Author Topic: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages  (Read 6368 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1872
    • AVAST Software
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2016, 04:18:11 PM »
You can try to turn script scanning off - in the Settings of WebShield.

Offline lukor

  • Avast team
  • Super Poster
  • *
  • Posts: 1872
    • AVAST Software
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #16 on: May 20, 2016, 04:19:29 PM »
What about making a packet capture (or fiddler capture) of the traffic with and without webshield? If you'd have this, send it to me and we migh come up with some explanations.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2016, 06:45:31 AM »
Thank you for your attention!  :)
I have also tryed your suggestion to turn off script scanning but it does not change nothing...
Your suggestion is too technical for me.. could you explain me how to perform this "packet capture" and the tool to utilize?
BTW is there any avast log in which we can find some others useful information?
Thank you again

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2016, 07:19:11 AM »
Free and very good tool for packet capturing > https://www.wireshark.org/

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2016, 08:16:40 AM »
lukor have offered to help in analyzing the issue so I'd rather wait for their support about the correct way in performing the packet capture and the tool to adopt (as I said I am not too into developing stuffs).
I have taken a look on the site you suggested but seems that their tool is not the best as far as winXP is concerned:

"The  current  version  of  Wireshark  should  support  any  version  of  Windows  that  is  still  within  its
extended support lifetime. At the time of writing this includes Windows 10, 8, 7, Vista, Server 2016,
Server 2012 R2, Server 2012, Server 2008 R2, and Server 2008."

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #20 on: May 23, 2016, 08:23:32 AM »
https://www.wireshark.org/download/win32/all-versions/
Version 1.10.x is working fine on XP
« Last Edit: May 23, 2016, 08:27:16 AM by Eddy »

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #21 on: May 23, 2016, 08:40:23 AM »
thank you for your info.
The version at present available on the site is 2.0.3 and the old stable release is 1.12.11
Now, if you do not mind, I will wait for the reply of lukor

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #22 on: May 23, 2016, 08:47:21 AM »
See reply #16
Lukor did suggested to record the packets so he can have a look at them.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #23 on: May 23, 2016, 09:04:25 AM »
See reply #17 and see reply #19
please as I said in reply #7 and #9 refrain from reply to this topic

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #24 on: May 23, 2016, 09:32:52 AM »
Reply #17
Quote
could you explain me how to perform this "packet capture" and the tool to utilize?
I am giving you a tool that can be used.
It really isn't hard to use it.
- Install it
- Run it
- Normally the correct network device is selected, if not select the correct one
- Hit the capture button
- Try to open the routers IP in your browser.
- Stop the capture after about e.g. 3 minutes.
- Save the log file

Do those steps with and without the webshield enabled.
It really isn't hard to do.

Offline lsacchi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 21
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #25 on: May 23, 2016, 09:48:14 AM »
maybe you really do not understand: my request was for lukor and not for you
See reply #17, #19 and #21 (all your suggestion are useless)
from here on out I will ignore all your replies


Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #26 on: May 23, 2016, 10:08:30 AM »
You came to a public webboard for help.
Be glad that there are people who are willing to help you for free here.

Help Lukor and at the same time yourself.
Create the two logs and let Lukor have a look at them.
Keep in mind that he isn't using your system.
That means you need to give him the information he wants.

Offline s.luca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #27 on: May 23, 2016, 10:20:44 AM »
Mybe you are a troll...

I will wait for lukor reply


Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31352
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #28 on: May 23, 2016, 10:22:18 AM »
The only troll here seem to be you.

You come here asking for help and then you refuse to accept it. :(
« Last Edit: May 23, 2016, 10:26:22 AM by Eddy »

Offline s.luca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: AVAST 2015 is blocking router administrative pages
« Reply #29 on: May 23, 2016, 10:52:01 AM »
I don't think so and anyone can see the poor level of help that you give.

- You were only able to insistently suggest to upgrade the version when I clarify that I did not want to do so (reply #1, #3, #6, #8...
...honestly in reply #8 you give also a very "meditated" technical explanation:
"The blank page has happened before and avast has changed things to make it work correctly." ...?? non sense!!

When I finally got a reply from an avast representative (lukor) and was asking HIM some help, then you made another inappropriate intervention suggesting a tool that is no more used for WinXP (on the site documentation is clearly reported that support for winxp is "deprecated" since release 1.12.0 and the only versions available are 2.0.3 and 1.12.11)
...I wonder if you are an "evangelist" or a sales representative... (I could exclude the first...)

Finally you insist in reply when you were asked (more and more times) from refrain to do so that is trolling to me.

I hope NOT to hear from you soon!