Author Topic: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **  (Read 101146 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Hopper15

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #30 on: January 06, 2011, 12:44:57 AM »
I'll wait to update.
Win 8.1 64 bit 16GB Avast Free/Malwarebytes Pro/CCleaner

Online NON

  • Japanese User
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Ultra Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4905
  • Whatever will be, will be.
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #31 on: January 06, 2011, 12:45:57 AM »
Updated over .864 free. So far no problems (though I don't have any problems with .864). 8)
Thanks for the new build.
Main: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-7400 3.0GHz / 16GB RAM / Avast 21 Premium Beta(Icarus) / Comodo Firewall (testing again)
Mobile: Win10 Pro 20H2 64bit / Core i5-3340M 2.7GHz / 8GB RAM / Avast 21 Free / Windows Firewall Control

Avast の設定について解説しています。よろしければご覧ください。

Offline robinb

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
    • Do You Feel Like A Hostage To Your Computer
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #32 on: January 06, 2011, 12:52:52 AM »
Vik when will it be put in the updater- I am assuming you are a waiting a few more days to make sure no one else has problems with it?

Just asking so i can tell my clients who have the pro version and free version to do the upgrade.

And thanks for the prompt fixes.  Avast is the first company I have ever seen listen to their users when there is an upgrade/update problem and act almost immediately.
I applaud you all!
robin
R&D Internet Associates
running 8 desktop, 2 laptop 1 netbook, XP Pro SP3, Windows 7, Windows Starter. (all 32bit except 1-64bit Desktop)
Avast Free, MSE (on assort. ones)
Spywareblaster, Superantispyware Pro, malwarebytes free on all for security.  XP & W7 firewall attached to a lynksis router.

Offline jadinolf

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Advanced Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1090
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #33 on: January 06, 2011, 12:58:35 AM »
I recommend that you give it a try.

Most of us are not having problems.
printed on 100% recycled bytes

Offline schmidthouse

  • VIRUS FREE A Long Time
  • Avast Evangelist
  • Starting Graphoman
  • ***
  • Posts: 7078
  • When you think you know, Think Again
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #34 on: January 06, 2011, 01:04:53 AM »
The right-click tray icon update bug is fixed :)

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=68708.0

Greetz, Red.

Boy I really love this stuff! I had .864 installed on both my systems and the only bug was the 'right click icon for update issue'.
On my laptop install .874 went great, initial reboot after install went smooth...tried the right click icon and choose update virus etc and it worked like a charm
HOWEVER...On my Desktop after initial .874 reboot from install the right click issue was not working.
It took a couple more boots and Whalla the right click to update bug is fixed.
A little extra messing around is what makes me smile ;D ;D
Even though I have not had issues on my CLEAN and Healthy Disk systems I thank the Avast Team as always for their dedication. ;)
***HP ENVY 15K LT W10 Pro 21H1 64Bit/750GB HD/16GB Ram/Avast Premium 21.9.2493b/Secureline VPN v.5.12.5699b/ADU v.21.3b/ASB v.94.0b/SANDBOXIE-plus/MailWasherPRO
**HP Compaq 8510p LT W10 Pro 20H2 64Bit/1TB HD/8GB Ram/WD/ADU v.21.3b/SANDBOXIE/MailWasherPRO/HotSpot Shield
     
RIP*Dell Inspiron XPsp4 PRO 32Bit/Avast(since 2002)18.8.2356/WP/Comodo FW 3.14/Secureline/Comodo IceDragon v.40
LAYERED SECURITY SOFTWARE

Offline cadremis

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 374
  • Proud Mexican Avast User
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #35 on: January 06, 2011, 01:10:28 AM »
I didn't have any troubles with 5.1.864 but I have updated Avast to 5.1.874 and this one is working fine in my PC...

Thanks for the quick support for users with troubles!
1.-W/7 Ultimate SP1,32bts Intel Core 2 CPU 6300 1.86Ghz 2G RAM Intel G965.
Avast Free 7.0.1474, Online Armor Free Firewall 6.0.0.1736, Firefox 17.01, SandBoxie 3.76,Free,Mbam & SAS,PandaUSB Vaccine

Offline Hopper15

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #36 on: January 06, 2011, 01:21:59 AM »
Updated on the desktop, everything running fine.
Win 8.1 64 bit 16GB Avast Free/Malwarebytes Pro/CCleaner

Offline dennis96411

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #37 on: January 06, 2011, 01:28:48 AM »
Does the 5.1.864 make me BSOD with PFN_LIST_CORRUPT? I got that twice this week. Or it could be my beta GPU drivers.

Offline scjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #38 on: January 06, 2011, 01:29:18 AM »
Updated to build .874 and it's running great. Whatever you folks did, my browser appears to be loading pages much quicker. Definitely a keeper. :)

Thank you Avast!

scjr

Offline pk

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 2085
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #39 on: January 06, 2011, 01:33:30 AM »
Does the 5.1.864 make me BSOD with PFN_LIST_CORRUPT? I got that twice this week. Or it could be my beta GPU drivers.

It's very unlikely that's caused by avast. PFN_LIST_CORRUPT is one of the most complex crashes to solve - it's better to change GPU drivers or test your hardware (memory). PFN_* bsod means, internal kernel-mode memory structures were corrupted.

Offline Rednose

  • Pirate Party Member
  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Massive Poster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3744
  • Bits of Freedom : https://www.bof.nl
    • Nederlandstalig Avast! forum
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #40 on: January 06, 2011, 01:40:34 AM »
874 fixes the problems I found with 864 on my Acer Desktop running Windows 7 (64-bit)

yiersan, welcome to the forum :)

And thank you for confirming that build 5.1.874 fixes the Acer problems :)

Greetz, Red.
OS: Win 10 / iOS 14 / Debian 10 / Tails 4
Real Time: Avast Premium Security
On Demand: Malwarebytes
VPN: NordVPN ( NordLynx ) with CyberSec

Offline Gopher John

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 2098
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #41 on: January 06, 2011, 01:44:12 AM »
Upgrade from the UI wasn't available
+1


C'mon, this is not an official update (yet), so no wonder it's not available through the internal updater, isn't it? Or did you assume we'd detect your systems and offer the update to you, being sure you'd be keen on testing it? ;)

Males at age 18 here in the US have to register with the Selective Service System so they are available if the military has to invoke the draft.  Alwil might want some new recruits for testing. ;D
« Last Edit: January 06, 2011, 01:46:41 AM by Gopher John »
AMD A6-5350M APU with Radeon HD Graphics, 8.0GB RAM, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE11
i7-3610QM 2.3GHZ, 8.0GB Ram,  Nvidia GeForce GT 630M 2GB, Win7 Pro SP1 64bit, IE 11
Common to both: Avast Premium Security 19.7.2388, WinPatrol Plus, SpywareBlaster 5.5, Opera 12.18, Firefox 68.0.2, MBam Free, CCleaner

Offline dennis96411

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #42 on: January 06, 2011, 01:47:03 AM »
Does the 5.1.864 make me BSOD with PFN_LIST_CORRUPT? I got that twice this week. Or it could be my beta GPU drivers.

It's very unlikely that's caused by avast. PFN_LIST_CORRUPT is one of the most complex crashes to solve - it's better to change GPU drivers or test your hardware (memory). PFN_* bsod means, internal kernel-mode memory structures were corrupted.
OK, I had the beta drivers found over at laptopvideo2go.com, and I just installed it, thinking it was gonna be good. But I ignored the part where it says "BETA" XD
Well, NVIDIA finally updated their driver database with one that's just a little step down from the one I'm using [266.44 on the laptopvideo2go website compared to 266.35 on NVIDIA's website], so I guess this one is a little less buggy, since NVIDIA "daringly" put it up there. Updated it in safe mode, and am now going to test it out.

Offline kenf

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #43 on: January 06, 2011, 01:54:27 AM »
My main issue since upgrading to 5.1.864, as I've posted somewhere on this forum before, is that my onboard video doesn't work on normal bootup- thus I have no picture on monitor even though I can hear windows xp booting up ok, via the sound.
I have to manually, via power button, shut down, sometimes several times, and then I get picture and normal boot up.
I don't have a dell or an acer, have a gateway, and use xp pro.
Never any problems like this till the upgrade.
Will this new update fix this problem as I don't think my specific issue was mentioned?
I don't want to screw things up any more than it allready is,
as at least I can boot up eventually right now and the uninstall in safe mode left many remnants.

Offline zfactor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: ** HAVING ANY ISSUES WITH V5.1.864? Try a new pre-release build 5.1.874 **
« Reply #44 on: January 06, 2011, 02:03:53 AM »
so far so good. thank you. im actually hoping to soon be a reseller so i can offer avast to my customers. you guys are awesome with the fast fixes
To many systems to list specs lol.. Avast internet security beta.

"Some days your the windshield. Some days your the bug"