Author Topic: Avast wont let me connect to the internet  (Read 17720 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline burningflame

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« on: October 16, 2010, 02:59:44 AM »
a few days ago i updated avast, since then i haven't been able to access the internet without disabling avast's shield control first.
I'm using avast! free anti virus 5.0.677, my pc is windows vista. I have never had this problem before  :'(

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83804
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2010, 03:07:59 AM »
Lets start with the usual culprit:
What is your firewall ?
Does it allow avastSvc.exe internet access ?
- If it does delete the entry for it and try to browse, this should force the firewall to ask permission again.

What did you update from ?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline burningflame

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2010, 03:15:10 AM »
I'm not sure what firewall I'm using, and how could i check if it allows avastSvc.exe internet access.
sorry I'm not very experienced with this kind of stuff.

and it was an auto update yesterday

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83804
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2010, 03:47:46 AM »
If you don't know what your firewall is, then it is likely that it is the windows firewall that came with your Operating System (OS). This  is disabled by default in Vista, so it shouldn't be blocking anything.

If you open the Control Panel, Security Center (winXP and possibly Vista also) and that should tell you what your firewall is.

Well an auto update would be for the virus signatures and as such isn't changing any avast processes like the avastSvc.exe file, so even if you have a 3rd party firewall installed it shouldn't see the file as having changed and block.

WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline burningflame

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2010, 04:00:01 AM »
it just says windows firewall or just firewall.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83804
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2010, 05:13:57 AM »
That is as I said then just the default firewall that comes with windows and shouldn't be blocking anything.

Try this, http://www.mydigitallife.info/2007/06/18/repair-and-reset-windows-vista-tcpip-winsock-catalog-corruption/comment-page-1/.

There is a cool called WinSockFix.exe and you can get it from here, http://winsockfix.en.softonic.com/, that should work on Vista (but it doesn't mention it on that page), but I don't know is what it fixes is what is wrong with your system. Its the only other thing that I can thing of right now.

That is me for the night, almost 4:15a.m. here.
« Last Edit: October 16, 2010, 05:22:15 AM by DavidR »
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 2004 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.7.2425 (build 20.7.5568.598) UI-1.0.558/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline Deckard111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2010, 10:07:50 AM »

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2010, 10:21:11 AM »
The only problem is, there was no program update for Avast!. So your conclusion is at least premature.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / Debian / Tails / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline Visseroth

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2010, 10:37:13 AM »
I'm having the exact same problem with Avast Pro. If I disable the web shield I can surf just fine, with it enabled I am unable to so much as resolve DNS via the web browser.

Any ideas as to how to reset the web sheild or resolve the issue?

Offline Deckard111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2010, 10:55:32 AM »
The only problem is, there was no program update for Avast!. So your conclusion is at least premature.

Greetz, Red.

I would say my conclusion was pretty acuurate, I was in the middle of using my browser when Avast updated itself, and then all http traffic was blocked after either a definition update or software reconfig, then all http traffic is blocked. pretty open and shut really

regards

Offline Deckard111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2010, 11:07:32 AM »
As far as I know a VPS update can't corrupt your Windows Sockets configuration. (De-)installation of networking software can, or malware , or the removing of malware.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / Debian / Tails / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline Deckard111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2010, 11:41:13 AM »
As far as I know a VPS update can't corrupt your Windows Sockets configuration. (De-)installation of networking software can, or malware , or the removing of malware.

Greetz, Red.

I understand red, in order for me to get , malware, virus I would have to execute that said file unless it was an exploit or /worm, im too careful for that to happen, as soon as avast webshield is terminated all is well, prob is avast!!!

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3669
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2010, 11:55:56 AM »
No, the problem is a corrupt Windows Sockets configuration. And the question is what caused it. I only said other scenario's are possible. For example the Windows Update of last week.

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / Debian / Tails / iOS
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with Cybersec

Offline Deckard111

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Avast wont let me connect to the internet
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2010, 01:37:09 PM »
If it was windows update on tuesday week then WHY did it not happen immediatley after restart of said updates, the only update that has caused this is avasts.. cant say any clearer than that. why are you so dissmissive thats its not avast!!! when disabled web shield http traffic is allowed through when its enabled all traffic is blocked..... ::) clearly something that has changed in avast config has trashed with winsock. If it was a windows update then MS would have been on a fix and released already..
« Last Edit: October 16, 2010, 01:39:32 PM by Deckard111 »