Author Topic: ZA and avast!  (Read 18930 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #45 on: September 23, 2005, 09:35:35 PM »
Well, I'm not too interested in a lot of rumors posted at forums.
Well, like David said, they're more than rumors... Not all the forums are bla-bla-bla. If you don't want to believe in any of them, believe in avast! forums  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline cvsa

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 275
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #46 on: September 24, 2005, 03:40:25 PM »
to be back to the original subject of this thread, i decided to switch back to za 5.5.109.

even if i didn't experienced crashes during browsing (i'm on win 98se...)

i had troubles shutting down the computer (vsmon didn't close) and my computer was really slowing down with za6..... :-\
Win xp and Vista  - Comodo Firewall v4 - Mozilla Firefox  - Foxmail 5.0 - Avast! v5

Offline internetworld7

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • avast! Antivirus + Mac OS X = Solid Security
    • Coffee Tips, Articles And Recipes
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #47 on: September 26, 2005, 08:53:15 AM »
When you install the most recent version of ZoneAlarm firewall, avast! will pop up a message that says it has detected incompatible software. avast! gives you the option to disable the web shield transparent proxy setting. Selecting this option does not leave your computer unprotected or vulnerable, neither is the webshield feature disabled. I went to eicar.org and tested the web shield and it worked just fine as usual. The avast! message also says that they are working with ZoneLabs to fix this issue. You also have the option to manually adjust your browser proxy settings to correct this as well, though I wasn't clear on how to do this. Hope this helps. :)
"Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God." - John 3:5

Offline polonus

  • Avast √úberevangelist
  • Probably Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 32436
  • malware fighter
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #48 on: September 26, 2005, 11:53:57 PM »
Hello you all,

I want the word of the experts here?
After a clean install what to install first FW or AV.
Or install FW and AV first from a CD (avast and ZA)  and after that connect to the Internet? For my little cousin in Poland I took the latter option, first installed, then connected the dial-up in his case.
What is the best policy. Anyone?

greets,

polonus
« Last Edit: September 26, 2005, 11:56:05 PM by polonus »
Cybersecurity is more of an attitude than anything else. Avast Evangelists.

Use NoScript, a limited user account and a virtual machine and be safe(r)!

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #49 on: September 27, 2005, 12:07:49 AM »
When you install the most recent version of ZoneAlarm firewall, avast! will pop up a message that says it has detected incompatible software.
In fact, only ZA Pro and specifically the privacy features have incompatibility with avast.
ZA free works perfectly with avast! (in my personal experience)  8)
The best things in life are free.

Offline Hipwr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #50 on: September 27, 2005, 02:12:38 AM »
I've been using them together for 7 or 8 months. Just be sure to allow the AV updater access to the internet.

Offline nnnnnpatel

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: ZA and avast!
« Reply #51 on: September 27, 2005, 06:29:32 AM »
I had similar problems where my machine would reboot.  The cure that I found was disable avast first.  Then install latest ZA.  During installation when it asks if you are using antivirus, then answer NO.  Reboot and everything should work

nnnnnpatel