Author Topic: The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!  (Read 171763 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline pwebonline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I'm a llama!
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #15 on: April 20, 2004, 06:22:42 PM »
ashServ.exe 4.536KB
ashMailSv.exe 940KB
ashDisp.exe 1.272KB

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11657
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #16 on: April 20, 2004, 06:25:35 PM »
Do you have the latest version of avast? (4.1.357)

4.5MB for ashServ is suspiciously little. There must be a problem in loading of the process. How many threads does it have? (you have to explicitly enable this column in the Task Manager's settings)

Thanks
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline pwebonline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I'm a llama!
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #17 on: April 20, 2004, 07:52:01 PM »
ashServ.exe has 16 threads and 39488 page errors

Offline pwebonline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I'm a llama!
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #18 on: April 20, 2004, 07:57:09 PM »
and yes, I have the last version 4.1.357

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11657
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #19 on: April 20, 2004, 09:39:39 PM »
Thank.
And aren't there any entries in any of the categories of the avast! log viewer? (to access the viewer, e.g. right-click the avast tray icon). What matters are the categories Warning and higher...

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline pwebonline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I'm a llama!
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #20 on: April 20, 2004, 09:56:30 PM »
Not even one  :'(

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67070
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #21 on: April 21, 2004, 04:00:53 PM »
Not even one  :'(

Can you put the slider on the bottom position (debugger) and let it there?
Maybe next time something will be stored in the 'higher' categories...
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11657
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #22 on: April 21, 2004, 11:23:23 PM »
Any change in the latest version (4.1.389)?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline pwebonline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I'm a llama!
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #23 on: April 22, 2004, 12:47:39 AM »
I uninstalled the old version and installed the latest to see if it fix my problem but for some reason after rebooting w2k now does not start correctly, after logging in as Administrator it doesn't show any icon or anything, just the blue light wallpaper

Offline pwebonline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • I'm a llama!
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #24 on: April 22, 2004, 01:11:27 AM »
I booted my w2k in secure mode and uninstalled avast and everything is back to normal.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11657
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #25 on: April 22, 2004, 08:11:08 AM »
Did you remove your previous AV software before installing avast?
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline quickslam

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #26 on: April 23, 2004, 05:36:14 AM »
I am having the same problem running Windows XP pro - SP1

My event viewer shows the following:

Event Type:   Error
Event Source:   avast!
Event Category:   Client
Event ID:   90
Date:      4/21/2004
Time:      12:46:41 AM
User:      NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM
Computer:   SERVER
Description:
AAVM - scanning error: x_AavmCheckBootDirectEx: avscanScanReal of *BOOTA failed, 00000005.  

This problem has been occuring off and on Since February - sometimes I can log off and then back on and the problem will go away - some times I have to reboot several times - lately nothing will fix it.

Any help is greatly appreciated   ;D

Offline Vegeta

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #27 on: April 27, 2004, 02:44:49 PM »
Hi,

I have the same problem here. Some days ago I got DSL and I bought an Ethernet Card 10/100 from Realtek.
If I disable the Card via the Win-Manager the problem is gone after the next reboot.

Is there any way to fix this problem? It's very annoying to wait two minutes until avast running after a reboot (click on tray icon says: The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!).

I'm running Windows XP SP1 German with the latest patches.
There are no entries in the avast log and the two services (avast Antivirus/avast Controll Service) running automatically.
Avast Home Edition: 4.1.396

Greetings,
Vegeta
« Last Edit: April 27, 2004, 02:46:22 PM by Vegeta »

Offline thenewking

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #28 on: May 04, 2004, 01:29:39 AM »
hi i just installed avast and i did once have another AV on my PC which since have been unistalled


i am runnin zonealarm at start and thats it

OS is winxp
the def and program are upto date
splash cannot execute the following program
i get the error 0x000000c1 when i start avast c:\...\ashsimpl.exe

any ideas on what i can do to fix this

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2040
Re:The AAVM subsystem detected an RPC error!
« Reply #29 on: May 04, 2004, 01:38:57 AM »
0xC1 == ERROR_BAD_EXE_FORMAT (193) and means EXE file is not a valid Win32 application, maybe it's corrupted - try to repair avast.