Author Topic: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown  (Read 21568 times)

Offline afacciponti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« on: October 11, 2007, 10:14:26 AM »
I have installed AV on to WHS This looks good.

I updated Vista-Avast Free Home Edition to version: 4.7.1063, 10/10/2007

Whs sees my client pc but tells me all other information is Unknown

I have restarted both pc's with no joy.

I will unistall and reinstall from scratch on my vista machine.

Offline afacciponti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2007, 11:29:41 AM »
Reinstalled the Home Edition to version: 4.7.1063 on my vista pc but still no joy, Avast Whs still does not recognise it.
Will re-install Avast on my xp machine and see if it is picked up.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11565
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2007, 12:09:38 PM »
1. Is the WHS connector installed on the Vista machine?
2. Isn't there any firewall software installed on the Vista machine (besides the built-in Windows firewall)?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline afacciponti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2007, 12:21:58 PM »
1. Is the WHS connector installed on the Vista machine?
2. Isn't there any firewall software installed on the Vista machine (besides the built-in Windows firewall)?

Thanks
Vlk

1. Yes WHS Connector installed on Vista been running happily since Beta started on whs
2. Only the built-in Windows windows firewall installed

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11565
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2007, 12:39:07 PM »
On the Vista machine: can you please go to Control Panel -> Windows Firewall -> Change Settings -> Exceptions tab, and check if "avast! Antivirus Service" is in the list, and is ticked?

Thx
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline afacciponti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2007, 12:48:47 PM »
On the Vista machine: can you please go to Control Panel -> Windows Firewall -> Change Settings -> Exceptions tab, and check if "avast! Antivirus Service" is in the list, and is ticked?

Thx

No, avgagent.exe comes up twice

When i add Program i it gives me the option to select 'ashAvast.exe'

adding this and refeshing Avast Whs in conector made no difference

Also when i press 'Start main avast console' it runs the memory test and tells me to continue but no console.

Antonio
« Last Edit: October 11, 2007, 12:53:52 PM by afacciponti »

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11565
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #6 on: October 11, 2007, 12:57:18 PM »
avgagent.exe?
That's not our stuff ;) (maybe Grisoft's AVG)?

Well it seems that for some reason, the program hasn't created the firewall rules.
Can you try doing it manually, by adding the

C:\Program Files\ALWIL Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe

program to the list? (i.e. not ashAvast.exe but ashServ.exe).

I suppose aftering making this change, you'll have to restart the avast service (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services).


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline afacciponti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2007, 01:10:20 PM »
Sorry  :-[ avgagent.exe must have been left over from when i booted them off for being far to power hungry on my pc's  >:(

But Avast has been a whole different kettle of fish ;D

I added ashServ.exe and refreshed the Avast WHS it picked it up straight away.

Should ashAvast.exe be in the exceptions list as well since there were no exception made for avast prior to me adding them manually.

Thanks

Antonio

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11565
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2007, 01:42:23 PM »
Quote
Should ashAvast.exe be in the exceptions list as well since there were no exception made for avast prior to me adding them manually.

Nope. ashServ.exe should be enough.

Cheers
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline afacciponti

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2007, 02:30:46 PM »
Thats great all working  :)

Thanks

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11565
  • Gender: Male
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #10 on: October 11, 2007, 07:04:15 PM »
Still, it's quite strange why the firewall rule didn't get created automatically (it should have).
Can you please post the contents of the [WHS] section of the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file (from the Vista machine)?

BTW is avast installed in the default folder? ("C:\Program Files\ALWIL Software\Avast4")


Cheers
Vlk
« Last Edit: October 11, 2007, 07:07:00 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Tech

  • avast! team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 64867
  • Gender: Male
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #11 on: October 11, 2007, 11:24:32 PM »
Can you please post the contents of the [WHS] section of the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file (from the Vista machine)?
Vlk (or Igor), can you post the default items and values of this *new* section of avast4.ini file so I can update the avast4.ini file thread? Thanks.
The best things in life are free.

Offline billryan_nz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2007, 12:02:22 PM »
Vlk, I've had exactly the same problem but also solved in exactly the same way. Manual set of ashServ in (Windows) firewall exemptions, then restarting the Avast service; refresh in the WHS tab and it shows up straight  away. Have already done two of the client computers (all Vista) - will do the final two in the morning (also Vista) - all behaved the same.

Kind regards,

Bill

Offline igor

  • avast! team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11327
  • Gender: Male
    • AVAST Software
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2007, 12:25:03 PM »
Could you please answer Vlk's questions?
Thanks.

Offline billryan_nz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • Personal Message (Offline)
Re: Vista - Avast Free Home edition - Unknown
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2007, 12:50:54 PM »
Igor, I presume your response is directed at me.

Not sure which of Vlk's questions you're referring to so I'll respond to all:
- Connector is installed (WHS installed correctly on server and all clients - I've had the WHS OEM installed and running great for about 4 weeks - and the various betas for about 3 months prior)
- No firewall other than Windows built-in - exception created for ashServ on each of the clients, after which worked fine (as per previous post)
- Yes, beta update is installed in default folder on clients

Am unsure what Vlk means by 'Vista section of the <avast>\data\avast4.ini file'. This file contains at a rough guess ~300 lines starting with
[Languages]
0405=Czech
0406=Danish...

... and finishing with
AssumeAlwaysConnected=0
[Quick]
EnableSkins=0
InfectionExitApp=0
ShowResults=0
[WHS]
FwRulesCreated=1

...and I can't find a single reference in there to Vista or even to the installation I've just completed. Properties tells me file created 5 May 2007 (which is when I set this computer up) and modified today 13 October so the mods have occurred - just not identified in the file contents. Do you want me to post the entire file contents?

Bill

 

Google Chrome

AVAST recommends using the FREE Google Chrome™ browser.

Download Google Chrome Now