Author Topic: Looking for AMD64 users  (Read 14180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #15 on: June 03, 2004, 05:21:47 AM »
Vlk, just a suggestion: make this thread 'sticky' for a while...
Forum activity is sending it to bottom  ;)

Btw, I don't have an AMD64  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Offline .: Mac :.

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5051
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #16 on: June 03, 2004, 06:08:55 AM »
Quote
I don't have an AMD64
What do you have then? P4 3.0 Ghz?
"People who are really serious about software should make their own hardware." - Alan Kay

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67269
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2004, 03:54:00 PM »
Almost there: P4 2.8 Ghz  :)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #18 on: June 04, 2004, 04:38:27 PM »
Unfortunately, it seems that JL gave up so we're still looking for someone... Anyone?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline JL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #19 on: June 05, 2004, 01:13:27 AM »
Nope I'm here. was down a couple days......my problem is solved but my connection gets fixed tomorrow morning. Whew.... been a pain in the arse.
So what can I do for ya Vlk?

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #20 on: June 05, 2004, 10:41:06 AM »
Hi JL, I'm glad your back. :)
To start, I'd need you to do what I described in one of my previous posts -- http://forum.avast.com/index.php?board=2;action=display;threadid=4834;start=msg35099#msg35099 (the one at the bottom).


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #21 on: June 05, 2004, 07:23:38 PM »
Allright, let's try once more. :) What I'd like you to do is:

Start Notepad and open the file "C:\boot.ini" in it; then copy its contents and paste its here, on the forum. I hope its clear now.

A glitch: The file may not be "visible" by default but if you just type C:\boot.ini in the Open File dialog (in Notepad), it should open fine...

:)

Thanks
Vlk
« Last Edit: June 05, 2004, 07:24:12 PM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline JL

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #22 on: June 06, 2004, 10:30:15 AM »
[boot loader]
timeout=3
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect


that what ya want? that is all my boot .ini  shows
Sorry I'm tech illiterate....lol

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #23 on: June 06, 2004, 10:44:04 AM »
And you're positive that it's a AMD64 machine, right?
(Windows should say so if you go to Control Panel -> System, on the first page ("General") -- the "Computer section)

And you really do have WinXP Sp2, right? Can you post a screenshot of that window? I've attached mine...


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Nomadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2004, 07:11:35 PM »
You have another one here.  

AMD FX-51 with Windows XP-SP1 at the moment.  My XP is the US English version.  I have the RC of SP2 downloaded, but I was lining up all of my utilities since the last time I tried this SP it killed NOD32.  I actually came here looking for an alternative to NOD 32 that will work with the new service pack and be more cost effective.

When I get home from work,  I will uninstall NOD32 and then install SP2.   After that I will install the current version of Avast and let you know what happens.  

It seems to me that I did try this when RC1 of SP2 came out and I received errors.  I know I tried a couple of alternative AV program, but I am not 100% certain that Avast was one of them.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2004, 09:39:30 PM »
Oh, excellent. Thanks for your help.

The latest version (4.1.412) contains special handling of the AMD/XPSP2 scenario but as I said, it hasn't been tested. Therefore I really apreciate your offer.

Thanks again
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Nomadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2004, 11:51:05 PM »
We have lift-off!  Everything went without a single problem!  My version shows 4.1.412 and I have scanned the full computer!

I will continue to play around and let you know if I encounter any problems.

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #27 on: June 12, 2004, 12:20:15 AM »
And do you have the /noexecute option set in boot.ini?

Also, is the "DEP" turned on for all programs (to find out follow the procedure depicted here: http://www.zive.cz/Files/Obrazky/2004/6/computex/transmeta10.jpg )

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Nomadin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #28 on: June 12, 2004, 02:21:43 AM »
I hope this preview works the way I hope:

Try this...

« Last Edit: June 12, 2004, 02:30:51 AM by Nomadin »

Offline Vlk

  • Global Moderator
  • Serious Graphoman
  • **
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Looking for AMD64 users
« Reply #29 on: June 12, 2004, 11:24:03 AM »
Super! Thanks a lot! Seems promising.

I wonder if an older version of avast (prior to 412) would work on your machine. But I doubt it -- I have seen them not workin'.

I'm slightly afraid to ask but anyway -- maybe you'll be in the right mood one day -- but it'd be extremely helpful if you could try the previous version on your machine and verified that it really did not work. Then update to 412 and re-verify that it does work.


The symptom of the malfunction should be as follows: you start avast, select any folder to scan (or entire disk) and when the results window appears, you should see ALL files flagged as "Unable To Scan: Internal Program Error."

Version 396 can be downloaded here: http://www2.asw.cz/~vlk/setupeng.exe .


Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.