Author Topic: With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software  (Read 67448 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #30 on: September 01, 2004, 01:29:15 PM »
Why are you asking? Of course it's normal. As I said, by far not all SP2 users are affected by this strange behavior...
I didn't saw that...  :)
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline rdsu

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 534
  • ...
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #31 on: September 02, 2004, 03:04:54 AM »
I instaled the avast! Home Edition to my friend, and now he doesn't have that problem  ;)

Thanks
Avast Free Antivirus: Web Shield & Home Network Security.

Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #32 on: September 07, 2004, 02:09:20 PM »
The only places I have encountered this problem is when installing applications using older versions of Installshield.  This includes recent updates to some of my programs, but since applications don't seem to use old versions of this installer, it probably only affects a few people with apps using these installers.

Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #33 on: September 07, 2004, 08:24:37 PM »
Hopefully this will help someone who hasn't installed Avast in the default location.  I have attached a registry files that will fix the problems for the following location you might have installed Avast :-

c:\program files\Alwil Software\Avast4\

Change the file extension from .txt to .reg before double-clicking the file.

I suggest checking it looks OK in a text editor and of course use at your own risk. If it doesn't work, you can always edit the registry manually as suggested above.

I will post for other locations below (don't think I can attach more than one file).



Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #34 on: September 07, 2004, 08:26:59 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
d:\program files\Alwil Software\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).


Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #35 on: September 07, 2004, 08:27:22 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
e:\program files\Alwil Software\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).


Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #36 on: September 07, 2004, 08:27:41 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
f:\program files\Alwil Software\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).

« Last Edit: September 07, 2004, 08:41:53 PM by apwood »

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31356
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #37 on: September 07, 2004, 08:28:53 PM »
And which one to use if I have Avast installed in:

x:\IamnotgonnatellwhereIinstalled it?

Just kidding ;D ;D ;D

Nice job, I think you helped a lot of people.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2004, 08:29:19 PM by Eddy »

Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #38 on: September 07, 2004, 08:30:14 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
g:\program files\Alwil Software\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).


Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #39 on: September 07, 2004, 08:31:50 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
c:\program files\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).


Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #40 on: September 07, 2004, 08:32:17 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
d:\program files\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).

Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #41 on: September 07, 2004, 08:32:54 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
e:\program files\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).

Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #42 on: September 07, 2004, 08:33:36 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
f:\program files\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).

Offline apwood

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #43 on: September 07, 2004, 08:34:00 PM »
If you have installed Avast in
g:\program files\Avast4\

... use this one (attached).

Just wanted to say sorry in advance if I've broken any forum etiquette by making these 10 posts, but I couldn't see any other way to do it.  Do hope it helps though.

« Last Edit: September 07, 2004, 08:35:07 PM by apwood »

Online bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 42760
  • 59 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #44 on: September 08, 2004, 01:17:27 AM »
apwood
Welcome to the Forums.
I'm sure this will help some of the users. Since each post has a file attached, I don't think there is any other way then making individual posts. Thanks
Free avast! Security Seminar: http://bit.ly/2N1eaR2  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 10 Pro v1903 64bit, 8 Gig Ram, AvastFree 19.6.xxxx, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq