hard drive. So my windows xp got scanned also. No virii found.

Thanks for the idea's. Vance

Culpeper

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2006, 01:57:02 AM »
No problemento! :)

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2006, 03:53:14 AM »
[Also, use www.suseforums.net for help.
Or avast forums if you have a wise friend here  ;D 8)
Thanks Culpeper. I'll give it a try later, booted on Linux.

Btw, did you suceed to uninstall Firefox 1.0.7 and install Firefox 1.5?
I coundn't uninstall and have two version, should change the links but the 'default' browser is still 1.0.7...  :-[
I feel like a newbie  :-[  :-[
« Last Edit: March 05, 2006, 03:56:41 AM by Tech »
The best things in life are free.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2006, 03:54:31 AM »
I logged into a root session and installed the rpm and now it works.
Yeah  8)

I didn't realize that selecting scan all files would also scan the other two partitions on this hard drive. So my windows xp got scanned also. No virii found.
Feel Linux safe, power. Feel avast! security. Feel forum friendship and help  ;)
The best things in life are free.

howard.v

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2006, 04:57:33 AM »
[Also, use www.suseforums.net for help.
Or avast forums if you have a wise friend here  ;D 8)
Thanks Culpeper. I'll give it a try later, booted on Linux.

Btw, did you suceed to uninstall Firefox 1.0.7 and install Firefox 1.5?
I coundn't uninstall and have two version, should change the links but the 'default' browser is still 1.0.7...  :-[
I feel like a newbie  :-[  :-[

You should be able to uninstall firefox using yast.  Kmenustart-system-Yast(control center). Enter your password. software management. Search for mozillafirefox, right click on the checkbox and select delete. click accept. After you have downloaded Firefox 1.5 rpm package for suse, install it using yast.

Culpeper

  • Guest
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2006, 05:09:56 AM »
Howard:

Welcome to Avast!  Techie and I have only been messing around with SuSe and Avast for Linux for a very short period and Dublin is the Avast staff behind the development of Avast for Linux.

Techie:

I installed Firefox 1.5 and had some problems with it on SuSe.  Same thing with upgrading to KDE 3.5.  I ended up going back to Firefox 1.07 and KDE 3.4.  From now on I am going to wait until an upgrade is available through YOU, which is the online update portion of YaST.  Or at least check out the SuSe forums to see what others are posting about particular upgrades. 

Also, have you checked out the following link for installing plugins for Firefox? 

http://www.thejemreport.com/mambo/content/view/178/42/

If not, I have found that the kaffeine plugin doesn't play apple movie trailers so I avoided it.  Also, skipped the RealPlayer portion.  Instead, I have substituted with Mplayer and the mozilla MPlayer plugin for video and sound media.  I believe both of them show up through one of the recommended install sources in the article..

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Avast on SUSE 10.0
« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2006, 02:58:16 PM »
From now on I am going to wait until an upgrade is available through YOU, which is the online update portion of YaST.
It's funny (or sad) that we can't upgrade just a part of the system...  :P

Also, have you checked out the following link for installing plugins for Firefox? 
http://www.thejemreport.com/mambo/content/view/178/42/
Life teached me to not 'lose' time with plugins when event the main application is not working...
Man, I lost a lot with skins, themes, plugins, extensions... and then having to remove all...
Besides this, they are so much version dependents that, after all, I give up on having them... an upgrade and I have to start all over again  :P ::)
For instance, the 1.0.7 does not even upgrade itself to 1.5  :(
The best things in life are free.