Author Topic: Check for full screen applications doesn't work  (Read 13134 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« on: August 17, 2005, 06:37:45 PM »
I was just playing CounterStrike - Source when all the sudden my PC (which is not that weak) starts trashing on HDD like nuts,everything starts to work like with 4 frames per second,i look at box and HDD is blinking like nuts. Had no clue until i saw blue box moving down through full screen game. Then i knew what was the reason for that trashing. Can you fix this because it's very annoying that the VPS popup interups full screen games.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31343
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2005, 06:43:46 PM »
I remember having seen another trhread with the solution.
Think it was disabling the popup notification (or something like that).

You can also set Windows to let applications not to steal focus.
That should also work.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2005, 06:47:18 PM »
I know that works,but then whats the meaning of the Full screen checking option?
I want to see popups when working on desktop,but not being disturbed while working in full screen apps or games.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2005, 07:46:15 PM »
I want to see popups when working on desktop,but not being disturbed while working in full screen apps or games.
As far I know this should be the behavior: avast! should detect if any full screen application is active and disable the messages.
When the user is on normal view, the messages will be shown  ::)
The best things in life are free.

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2005, 07:51:36 PM »
Yes in theory,but my case proved that it doesn't work that well...
I got popup through full screen game viewport...
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline xistenz

  • Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 632
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2005, 07:54:25 PM »
This has also happened to mw while I was playing a full screen game. Effects just as RejZoR described.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11772
    • AVAST Software
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2005, 07:56:16 PM »
Hmm, that's bad. Unfortunatelly, it's not that simple to detect whether a full-screen game is running (i.e. it's not such a simple feature you might think).

I know it's hard to say, but do you think it doesn't work at all for you, or it only sometimes fails? (I don't know how often you are playing... do you think that it already worked a few times?)

By the way, what exactly does it mean "saw blue box moving down through full screen game"? I mean - did it behave exactly the same as previously (when this option wasn't there?) The hard disk activity could have been caused by the VPS update itself...

What is the version of your DirectX / OS?

« Last Edit: August 17, 2005, 07:58:26 PM by igor »

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2005, 08:11:05 PM »
Well before i saw it moving up and then down. This time it just strated trashing HDD real bad (no popup yet!). I became very angry because such slowdowns aren't too good when playing online in such fast game as CS:S,but then the sliding popup moved down and i was able to see it flashing through the display of the game.
It's hard to test because you can't simulate those popups unless you release VPS update. But happened few times now exactly in CS:S.

Not sure for other games because i don't know if there was any update while i was plaing them. But if you can check for full screen apps using process names you can add "hl2.exe" to an exclusion. So while "hl2.exe" process is active it shouldn't popup those boxes.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #8 on: August 17, 2005, 08:48:46 PM »
It's hard to test because you can't simulate those popups unless you release VPS update.
Is there a way to simultate it, Igor?
The best things in life are free.

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11772
    • AVAST Software
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2005, 09:02:17 PM »
I'm afraid I don't know any easy way...  :-\  Maybe something like installing an older version, possibly with network cable unplugged, and then plugging it in and letting it download the VPS update... but that's certainly not very nice.

Nice avatar, btw.

Offline XMAS

  • Avast translator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1211
  • Santa is watching you ;)
    • avast! in Bulgarian
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #10 on: August 17, 2005, 09:50:29 PM »
I noticed the same problem. While I was playing GTA:Vice City today the computer started to think a lot and after that I saw the box flashing and I heard the sound about the VPS update  ???
You've Got To Get Close To The Flame To See What It's Made Of...

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11772
    • AVAST Software
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #11 on: August 17, 2005, 09:53:15 PM »
So, has anything changed since the last version, or is the behavior exactly the same as before?
Oh, and you do have the option checked, right? ;)  (it's not checked by default)

Offline XMAS

  • Avast translator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1211
  • Santa is watching you ;)
    • avast! in Bulgarian
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #12 on: August 17, 2005, 10:01:17 PM »
So, has anything changed since the last version, or is the behavior exactly the same as before?

What do you mean with changed since last version?
I don't usually play games, so I can't say anything about before. I play games very rare.
This happened today.
Well this may happened before but I'm not the only one who uses this PC, I must ask the others.

Oh, and you do have the option checked, right? ;) (it's not checked by default)


Yes I have checked the option  ;)
You've Got To Get Close To The Flame To See What It's Made Of...

Offline RejZoR

  • Polymorphic Sheep
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *****
  • Posts: 9353
  • We are supersheep, resistance is futile!
    • RejZoR's Flock of Sheep
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #13 on: August 17, 2005, 10:06:05 PM »
Me too (doublechecked it just now). Basically it's the same. Ok,now its even writing/reading something real bad to/from HDD. Before it was just distrupting the screen and framerate dropped. Now the framerate drops and HDD is trahsing. SO technically it got even worse,but basically its pretty much the same.
Visit my webpage Angry Sheep Blog

Offline XMAS

  • Avast translator
  • Super Poster
  • ***
  • Posts: 1211
  • Santa is watching you ;)
    • avast! in Bulgarian
Re: Check for full screen applications doesn't work
« Reply #14 on: August 17, 2005, 10:10:14 PM »
Well as about the time when the VPS updates: Everytime when avast! is installing the VPS update my PC hangs for a few seconds, even my winamp stops playing, but I tough that it's normal.
« Last Edit: August 17, 2005, 10:14:56 PM by _x_m_a_s_ »
You've Got To Get Close To The Flame To See What It's Made Of...