Author Topic: Ashserv error  (Read 15493 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Ashserv error
« on: January 08, 2004, 05:35:30 PM »
Hi folks
Some background.
I had to do a complete format of a laptop and re-installed Windows XP, then installed AVAST.
Input registration key went fine, with blue ball spinning..all seems fine.
When I "Turn Off" XP, I get a application error about ASHSERV.EXE not being able to access some memory space...click "OK" to close application. Whether I click "OK" or not, it goes away and XP closes.
Can anyone provide a reason for this happening and/or a possible fix to prevent it from happening.
Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Offline igor

  • Avast team
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11761
    • AVAST Software
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2004, 05:39:06 PM »
Can you post the exact error message (with all the possible information), please?

Ogw

  • Guest
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2004, 05:45:20 PM »
is your xp updated? because some microsoft hotfixes correct shutdown troubles

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2004, 05:51:01 PM »
Hi Ogw
Yes, all critical updates were done before installing AVAST (forgot to mention that.. sorry)
Hi igor
That I will try to do..it is on the screen for 10 secs, so I have to write fast, or repeatedly do a shutdown to get all the information. I will make sure I come back with that information.
Your input is appreciated.
Thanks

Ogw

  • Guest
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2004, 07:43:33 PM »
fredra, isn't there anything in the windows events (start > administrative tools > events)? maybe you have your answer there without the need for copying it.

as i can see at the settings, avast seems to have a log viever/generator too, but you may know more than i'm just a newbie.

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2004, 07:48:02 PM »
Hi Ogw
It stopped doing it a few times, then for some reason started again.
Here is the error message.
0x77F58DDF referenced memory at 0x000000 the memory could not be written. Press "OK" to end application.
If I don't press "OK" it goes away and the laptop shuts down.
I will take a look at the "event viewr" to see if there is any notification, but I doubt it as it is after XP says it is saving settings.
Thanks
Any further insight would be appreciated.
Cheers

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2004, 02:20:35 AM »
Does anyone have any ideas for this or why it is happening?  ::)
Thanls

Offline ash

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
  • LP all the way
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2004, 03:30:29 PM »
Hi there

have u tried to repair avast

If not try Control panel>add remove programs>avast>change/remove option and select repair from that menu.

Hope it helps
 :)
i hate signatures

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2004, 01:41:20 AM »
Hi Ash
I will try that...thanks.
Your help is appreciated.
If you don't mind, I will report back after doing that and rebooting a few times.
Cheers

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67274
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2004, 01:10:45 PM »
Hi Ash
I will try that...thanks.
Your help is appreciated.
If you don't mind, I will report back after doing that and rebooting a few times.
Cheers

fredra, I have other threads with avast! and your answer could be useful to 'study' my troubles. I'm waiting for them. Very thanks.  ;)
The best things in life are free.

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2004, 04:27:09 PM »
You are welcome.
I am looking at the dependency service that AVAST requires. It is a slow process, as I have to turn them "ON" if they are "OFF".(one at a time) .run testing for a few days and see the results. If no impact, then reverse the process.
So far I am taking a deliberate approach to finding the possible solution for my specific situation. So far I have no answers, but I will keep digging until I run out of patience.
Cheers

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2004, 04:48:50 PM »
The error  you are getting is refering to bad ram (0x77F58DDF) Test the ram with a prog like you can find here http://www.simmtester.com/

Offline Eddy

  • Avast Evangelist
  • Maybe Bot
  • ***
  • Posts: 31345
  • Watching (over?) you
    • Malware removal, Biljart and other things.
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2004, 04:53:12 PM »
Sorry posted the wrong address :( Here is the correct one http://hcidesign.com/memtest/download.html

Offline fredra

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 39
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #13 on: January 12, 2004, 07:30:25 PM »
Hi Artras
Good point....appreciated.
I will check that ASAP and report back.
Thanks
Cheers

Offline Vlk

  • Avast CEO
  • Serious Graphoman
  • *
  • Posts: 11665
  • Please don't send me IM's. Email only. Thx.
    • ALWIL Software
Re:Ashserv error
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2004, 07:38:11 PM »
HW problem? Very hardly...
It seems to be a problem in avast, but since it only appers when you shut down the computer, it's very difficult to diagnose it...

Please look to the folder <avast>\data\log, do you see any file which names start with unp there?

Thanks
Vlk
If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving's not for you.