Author Topic: Error - ashServ.exe  (Read 52189 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #45 on: May 09, 2005, 12:25:50 AM »
I don't know about any one else but it sure took care of me.
I've not had any more errors since I made the change.
Did you read Igor's advice about this?
DEP shouldn't interfere with that error and you'll changing the default Windows behavior. I don't know much about this, just saying that it should not be the solution as Igor posted...
The best things in life are free.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48652
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #46 on: May 09, 2005, 01:05:32 AM »
I don't know about any one else but it sure took care of me.
I've not had any more errors since I made the change.
Did you read Igor's advice about this?
DEP shouldn't interfere with that error and you'll changing the default Windows behavior. I don't know much about this, just saying that it should not be the solution as Igor posted...
Technical
I just went thru this entire thread. There isn't anything in here about this problem and the solution from Igor. ??? ??? ???
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #47 on: May 09, 2005, 02:49:44 AM »
I just went thru this entire thread. There isn't anything in here about this problem and the solution from Igor. ??? ??? ???

Explanation of Igor: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=13069.msg111218#msg111218
Explanation of Sasha: http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=7178.msg56670#msg56670
The best things in life are free.

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48652
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #48 on: May 09, 2005, 05:01:38 AM »
Technical
On MY COMPUTOR I haven't had another error with ashServ.exe since I've made the
stated change. I don't know what else I can tell you.
Prior to making the change, I had those shutdown errors frequently.
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #49 on: May 09, 2005, 03:22:37 PM »
On MY COMPUTOR I haven't had another error with ashServ.exe since I've made the stated change. I don't know what else I can tell you. Prior to making the change, I had those shutdown errors frequently.
What can I say to you? I did the same change and in the same day... Wow, the error appear.
Changed back to the default, error is gone   ::)
The best things in life are free.

RJARRRPCGP

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #50 on: May 10, 2005, 06:08:18 AM »
hi y all,

just do it:

start/panel control/system/advanced/performance/configuration/data prevention execution.  set second option and add  ashserv.exe   in the avast directory.
that's all!!!

john lui,
So far, so good. :)

To make things a little easier for those with less computer skills, see if this helps:

Start--> Control Panel --> System --> Advanced --> Performance Settings --> Data Execution Prevention -->
Turn on DEP for all programs and services except those I select --> set second option and add  ashserv.exe   
(By default it is located in:   C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\ashServ.exe .


Here are some screen shots to help guide you.
 
 
After this is done, you MUST reboot the system for the settings to take effect.

If this truly works, this is one American who'll gladly kiss a Frenchman..... ;D ;D


Hi Bob 3160,

I'm glad It worked up well for y and I must thank y for the terrific job you've done. The ida was just to show the solution and as y can see the problem lies on the windows system. In fact ,this error also happens with other other antivirus programs like mcfee, for example.
Now to try to help those who are not using windows XP SP2 or server 2003 SP1 like WIN2K I suggest do this:
Although this dammed DEP may not be present, there must be a internal configuration that activates it, with a different name. To find out just use the windows HELP (start/ help support) and do a research with keys like: "data execution prevention","execution prevention","memory prevention","hardware/software memory protection"and so on. I'll try to get a Win2k machine and see if I can post a solution as soon as possible.

there's something else: I'm a Brazilian and a hand shake would be just fine!!!

DEP exists in Windows XP SP2 only. Windows XP SP1 and Windows 2000 don't have it.

john lui

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #51 on: May 10, 2005, 05:20:36 PM »
Technical
On MY COMPUTOR I haven't had another error with ashServ.exe since I've made the
stated change. I don't know what else I can tell you.
Prior to making the change, I had those shutdown errors frequently.

BOB,

Let him in the dark!!!   


Pay no attention to what people say. It’s possible that the solution posted may not work for all cases. That’s Ok! There must be other variables involved, depending on the machine and the operating system used. But to say  It does not work at all...it is too much for me to bear!! God, we can’t even tell if the error messages are the same!! The Ashserv.exe is a service that depends on other windows services like RPC…what if the latter has a problem? Is it not reasonable to expect an ashserv.exe error message?
Now, to try to help those who still have the problem   just visit the link bellow to a Microsoft article that teaches how to manually edit the boot.ini and change the switch that disables DEP in the system for good!!!
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/security/prodtech/windowsxp/depcnfxp.mspx

Best regards
« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 05:25:17 PM by john lui »

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67194
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #52 on: May 10, 2005, 07:12:10 PM »
BOB,
Let him in the dark!!!

Who?
Why should Bob do such a thing? Why do you think in this forum the things work like you post?
Who deserves to be in the dark?  :(
The best things in life are free.

john lui

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #53 on: May 10, 2005, 09:47:49 PM »
BOB,
Let him in the dark!!!

Who?
Why should Bob do such a thing? Why do you think in this forum the things work like you post?
Who deserves to be in the dark?  :(

Technical,

I didn’t mean to be rude to you! I just question you anti-proactive attitude of just keeping yourself repeating what other say like a mad parrot, forgetting to do or to say anything positive to the group. From the beginning, I did not say that the solution I posted would solve every problem. In fact I even sent you an e-mail stating clearly it was for win XP SP2 only! Have you forgotten this? My intention was just to help the group. Though I’m not an Avast heavy user (I like KAV most), I’m to say that I know a few tricks in this field.
Now, I don’t have to prove anything to you. Usually, people pay me very well for providing solutions. As a matter of fact, I finally got a  WIN XP SP1 Machine today with the same problem. And you know what? I solved it!!!!
See y!
« Last Edit: May 11, 2005, 12:56:01 PM by john lui »

john lui

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #54 on: May 10, 2005, 10:24:18 PM »
BOB,
Let him in the dark!!!

Who?
Why should Bob do such a thing? Why do you think in this forum the things work like you post?
Who deserves to be in the dark?  :(

Hi all,

Those using WIN XP SP1 and I think will fit W2K too(Did not test it).

The solution is:

START/CONTROL PANEL/SYSTEM/ADVANCED/INITIALIZATION AND RECUPERATION/SETTINGS/RECORDING INFORMATIONS AND .../SET NONE/OK



Technical,

I didn’t mean to be rude to you! I just question you anti-proactive attitude of just keeping yourself repeating what other say like a mad parrot, forgetting to do or to say anything positive to the group. From the beginning, I did not say that the solution I posted would solve every problem. In fact I even sent you an e-mail stating clearly it was for win XP SP2 only! Have you forgotten this? My intention was just to help the group. Though I’m not an Avast heavy user (I like KAV most), I’m to say that I know a few tricks in this field.
Now, I don’t have to prove anything to you. Usually, people pay me very well for providing solutions. As a matter of fact, I finally got a  WIN XP SP1 Machine today with the same problem. And you know what? I solved it!!!!
See y!
« Last Edit: May 11, 2005, 12:57:22 PM by john lui »

hpoehrli

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #55 on: May 11, 2005, 10:40:25 AM »
May it be as it may be...
tested the above advice on my W2K, but no success, actually no change at all. Just at the first start after the change the prog 'hpoopm07.exe terminated. I do not know anything about this, and no problem with that since.

Here again the message when shutting off:
ashserv exe
The instruction 0x77889cb8 points to memory 0xc0000118
The action read could not be executed on the memory
(this is my translation from German)

It is worthwhile to note, that this message has never changed from the first time it appeared, long ago, very long...

Online bob3160

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 48652
  • 64 Years of Happiness
    • bob3160 Protecting Yourself, Your Computer and, Your Identity
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #56 on: May 11, 2005, 02:20:22 PM »
hpoehrli,
Quote
tested the above advice on my W2K, but no success, actually no change at all. Just at the first start after the change the prog 'hpoopm07.exe terminated. I do not know anything about this, and no problem with that since.
The program you mentioned referrs to your HP Multifuntion Printer and you can get further info at the following link.
http://www.liutilities.com/products/wintaskspro/processlibrary/hpoopm07/
Free Security Seminar: https://bit.ly/bobg2023  -  Important: http://www.organdonor.gov/ -- My Web Site: http://bob3160.strikingly.com/ - Win 11 Pro v24H2 64bit, 32 Gig Ram, 1TB SSD, Avast Free 24.4.6112, How to Successfully Install Avast http://goo.gl/VLXdeRepair & Clean Install https://goo.gl/t7aJGq -- My Online Activity https://bit.ly/BobGInternet

cartel

  • Guest
Re: Virus that goes undetected
« Reply #57 on: May 11, 2005, 03:07:06 PM »
???
I just went to mcafee's site and downloaded a test virus, Avg virusscanner found it as a virus , Avast Did'nt???
http://images.secureie.com/mcafee_q6/lp4/0304_siepie_lp_02.asp?s=468_1637

Well I just tried the same thing and avast picked up the test virus immediately...  Apart from that, you seem to have posted under the wrong topic.  Is there anyone else out there getting the ashServ.exe error at shutdown? :)

I saved the file and there it is........no alarm till i try to open it....... ?


john lui

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #58 on: May 11, 2005, 03:32:25 PM »
May it be as it may be...
tested the above advice on my W2K, but no success, actually no change at all. Just at the first start after the change the prog 'hpoopm07.exe terminated. I do not know anything about this, and no problem with that since.

Here again the message when shutting off:
ashserv exe
The instruction 0x77889cb8 points to memory 0xc0000118
The action read could not be executed on the memory
(this is my translation from German)

It is worthwhile to note, that this message has never changed from the first time it appeared, long ago, very long...


Hi,

It is clear now that there are different error messages regarding Ashserv.exe. The one I referred to says: The instruction at X referenced at memory Y the memory could not be written. So we’re talking about different problems. Anyway, let’s see if I can help you.
The prog HPoopm07.exe, as BOB pinpointed, is a non-essential process( disabling or enabling it won’t help) from your HP device. So its crash doesn’t have to do with the main problem. Let’s fish! If there is an error message there must be a register reporting this fact somewhere in a log file or in the event viewer, for example. The idea is to try to find out the prog that the instruction (0x77889cb8) belongs to. The question to be answered is: Does it belong to Avast code or to other prog that triggers a service that Avast depends on ?    look for any log file in your computer( find *.log, *.txt) and take a look in the events log. Post it if you are successful.

Good luck !

hpoehrli

  • Guest
Re: Error - ashServ.exe
« Reply #59 on: May 12, 2005, 08:59:18 AM »
dear john lui

thanks for your help and advice.
The error message text is the same I guess, translation is always a problem!
I found two files of the UNP type, unfortunately they are already rather old. Since then I have replaced the RAM, have now almost 300M
As I mentioned the message content has never changed, eg the locations
I attached the two files here.

Hanspeter