Author Topic: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"  (Read 21497 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline FalseLogic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
"You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« on: September 19, 2011, 10:16:32 AM »
Hey everyone, I'm a long time user of avast, and I'm trying set it up on a friends computer for him, but I'm encountering an issue with the installer. Whenever I run it, I get an error message that says:

Code: [Select]
You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup.

Instead of using the packages saved in this file, the installer will download and use the latest setup from the internet.

It then proceeds to download a new file, and attempt to install again, only to reach the same error, and create an endless loop. I tried downloading the file from download.com as well as avast.com, with the same result.

I tried searching for a solution, but I didn't find anything...

If anyone has a clue what's happening, some help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
FalseLogic

Offline DavidCo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2011, 11:25:08 AM »
Need OS version etc
Also what version of Windows installer do you have
Asus P5, E8500/3.16GHz, 4GB Corsair X2E, Sata11 'Cudas, 512MB Nvidia
Vista HP 32Bit, Avast AV/V6 Pro, Mbam on demand

Offline ady4um

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2667
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #2 on: September 19, 2011, 11:52:34 AM »
Clean your web browser's cache and go to avast.com to download again the correct version and edition you want, only from the official site.

The latest version is 6.0.1289, and please don't confuse the trial editions of Pro and AIS with the Free edition.

Run the downloaded setup, and reboot immediately after it finishes.

Please report back.
ADD/REMOVE PROGS -> avast -> CHANGE/REMOVE -> REPAIR & REBOOT
Avast! 7 FAQ | FAQ & KB | Docs | Removal Utils | Configure Mail Shield | report FP | License Registration | UNSECURED?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2011, 12:07:00 PM »
Please check your system time, especially the year value.
It's probably > 2011.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11032
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2011, 12:22:50 PM »
You can dowload the version of avast you need from here http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=84297.msg685480#msg685480

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #5 on: September 19, 2011, 12:34:12 PM »
I think he has the right version already.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline CraigB

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 11032
  • No support PM's thanks
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #6 on: September 19, 2011, 02:19:59 PM »
I think he has the right version already.
Thought i would put it there just in case he/she need to download it again, dont want them to download it via cnet  ;)

Offline FalseLogic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #7 on: September 19, 2011, 08:01:42 PM »
Please check your system time, especially the year value.
It's probably > 2011.

Thanks
Vlk

This was it. He had the computer in 2012. Well thank you all for the responses anyway, I really appreciate it.

Offline DBone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 283
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #8 on: September 19, 2011, 08:09:07 PM »
Seems as though Vlk might know a thing or two. ;)
Windows 7 Home Premium x64 ~ Clean Install ~ Router NAT Firewall ~ Windows 7 Firewall ~ Bitdefender Antivirus Free ~ Chrome ~ Ghostery ~ Windows 7 System Image

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #9 on: September 20, 2011, 07:39:39 AM »
FYI, this is one of the new features of version 6.0.1289.

We were being increasingly frustrated by people installing old versions of our software (because supporting these versions is problematic, e.g. in terms of virus definition updates) and so we implemented a feature in the installer that checks the system time, and if the product being installed is old (I think "old" here means older than half a year) we go ahead and pull the latest installer from the Internet and use it instead.

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9346
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #10 on: September 20, 2011, 08:20:33 AM »
That's smart thinking. Some may not agree with it though, but the fact is that antivirus is only good and useful if it's up to date. Which makes you wonder why ppl are insisting on old outdated versions.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline ady4um

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2667
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #11 on: September 20, 2011, 10:02:21 AM »
Which makes you wonder why ppl are insisting on old outdated versions.
... Because the latest (at the specific moment) wasn't working as expected?

Sometimes it is more difficult for the final user to troubleshoot some problem, and sometimes some strange conflict exist (but no one can pinpoint it), and every now and then, bugs get to the final version :o .

For those cases, it would be better to use an older version, but that is known to work, than keep using the system with no AV, or with an unstable system, or with a different AV instead of Avast.

(I think "old" here means older than half a year)

Well, if users are not receiving program updates tray notification (despite using the correct settings), and if they are not opening the main GUI either, then they might be using an "old" version.

"Just for curiosity" (but definitely not only for that), is this difficulty on supporting "older" versions that is preventing solving old repetitive bugs too?
ADD/REMOVE PROGS -> avast -> CHANGE/REMOVE -> REPAIR & REBOOT
Avast! 7 FAQ | FAQ & KB | Docs | Removal Utils | Configure Mail Shield | report FP | License Registration | UNSECURED?

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #12 on: September 20, 2011, 10:09:28 AM »
Well, if users are not receiving program updates tray notification (despite using the correct settings), and if they are not opening the main GUI either, then they might be using an "old" version.

Unless Silent mode is on, they are receiving program update tray notifications.

"Just for curiosity" (but definitely not only for that), is this difficulty on supporting "older" versions that is preventing solving old repetitive bugs too?

No.
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.

Offline Asyn

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 66723
    • >>>  Avast Forum - Deutschsprachiger Bereich  <<<
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #13 on: September 20, 2011, 10:12:29 AM »
FYI, this is one of the new features of version 6.0.1289.

We were being increasingly frustrated by people installing old versions of our software (because supporting these versions is problematic, e.g. in terms of virus definition updates) and so we implemented a feature in the installer that checks the system time, and if the product being installed is old (I think "old" here means older than half a year) we go ahead and pull the latest installer from the Internet and use it instead.

Interesting. Thanks for the info..!
Win 8.1 [x64] - Avast PremSec 20.8.2427.B#2 [UI.560] - CC 5.71 - EEK - FF ESR 68.12 [NS/AOS/uBO/PB] - TB 68.12 - SB/CP/SL/DU.BC
Deutschsprachiger Bereich -> Avast Wissenswertes (Downloads, Anleitungen & Infos): https://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=60523.0

Offline ady4um

  • Massive Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 2667
Re: "You are trying to use an old version of the avast! setup"
« Reply #14 on: September 20, 2011, 10:25:19 AM »
Unless Silent mode is on, they are receiving program update tray notifications.
Well, not "all" users are. The times when the tray notifications about program updates were seen a couple of weeks after the release are gone (let's hope those times can come back).

Quote
"Just for curiosity" (but definitely not only for that), is this difficulty on supporting "older" versions that is preventing solving old repetitive bugs too?

No.

Interesting ::). You can answer a simple question after only a couple of minutes ( + - ), but old persistent bugs are being reported and no comment at all from anyone from Avast Team is presented (or posts being deleted with no reason and no explanation is offered, not even by a discrete path).
ADD/REMOVE PROGS -> avast -> CHANGE/REMOVE -> REPAIR & REBOOT
Avast! 7 FAQ | FAQ & KB | Docs | Removal Utils | Configure Mail Shield | report FP | License Registration | UNSECURED?