Author Topic: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)  (Read 10355 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« on: February 19, 2010, 03:35:33 PM »
Hello!

My little brother is using the latest Avast on Windows XP system and he says that the shields turn off at least once a day and he has to click on FIX IT every time. We already uninstalled and reinstalled Avast a few times, but it doesn't work. That's also a reason why I'm still using 4.8. Is there any info that I should send to you to see into the problem? Please help!

Thanx! :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2010, 06:01:24 PM »
There is a problem is his computer.
That shouldn't be a reason for not updating.
Maybe more info helps... Operational system, other antivirus and security programs...
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11816
    • AVAST Software
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2010, 01:08:50 PM »
Are there any recent unpXXXXXXX.mdmp files (X are some numbers) in the folder
c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Alwil Software\Avast5\log
?

Offline Juanjo

  • Avast Reseller
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • Avast Antivirus España - Distribuidor y Mayorista Oficial
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2010, 01:46:18 PM »
Hello, my avast! is doing the same thing since 2 days ago. I have avast! IS, and from time to time some shields become inactive and I have to turn off all the shields and then activate again. I have not installed any new program and before this avast! IS was running perfectly. Some of our customers are reporting the same, for example in one case the customer installs avast! 5 and all is ok, but when he restarts the computer avast! appears with the button "Fix it".

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2010, 06:39:03 PM »
Hello, my avast! is doing the same thing since 2 days ago. I have avast! IS, and from time to time some shields become inactive and I have to turn off all the shields and then activate again. I have not installed any new program and before this avast! IS was running perfectly. Some of our customers are reporting the same, for example in one case the customer installs avast! 5 and all is ok, but when he restarts the computer avast! appears with the button "Fix it".
Can they follow what Igor said and send the files to, maybe, virus@avast.com ?
The best things in life are free.

Offline Juanjo

  • Avast Reseller
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 163
    • Avast Antivirus España - Distribuidor y Mayorista Oficial
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2010, 06:53:05 PM »
The customer that I was saying in my last reply has solved the problem updating his Windows using Windows Update. I hope this can help somebody with the same issue. In my computer, it is all ok all this day.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #6 on: February 24, 2010, 02:42:12 PM »
Are there any recent unpXXXXXXX.mdmp files (X are some numbers) in the folder
c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Alwil Software\Avast5\log
?

Yes, there are a lot of them, I sent the recent ones to the email address Tech wrote. Please, tell me what's wrong. Thank you! :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11816
    • AVAST Software
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #7 on: February 24, 2010, 02:48:18 PM »
Can you please upload those files (maybe packed into an archive) to
Code: [Select]
ftp://ftp.avast.com/incoming?
virus@avast.com isn't really the right address for this...
Thanks.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #8 on: February 24, 2010, 03:31:50 PM »
I forgot how to upload this, can you please tell me?  :-[ :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #9 on: February 24, 2010, 04:39:32 PM »
Can someone tell me how to upload a file to ftp.avast.com/incoming? Thank you.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2010, 05:40:05 PM by Bellzemos »
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67236
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #10 on: February 24, 2010, 06:15:03 PM »
Bellzemos, I use FileZilla.
You could post ftp.avast.com/incoming into Windows Explorer to "open" the folder also.
The best things in life are free.

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2010, 06:18:52 PM »
OK, I've uploaded the file (Bellzemos-log.rar) via Explorer. Please tell me what's wrong and why the shields are going down. Thank you! :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2010, 06:23:45 PM »
I managed to do it, thank you anyway. I hope that this problem with shields can be resolved or I will have to install the old version on my brother's PC again.
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).

Offline Bellzemos

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 621
Re: SHIELDS DOWN (Avast! Free 5.0.418)
« Reply #14 on: February 25, 2010, 03:25:53 PM »
Igor, have you checked my files? Thank you. :)
Intel Core i7 Q 740 @ 1.73 GHz, 6 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1, Avast! Free Antivirus, Malwarebytes Anti-Malware (free version) and Sandboxie (paid version).