Author Topic: Win98SE  (Read 38642 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Rick F

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • _______
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #15 on: August 08, 2006, 09:03:14 PM »
Thanks David,

I downloaded a copy of ver .844.  At least I think that's what I downloaded. The file name doesn't say it's ver. 844, but it's about 500K smaller than the ver. 869. I labeled it as .844 of course.
___________

Eddy,

I reread Muggles post (reply #8 dated 'today'). He said...
"So the newer version of the exe file or related dll files do cause a lock up in Win98SE. This is on a very clean machine that has had no viruses or spyware on for a very long time.

I do security settings on computers for a living, so know what I am doing when it comes to setting up a computer for the internet."
 

I read that as he's still having trouble and that's why he's on an older version.

P.S. I see there's even newer version now on Avast's website.  Version 4.7.871 dated today (8-8-06). "Corrects fixed malfunctioning of the boot-time scanner under Windows NT/2000 (error "STOP c0000139")"
Dell Dimension; Intel-core2 duo; WinXP Media Ctr; 2.8ghz - NTFS; 1-Gig Ram; NVIDIA GeForce 7300LE; Firefox 19.0.2; OE-6; ZA-7.0.302; avast 6.0.1367; / DropMyRights / MalwareBytes-Free / Symantec LiveState Recovery Desktop 6.0 / (using WOT), MVPS HOSTS file, SpywareBlaster, WinPatrol PLUS,

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85595
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #16 on: August 08, 2006, 09:57:20 PM »
Yes, I think it was Vlk who mentioned this fix being released today in another thread, it is however, unrelated to this problem.
Just a single fix for an issue with NT/win2k, for a specific bug that you could probably live without unless you were using either of these OSes.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline muggles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #17 on: August 08, 2006, 10:13:06 PM »
Thanks David,

I downloaded a copy of ver .844.  At least I think that's what I downloaded. The file name doesn't say it's ver. 844, but it's about 500K smaller than the ver. 869. I labeled it as .844 of course.
___________

Eddy,

I reread Muggles post (reply #8 dated 'today'). He said...
"So the newer version of the exe file or related dll files do cause a lock up in Win98SE. This is on a very clean machine that has had no viruses or spyware on for a very long time.

I do security settings on computers for a living, so know what I am doing when it comes to setting up a computer for the internet."
 

I read that as he's still having trouble and that's why he's on an older version.

P.S. I see there's even newer version now on Avast's website.  Version 4.7.871 dated today (8-8-06). "Corrects fixed malfunctioning of the boot-time scanner under Windows NT/2000 (error "STOP c0000139")"

Version 4.7.871 causes the same problems with Win98SE, the version that works for me is 4.7.844, anything after this up to 4.7871 locks up Win98SE, even with all security off, after a fresh install of Win98SE on a separate drive with nothing else but the newer version of Avast Home Edition,  the system locked up, this was with versions after 4.7.844 and up to 4.7.871. So it is not any security settings, it is the program or related files that are causing the lock-up. What exactly has changed after 4.7.884 only Avast know?

Offline barryfs

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #18 on: August 08, 2006, 11:17:02 PM »
I too am a Win 98se user, and am a little concerned with this thread.

Has anyone out there managed to install 4.7.871 on a Win 98se system, without any problems??

I am currently running 4.7.844, and am inclined to stay on this version until I am happy that upgrading is not going to cause me any problems.

Has anyone in the Avast support team tested the latest version on Win 98se??

Offline Joeloucyn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Ouch, Microsoft bites me again!
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #19 on: August 08, 2006, 11:58:22 PM »
Has anyone out there managed to install 4.7.871 on a Win 98se system, without any problems??

 I am running Win98se with avast v 4.7.871 without any problems!
My dsl connection is connected via a router.
 Are you connected by PPPoE?
Perhaps avast is corrupting your PPPoE adapter!

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 85595
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #20 on: August 09, 2006, 12:33:26 AM »
4.7.871 it a bug fix for winNT/win2k so the win98 issue for you is in 4.7.869 which has been carried forward to 4.7.871, so this update held nothing for win98 users experiencing this problem.
Windows 10 Home 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 21.8.2487 (build 21.8.6586.691) UI 1.0.666/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro/ Avast! Mobile Security

Offline Joeloucyn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Ouch, Microsoft bites me again!
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #21 on: August 09, 2006, 02:43:20 AM »
I am not experiencing any problems with the current and previous updates with my Win 98se!
Are you using pppoe?
Are you using the WebShield?
If you are or are not using WebShield then I would suggest that you remove it.  I found it to cause problems with Win 98se internet connections even if running but not used!

Offline smokethapimp

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
  • Better to Shred, than to be Shred dead
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #22 on: August 09, 2006, 05:14:57 AM »
I DL'd a Big update last night, I guess Version 4.7.869 and am running it on fully updated Win98SE System with No problems. I do NOT use the Web Shield as I was thinking it didn't support 98SE anyway, at least Firewalled, which I am. I do always set all my programs up for Manual Updates as I want to decide what happens when on my system. ;D

 So, 4.7.869 is working fine on my Win98SE system at the moment.

Offline muggles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #23 on: August 09, 2006, 12:09:08 PM »
I DL'd a Big update last night, I guess Version 4.7.869 and am running it on fully updated Win98SE System with No problems. I do NOT use the Web Shield as I was thinking it didn't support 98SE anyway, at least Firewalled, which I am. I do always set all my programs up for Manual Updates as I want to decide what happens when on my system. ;D

 So, 4.7.869 is working fine on my Win98SE system at the moment.

Reinstalled 4.7.871 with all services off including the web shield, icon shows on the taskbar, but lose all internet access. Uninstalled, went back to 4.7.844 and internet access back to normal. Also, cannot reboot normally when the newer versions are installed, have to do a hard reboot.

Offline Rick F

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 419
  • _______
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #24 on: August 09, 2006, 04:12:18 PM »
It's good to see a few users of Win98SE not having trouble with this update.  But since I have the same software installed as Muggles (Win98SE & ZAP - or ZoneAlarm Pro), I think I'm going to hold off for awhile.

I DO use the web-shield without any problems (setting up a proxy server) and I like that added security feature.

I hope they can figure out what the problem is. I gave up on McAfee last year as they chose to no longer support VS-7 (the last good version IMHO) with engine upgrades.  I was a moderator on their help forum (McAfee Maniac) for 3 years.

I think avast is a great product and hope they continue to support the older OS's.
Dell Dimension; Intel-core2 duo; WinXP Media Ctr; 2.8ghz - NTFS; 1-Gig Ram; NVIDIA GeForce 7300LE; Firefox 19.0.2; OE-6; ZA-7.0.302; avast 6.0.1367; / DropMyRights / MalwareBytes-Free / Symantec LiveState Recovery Desktop 6.0 / (using WOT), MVPS HOSTS file, SpywareBlaster, WinPatrol PLUS,

Offline Joeloucyn

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 92
  • Ouch, Microsoft bites me again!
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #25 on: August 09, 2006, 04:24:49 PM »
Muggles, try the tool on this website to see if it corrects your internet access problems: http://cexx.org/lspfix.htm

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #26 on: August 09, 2006, 04:26:12 PM »
Reinstalled 4.7.871 with all services off including the web shield, icon shows on the taskbar, but lose all internet access. Uninstalled, went back to 4.7.844 and internet access back to normal. Also, cannot reboot normally when the newer versions are installed, have to do a hard reboot.
Do you use a firewall? Are the 'new' updated versions of the avast executables allowed to connect?
The best things in life are free.

Offline muggles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #27 on: August 09, 2006, 08:59:53 PM »
Muggles, try the tool on this website to see if it corrects your internet access problems: http://cexx.org/lspfix.htm

Done that, still no joy with newer versions above 4.7.844.

Offline muggles

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #28 on: August 09, 2006, 09:03:18 PM »
Reinstalled 4.7.871 with all services off including the web shield, icon shows on the taskbar, but lose all internet access. Uninstalled, went back to 4.7.844 and internet access back to normal. Also, cannot reboot normally when the newer versions are installed, have to do a hard reboot.
Do you use a firewall? Are the 'new' updated versions of the avast executables allowed to connect?

I did the install with ZA off, so as to give the Avast orogram full access. All versions over 4.7.844 woudol not connect to thte internet, would not show the icon in the taskbar unless all services were off, woudl cause shutdown problems in Win98SE, had to do forced hard reboots.

Back to version 4.7.844 as it is stable and works as it should.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67249
Re: Win98SE
« Reply #29 on: August 09, 2006, 09:52:25 PM »
I did the install with ZA off, so as to give the Avast orogram full access.
The problem could not be at installing but at updating it after boot...
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\Setup\avast.setup file must be allowed to connect in order to update.

Other programs that should be allowed to connect:

C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe (avast! Web Scanner)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe (avast! e-Mail Scanner Service)

Don't need rights to connect:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe (avast! antivirus service)
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashUpdSv.exe (avast! Update Service)
The best things in life are free.