Author Topic: Popup to restart computer  (Read 15376 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline wuz

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2008, 11:47:06 AM »
Frank,

It's 4.8.1201 and if you get it with SP2 it's unlikely to be my SP3 so I will just click no to reboot until I have time to look at it later!

thanks,

Wuz

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2008, 12:52:53 PM »
I have some real bad news.
I reinstalled Avast yesterday.
All went o/k.
Waited for program update.
A while ago got a popup from Avast to say that a new update is available.
I clicked on the popup to download. All went o/k. At the end asked for reboot.
I clicked on Yes and rebooted.
About a minute after reboot was finished, asked for another reboot.
I accepted again.
About a minute after reboot completed I got the reboot message again.
I checked the setup.log file. At that stage it was 262kb in size. Found a line containing 'NeedReboot=true' not far from the end.
I rebooted by accepting the Yes in the Avast popup again.
As it was booting up I launched windows explorer as quick as I could. The setup.log file was still 262Kb. waited for about a minute, and of course the popup arrived and straight away after that the setup.log file went to 294Kb.
This is what I found in the setup.log file. about 50 lines from the end:-

20:29:38 vrb/reg  Set registry: Software\Alwil Software\Avast\4.0\Version=4.8
20:29:38 vrb/reg  Set registry: Software\Alwil Software\Avast\4.0\VersionShort=4.8
20:29:38 vrb/reg  Set registry: Software\Alwil Software\Avast\4.0\SetupVersion=1201
20:29:38 nrm/pkg  Transferred: files 0, bytes 0, time 0 ms
20:29:38 nrm/pkg  Retries: total 0, files 0, servers 0
20:29:38 vrb/fil  NeedReboot=true
20:29:38 vrb/sys  Delete on reboot(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Setup\reboot.txt)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Setup\reboot.txt, NULL)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aav5.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aavm4h.dll)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aav6.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AavmGuih.dll)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aav7.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AavmRpch.dll)

followed by about another 40 MoveFiles and then:-
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw44.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswCmnOS.dll)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw45.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswCmnS.dll)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw46.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswEngin.dll)
20:29:38 vrb/fil  MoveFileEx(D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw47.tmp, D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswScan.dll)
20:29:38 min/gen  Return code: 0x20000000 [Something done]
20:29:38 min/gen  Stopped: 17.05.2008, 20:29:38

The reboot.txt file also appears just after the restart popup.

These last 50 lines or so are the same as the last 50 lines after the previous boot.
During this installation and update process I was in admin mode - no question about the limited user mode. This update was for version 1201 which is what the About Avast states.

I hope someone can figure this out.
Frank1
Frank1

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2008, 01:12:54 PM »
To temporarily disable the avast self defense module:
1. Right click the 'a' blue icon on system tray.
2. Programs settings > Troubleshooting (tab)
3. Disable self defense module

Then delete the reboot.txt file.
If it fails, let the self defense module disabled and try to repair your installation (Control Panel).
The best things in life are free.

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2008, 01:53:58 PM »
Removed reboot.txt and rebooted. After the minute it asks for reboot again.
I think that deleting reboot.txt doesn't do anything because the boot process deletes it anyway. When it boots and I launch windows explorer, there is no reboot.txt. It is created at the time that the popup to reboot appears.

I did a repair from the control panel. It asked me to reboot a number of time now.
It didn't fix it. I did this before I reinstalled Avast a few days ago. It didn't do anything then either.
Frank1
Frank1

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82295
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2008, 02:03:32 PM »
As I said a few days ago it is likely to be in the registry so you might have been able to avoid a reinstall.

Try this.
You can also check this registry entry (right after computer restart):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager, if it contains "PendingFileRenameOpertaions".

Check its contents and if there's only "reboot.txt" from avast4\setup folder, delete PendingFileRenameOperations, don't delete any other key.
Back-up (export) the registry key before you edit/delete, just in case.

You should also delete the reboot.txt file if it exists before rebooting to see if this resolves the problem.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2008, 02:10:31 PM »
That key has the reboot.txt followed by lots and lots of other filenames.
You said delete if it contains only reboot.txt. I left it alone.
What is the next step.
Frank1

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #21 on: May 17, 2008, 05:14:14 PM »
That key has the reboot.txt followed by lots and lots of other filenames.
You said delete if it contains only reboot.txt. I left it alone.
What is the next step.
You can also check this registry entry (right after computer restart):
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager, if it contains "PendingFileRenameOperations".

Delete that key.
Back-up (export) the registry key before you edit/delete, just in case.
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82295
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #22 on: May 17, 2008, 06:04:32 PM »
That is what I told him to do in the post above his.

@Frank1
What were the other file names in the "PendingFileRenameOperations" list ?
It may be possible just to delete the reboot.txt value from the list, but don't do anything untill you report what other files are in there.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2008, 12:09:27 AM »
Here are the filenames in "PendingFileRenameOperations":

\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Setup\reboot.txt

\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aav5.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aavm4h.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aav6.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AavmGuih.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Aav7.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AavmRpch.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhR8.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhResMai.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahR9.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahResMes.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRA.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhResNS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRB.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhResOut.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahRC.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahResP2P.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRD.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhResStd.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRE.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhResWS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRF.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRuiMai.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahR10.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahRuiMes.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhR11.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRuiNS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhR12.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRuiOut.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahR13.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ahRuiP2P.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhR14.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRuiStd.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhR15.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AhRuiWS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash16.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashBase.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash17.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashCfgP.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash18.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashCfgT.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash19.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashChest.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash1A.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashOutXt.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash1B.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashShA64.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash1C.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashShell.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash1D.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSODBC.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash1E.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSSqlt.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash1F.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSXML.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash20.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashTask.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash21.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashUInt.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash22.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashWsFtr.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw23.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswAux.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw24.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswIdle.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw25.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswInteg.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw26.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswRawFS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw27.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswRes.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\avC28.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\avCommEx.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AVS29.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\AVSSHOOK.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\XT12A.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\XT1922.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash2B.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashAvast.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash2C.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashBug.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash2D.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashChest.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash2E.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashCnsnt.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash2F.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashDisp.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash30.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashLogV.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash31.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashMaiSv.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash32.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashPopWz.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash33.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashQuick.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash34.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashServ.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash35.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSimp2.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash36.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSimpl.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash37.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSkPcc.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash38.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashSkPck.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash39.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashUpd.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ash3A.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ashWebSv.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw3B.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswUpdSv.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\sch3C.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\sched.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Vis3D.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\VisthAux.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Vis3E.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\VisthLic.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\Vis3F.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\VisthUpd.exe
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ENGLISH\Bas40.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ENGLISH\Base.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ENGLISH\Lan41.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ENGLISH\Lang.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ENGLISH\Lan42.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\ENGLISH\LangMai.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw43.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswCmnB.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw44.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswCmnOS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw45.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswCmnS.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw46.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswEngin.dll
\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\asw47.tmp
!\??\D:\PROGRA~2\ALWILS~1\Avast4\aswScan.dll

There is a blank line after the reboot.txt.
The computer has asked to reboot but I didn't for a few hours now.
Frank1
Frank1

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2008, 12:28:23 AM »
I have installed Avast on my 2 other computers - seems to work fine.

By the way Wuz further up this thread states he has the same problem.
Neil (Problem with latest upgrade) subject has started that thread that looks the same as my problem also.

With this problem I thought that it is something peculiar about this computer with the problem. But it looks like others are having as well
Frank1
« Last Edit: May 18, 2008, 12:31:02 AM by Frank1 »
Frank1

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82295
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #25 on: May 18, 2008, 01:00:25 AM »
Wow that is some list and I have no idea why it would be that long.

I would do the export of the "PendingFileRenameOperations" part so that you have a copy just in case. Can you just delete the reboot.txt line and the blank line after it and then exit the registry.

Don't reboot just yet.

What is in the reboot.txt file, open with notepad ?

Without looking further into the details it isn't possible to say if the problem is exactly the same, unless he too post the same information.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #26 on: May 18, 2008, 01:17:24 AM »
By the way I ticked the following in the troubleshooting section:
Delay loading of Avast services ...
Disable rootkit scan on system startup
Disable avast self-defense module
These setting didn't do anything regarding the problem. Startup request still comes up.

Removed those 2 lines.
The reboot.txt is an empty file.

I didn't reboot yet as you requested, DavidR
Frank1
Frank1

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 82295
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2008, 01:46:41 AM »
OK delete the reboot.txt file and reboot and see if that has any impact.

Its getting late her and I'm about to call it a day, so one last thing if the reboot request comes back.

Delete the reboot.txt file, check the registry for the "PendingFileRenameOperations" again and see what the contents are.

I'm hoping at least the big list is gone and perhaps just the reboot.txt entry. If not delete the complete "PendingFileRenameOperations" part of the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager key, nothing other than the "PendingFileRenameOperations" bit.

Finally reboot with everything crossed, fingers, legs.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 19.8.2393 (build 19.8.4793.544) UI-1.0.415/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ WinPatrol+/

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #28 on: May 18, 2008, 02:52:12 AM »
Yes, I need to go away from the computer for about 7 hours.
I will be back then to continue.
Frank1
Frank1

Offline Frank1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
Re: Popup to restart computer
« Reply #29 on: May 18, 2008, 12:03:04 PM »
O/K, as suggested:
1) Deleted reboot.txt file, then reboot. Done - Popup to restart appeared, reboot.txt file reappeared and the "PendingFileRenameOperations" key was back with same contents as before including the reboot.txt file.

2) Deleted reboot.text file and deleted the "PendingFileRenameOperations" key. Reboot - reboot.txt file appeared and "PendingFileRenameOperations" key appeared but this time only the reboot.txt file showed with a blank line after. No request to restart!

Now I thought that we have it. But no.
I rebooted again and they all came back. The reboot.txt file, the "PendingFileRenameOperations" key with all the files as the original. So back to the start.

Any more thoughts?
By the way, is there an option during installation as to where to install Avast? I installed Avast a few times now but don't recall being given an option. It just installs into C:\Program Files\etc.
Frank1
« Last Edit: May 18, 2008, 01:14:02 PM by Frank1 »
Frank1