Author Topic: With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software  (Read 77516 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
The best things in life are free.

Tianshi

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #46 on: September 08, 2004, 10:10:11 AM »
I have installed Avast in
D:\Programme\Alwil Software\Avast4

Help me  :-* :-*

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11655
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #47 on: September 08, 2004, 10:16:52 AM »
Use any of the reg files (import it to the registry), then fire regedit, navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers, and manually change the path in the VDD value.

Vlk
« Last Edit: September 08, 2004, 10:17:07 AM by Vlk »
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Tianshi

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #48 on: September 08, 2004, 10:22:58 AM »
@Vlk :-* :-*   it works


Xenomorph

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #49 on: September 17, 2004, 04:41:57 AM »
i had been wondering why the hell none of my DOS stuff had been running the past few days/weeks.

this thread helped me a lot.. thanks.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #50 on: September 17, 2004, 01:58:37 PM »
I had been wondering why the hell none of my DOS stuff had been running the past few days/weeks.

Did you install Norton before avast?
Which application 'mess' the VDD registry key?  ::)
Wellcome to avast forums.
The best things in life are free.

Xenomorph

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #51 on: September 17, 2004, 04:44:15 PM »
Did you install Norton before avast?
Which application 'mess' the VDD registry key?  ::)
Wellcome to avast forums.

No.

this was a CLEAN install of Windows XP SP2 (no previous version installed, not an upgrade, etc), followed by an install of avast!. DOS programs immediatly stopped working. Nothing else was installed on the system.

its obviously an issue of avast! and SP2.

like i said, it was a fresh install of Windows XP SP2. i hadnt even installed my video drivers yet. i made sure my firewall was up, and went and installed avast!. after a reboot, "edit.com" no longer ran, and i noticed the missing registry key.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #52 on: September 17, 2004, 04:51:52 PM »
Thanks Xenomorph for your information.
Like previous discovered, seems that avast! is not 'fully' integrated with SP2 in this specific point...  :-\
I just asked because it's well known that NAV brings the same problem to any other antivirus installed after. Even uninstalling NAV the problem remains  :( You should, like you did in this case, manually change the VDD Registry key.

I just alert to the fact of editing the config.nt file, like some users did, will un-protect 16-bits (DOS) applications of being scanned by avast  :'(
The best things in life are free.

Cbruyland

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #53 on: October 04, 2004, 09:57:51 AM »
I had the same problem when I tried installing Visual Studio 6.0 on Windows XP SP-2.
The setup hangs and after some time the error: "couldn't find acme setup" was displayed.

Removing the driver in the config.nt file solved the problem;
now I will try using the VDD reg file...

Mr_Blue

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #54 on: November 23, 2004, 03:07:49 AM »
I can't believe it!  I have been searching for over a month. I never suspected avast because I was getting the NTVDM error even in Safe Mode, when avast is not running.

Anyway, I added aswMonVd.dll (with the proper path) in the registry and I don't get the NTVDM error anymore, but the affected programs simply don't start. I also tried with avast disabled: same result.

Can anyone help?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #55 on: November 23, 2004, 03:28:06 AM »
I can't believe it!  I have been searching for over a month. I never suspected avast because I was getting the NTVDM error even in Safe Mode, when avast is not running.

Anyway, I added aswMonVd.dll (with the proper path) in the registry and I don't get the NTVDM error anymore, but the affected programs simply don't start. I also tried with avast disabled: same result.

Can anyone help?

Do you have any other antivirus installed in your system? Which one?
NAV could mess your registry keys and let you to error.

aswMonVd.dll should appear in the following Registry keys:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet003\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet004\Control\VirtualDeviceDrivers\\VDD

Maybe you don't have all ControlSet00X... Don't worry.
The best things in life are free.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48695
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #56 on: November 23, 2004, 03:56:24 AM »
Mr_Blue
Please realize that this is an old thread. The problem discussed in here no longer has anything to do with avast! providing your using version 4.5 or higher.
However, If you had Norton on your system and it wasn't properly un-installed using the software available from Norton,(click on the link in my signature) then the problem is Norton AV related.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Mr_Blue

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #57 on: November 23, 2004, 01:23:53 PM »
Yes, I know that this is an old thread. I read all messages in all threads that contain "NTVDM" and this is the one that seemed most appropriate. I have avast 4.1 Pro.

No, I don't have any other antivirus and never did. This machine is less than 2 months old. NTVDM was working before, including after installing SP2. The error started immediately after installing avast. (I know it now because this is the second time that I install everything, so I was testing the NTVDM at every step.)

I have another machine (one year old) also running WinXP, on which I have NAV instead of avast and there is problem with NTVDM on that one. But I was planning on buying avast Pro for this machine.

I modified the VDD value in the ...CurrentControlSet... only, because that is how it is specified in your .reg file, and the value was changed automatically in the other ControlSetnnn keys, as expected. I have only ControlSet001 and ControlSet003. The VDD value is still correct in all three keys after a reboot.

As I said before, after modifying the VDD value, I no longer get the error message about NTVDM having "encountered an illegal operation". When I launch a program that requires NTVDM, the avast icon activates, but nothing else happens. There is no message from avast, even though I turned on the option to "Display detailed info on current action" [translating from French] in every module that has this option.

I hope I won't have to uninstall avast. I had already started recommending it to friends and colleagues.

Offline bob3160

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48695
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #58 on: November 23, 2004, 04:42:13 PM »
Mr_Blue
Quote
Yes, I know that this is an old thread. I read all messages in all threads that contain "NTVDM" and this is the one that seemed most appropriate. I have avast 4.1 Pro.
Your problem is one of the problems solved in the current release of avast!.
Please update your avast! software and your problem should be gone.
Hope that helps.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Mr_Blue

  • Guest
Re:With SP2 Avast unables setup of older software
« Reply #59 on: November 23, 2004, 05:46:08 PM »
Upgrading to v4.5 has not changed anything in relation to NTVDM.

Still no error message, but nothing happens when launching programs that use it, except a few spins of the avast icon.