Author Topic: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?  (Read 4888 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« on: March 28, 2017, 11:30:11 AM »
We have had Avast Pro for a few years. In the last week we have had a problem with the Avast firewall not working with TNT Express Shipper. I just phoned Technical Support but the chap on there said he`d only help us if we paid some more money. When I said we`ve already paid he said "you`ve only paid for the programme". To which I responded, but the programme is free, so why did we pay £55 ? He said "I don`t know you paid it !" He then said no manager was available to talk to me about it and would not help me further.
Is he right that there`s no support any more for Avast Pro ? If so what is the point of it ? I`d like my £55 back ! !

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37170
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2017, 11:45:13 AM »
phone support is outsourced to third party

try ticket support  > https://support.avast.com/support/tickets/new


justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2017, 12:05:47 PM »
>>phone support is outsourced to third party<<

Shouldn`t AVAST be made aware their third party suppliers (effectively) are totally inefficient and ****ing off AVAST`s customers ? I have to say, as the moment, I`m not of a mind to renew my AVAST Pro licence.

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37170
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2017, 12:08:53 PM »
>>phone support is outsourced to third party<<

Shouldn`t AVAST be made aware their third party suppliers (effectively) are totally inefficient and ****ing off AVAST`s customers ? I have to say, as the moment, I`m not of a mind to renew my AVAST Pro licence.
You may tell them using the ticket


Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73451
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2017, 12:16:50 PM »
We have had Avast Pro for a few years. In the last week we have had a problem with the Avast firewall not working with TNT Express Shipper.
Side note: There's no FW in Avast Pro.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6864.IBC [UI.688] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.0
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.88
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2017, 01:07:44 PM »
Side note: There's no FW in Avast Pro.

What does FW mean ?

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73451
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2017, 01:11:16 PM »
Side note: There's no FW in Avast Pro.
What does FW mean ?
FW is short for firewall.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6864.IBC [UI.688] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.0
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.88
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2017, 01:41:53 PM »
Side note: There's no FW in Avast Pro.
What does FW mean ?
FW is short for firewall.

That`s interesting, if I go to the Windows control panel "Firewall", it doesn`t give the usual slider, instead it says "these settings are managed by vendor application AVAST Security". So, are you saying that there is actually only one Firewall, the Windows one, but it`s managed by AVAST ? If we temporarily disable the Firewall (via AVAST ? ) TNT Express Shipper then works.
« Last Edit: March 28, 2017, 01:44:44 PM by justing »

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73451
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2017, 01:44:06 PM »
As said, there's no FW in Avast Pro.
Please check which product you're using.
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6864.IBC [UI.688] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.0
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.88
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2017, 01:49:43 PM »
As said, there's no FW in Avast Pro.
Please check which product you're using.

It said AVAST Pro on the invoice !

As said above I think the AVAST is controling the Windows Firewall.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73451
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2017, 01:52:03 PM »
Again, there's no FW in Avast Pro.
Right click on the Avast icon in the system tray and choose "About Avast".
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6864.IBC [UI.688] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.0
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.88
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2017, 03:03:50 PM »
Again, there's no FW in Avast Pro.
Right click on the Avast icon in the system tray and choose "About Avast".

Thanks for that. I did as you say, and there is no mention of AVAST Pro there. Yet it also tells me I can "protect one more computer" (I paid for three), so I wonder what product they`ve actually put me on. They certainly called it AVAST Pro on the invoice !

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 73451
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #12 on: March 28, 2017, 03:06:11 PM »
Right click on the Avast icon in the system tray and choose "About Avast".
What does it say..?? Please post a screenshot..!!
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 22.1.6864.IBC [UI.688] - EEK - Firefox ESR 91.5 [NS/uBO/PB] - TB 91.5.0
Avast-Tools: Secure Browser 97.1 - Cleanup 21.4 - SecureLine 5.14 - Driver Updater 21.4 - CCleaner 5.88
Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline Pondus

  • Probably Bot
  • ****
  • Posts: 37170
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #13 on: March 28, 2017, 03:06:38 PM »
does it not say what avast and build number at about?

also if you open your avast it should have the name at top off the gui


justing@aerialsandtv.com

  • Guest
Re: Avast Pro : no support, so why have I paid ? ! ?
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2017, 04:13:02 PM »
Right click on the Avast icon in the system tray and choose "About Avast".
What does it say..?? Please post a screenshot..!!

Screen shot attached.