Author Topic: update avast 5 ...ERROR !  (Read 20059 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #30 on: May 27, 2010, 11:51:45 PM »
ohhh wait, that's the list i get when I click on MJ.

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #31 on: May 27, 2010, 11:55:42 PM »
I see that's the list I get when I click...I then clicked on "computer"...how You have it
highlighted.  I thought maybe You wanted me to search then, for MJ, under the "computer"
heading...still nothing shows up.
I tried following the directions for windows explaining how to delete One Care...I'm unable to
find anything on my system labeled One Care.  I know I uninstalled it.

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #32 on: May 28, 2010, 12:01:32 AM »
I'd look for MJ to be in the Program Files (x86) folder.

Cleaning tools are for getting rid of stuff that gets left behind that you can't see/find.  So you might have old remnants, regadless if you can see anything or not.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #33 on: May 28, 2010, 12:19:56 AM »
Garg,
You're one heck of a Good Person.  You've allowed me so much of Your time & patience.
Being I'm not proficient in computers or programs, this is becoming kinda, sorta overwhelming.
I'm nervous that I might click or set something ...& throw the whole system into a
breakdown.  I know You know what You're doing, but my fingers...have their own minds.
I need to contact Sales@Avast.com to ask them to process a credit.  Shaking my Head*
I don't know which anti virus to go with now...I strongly dislike norton & mcafee.

Thank You so much...Your kindness has been so appreciated.

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #34 on: May 28, 2010, 12:30:11 AM »
I'd hardly advocate that.  If you have old security remnants they will continue to cause problems, likely doesn't matter which you get.

Possible fix? (if indeed it is an old onecare remnant causing problem)
1:Uninstall Avast! from Add/Remove programs, then reboot.
2:Download Avast! uninstaller from here http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility, follow posted instructions
3:Download and run the OneCare cleaning tool from the MS linked site I showed earlier
4:Reinstall/reactivate Avast!
« Last Edit: May 28, 2010, 12:42:39 AM by Gargamel360 »
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #35 on: May 28, 2010, 12:42:05 AM »
To run the OneCare Utility, it downloads a program, but won't run it because it says I must
be The Administrator.  How do I convince Windows, I AM The Administrator?

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #36 on: May 28, 2010, 12:45:40 AM »
See my above edit, for start.

To answer your Q......log in on Admin. account?  All security installation/removal should generally be done with the admin. account.....so this might also be a source of your trouble.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #37 on: May 28, 2010, 12:55:54 AM »
Ohhh Man, I'm clicking my heels on my ruby slippers together...I KNOW this will work!
After this, I'll be addressing You...by name, The Wizard! ;D

Offline Gargamel360

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2347
  • Memento Mori
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #38 on: May 28, 2010, 01:04:38 AM »
Good luck.  :)

You can edit your profile now to add a signature with some system info, if you want.  Can make it easier for others to help.
Signature?  But I gots no pen....

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #39 on: May 28, 2010, 03:41:40 AM »
I telephoned Dell for help. The tech removed malwarebytes & spybot, she said Avast was enough
security for my system.   She told me to download Avast again, I've tried applying my license..but
I'm getting a message that my "trial period" has ended.  I purchased a 3 year contract on 4/24/10.
I'm unable to get past the download...so basically I don't have any protection on my computer.
I'm getting a message from Avast "unable to insert the license file."
OMG I've never had such a hard time from an AV Program.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44496
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #40 on: May 28, 2010, 03:43:54 AM »
redc0ugar,
After you installed MagicJack, did you upgrade the software?
There are 2 updates one for Vista and one for Win7.
You can get them from MagicJack or from MySharedFiles
You'll find the updates in the MagicJack folder.
Pick the one for your operating system.
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #41 on: May 28, 2010, 03:57:20 AM »
Thank You Bob...I just sent You an email, then I checked back in here & now see what You've written.
I appreciate Your kindness.  I'll try downloading the updates & get right back with You.

Offline redc0ugar

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 25
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #42 on: May 28, 2010, 03:59:56 AM »
I checked out Your shared downloads...I don't know from the list of uploads which to click on.
I'll check out the other link to Avast.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44496
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #43 on: May 28, 2010, 04:02:37 AM »
I checked out Your shared downloads...I don't know from the list of uploads which to click on.
I'll check out the other link to Avast.
Simple, one is marked 4Vista  the other one ends in 4Win7
Choose the one that fit's your operating system. (From what I read, probably Vista)
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq

Offline bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 44496
  • 60 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: update avast 5 ...ERROR !
« Reply #44 on: May 28, 2010, 04:06:13 AM »
For your license key problem the following forum link should help:
http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=59088.msg498185#msg498185
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v20H2 64bit, 24 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, AvastOmni 20.7.xxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq