Author Topic: 0xc0000005 application error  (Read 11074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline lost123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
0xc0000005 application error
« on: July 03, 2007, 05:14:52 AM »
when i start up avast nothing runs, and i do not have an avast icon in the icon tray at bottom of screen. but instead a error message saying the application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000005). click on ok to terminate the application.The applications in question are ashavast.exe and ashdisp.exe. and yes i am the administer of this computer so i don't think it would be an access denial problem...

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2007, 05:27:24 AM »
Error 5 means access denied. Sorry, that's the info...
Did you boot after installing?

Do you use XP or Vista?
Do you use any other antivirus in your computer?

Can you try to repair your installation?
Go to Control Panel > Add/Remove programs > avast! antivirus > Remove. Then choose Repair function in the popup window (Repair). You must be connected to the internet while repairing.

If this does not help, can you uninstall / boot / install / boot again?
The best things in life are free.

Offline lost123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2007, 05:34:39 AM »
yes i booted after installing i use windows xp and when i try t remove in add/remove and the pop up comes up that says change uninstall or update, whenever i click on either uninstall or change to repair it, the window disappears and it takes me back to add/remove and nothing happens after that. ive tried uninstalling and installing multiple times. if it is an access denial problem is there any chance something happened and it thinks im not the administrator?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2007, 03:00:23 PM »
Ive tried uninstalling and installing multiple times.
1. Uninstall avast from Control Panel the last time...
2. Boot if step 1 works...
3. Use Avast Uninstall for complete uninstallation.
4. Boot.
5. Install again the last version.
6. Boot.
The best things in life are free.

Offline lost123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2007, 07:24:59 PM »
sadly i have just finished uninstalling rebooting using avast tool to uninstall rebooted and then installed and rebooted and i am still facing the same issue.  ??? is there a chance that somehow i clicked on something and it thinks I'm not the administrator?

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2007, 08:34:56 PM »
After you install, can you post the last 100-150 lines of avast log?
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
The best things in life are free.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83011
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2007, 09:17:38 PM »
What version of avast are you using, current is 4.7.1001 ?

Are you installing avast into a different location to the default location (C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4) ?
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline lost123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #7 on: July 04, 2007, 01:17:31 AM »
yes i am using the current version of avast and it is in the write spot. tech im having problems with the log after i get into C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA it doesnt have a log folder  :( it only has a report folder skin folder and 400.vps file i news internet document and...avast4 config settings. theres no log folder :(  ???

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83011
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2007, 02:45:58 AM »
Well for some reason it isn't completing the installation as there should be a number of sub-folders and files in the DATA folder.

Because of the access denied that is possibly why it is failing to complete, I would suggest that you use the add remove programs to uninstall avast again (may fail if incomplete install), reboot, run the uninstall utility again and reboot. Now I assume you installed using an account with administrative privileges, but can you try logging on as 'The Administrator' and try an install I would like to hope that you wouldn't have permission issues as 'the administrator.'
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline lost123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #9 on: July 04, 2007, 02:58:03 AM »
sadly I'm the only user of the computer there is my user or guest for this computer :( um do you have any other suggestions other then changing users because I'm the only 1.....maybe i clicked something where my access was set to limited? other then that im stumped on why it doesnt see my as an administrator.

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83011
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2007, 03:12:23 AM »
There is another account that doesn't appear and that is 'the administrator' account, although you didn't say what version of XP you have I'm guessing Home ?

http://windowsxp.mvps.org/admins.htm
http://www.theeldergeek.com/missing_administrator_account.htm
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/321305
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/290109
Quote
MORE INFORMATION
The Administrator account is not displayed in User Accounts unless the computer is in Safe mode. To change the password for the Administrator account:
1.   Click Start, click Turn Off Computer, and then click Restart.
2.   After the computer completes the Power On Self Test (POST), press F8, and then click Safe mode.

NOTE: If you have difficulty getting to the Safe mode menu command, press F8 repeatedly after you turn on the computer.
3.   Log on as an Administrator, or with another account that has Administrator permissions.
4.   Click Start, click Settings, click Control Panel, and then click User Accounts.
5.   Click the Administrator icon.
6.   Click Create a Password or Change my password.
7.   Type a password for the account, and then retype the password to confirm it.
8.   Type a hint to help you remember the password in the event that you forget it.
9.   Click Create Password or Change Password.

If not, I have the Pro version on my logon I press Ctrl+Alt+Del twice I get a blank logon, I enter Administrator in the account name and the same password for my 'only' other account mine. If you haven't set a password for your main account that will probably be the same, leave the password blank.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline lost123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #11 on: July 04, 2007, 03:35:20 AM »
so David yes i do have home edition your assumed correct. but then that means i can only truly log onto administrator Account in safe mode so that means i can only use avast in safe mode?

Offline DavidR

  • Avast Überevangelist
  • Certainly Bot
  • *****
  • Posts: 83011
  • No support PMs thanks
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #12 on: July 04, 2007, 02:02:32 PM »
No it doesn't by installing avast as the administrator it will be available to all users.
The same is true when you install it as a user with administrator privileges (had it worked), it is available to guest/limited users.
WinXP ProSP3/ Core2Duo E8300/ 4GB Ram/ avast! free 18.5.2342/ Firefox ESR, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro7.11.0/ DropMyRights/ WinPatrol+/ Drive Image 7.1/ SnagIt 10.0/ avast! mobile security
Windows 10 Home 1909 64bit/ Acer Aspire F15/ Intel Core i5 7200U 2.5GHz, 8GB DDR4 memory, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD/ avast! free 20.2.2401 (build 20.2.5130.570) UI-1.0.505/ WinPatrol+/ Firefox, uBlock Origin, uMatrix/ MailWasher Pro

Offline kawak

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #13 on: July 07, 2007, 05:06:04 PM »
I have exactely the same problem with my Windows XP home edition  :(

I had to use the tool "UninstallUtility" to remove the program.
then i :
 . Boot.
 . Install again the last version.
 . Boot.
And it does'nt work.

I removed it again.
I start windows in safe mode to use 'the administrator' account
 and i install avast with this account and it does'nt work.

I tried many things but i have always the message :
 ashAvast.exe - Erreur d'application
 L'application n'a pas réussi à s'initialiser correctement (0xc0000005) ...

I'm French so i use a French version of XP  ;)

In english : Application Error - The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000005).

What can we do ???
 ???

Thanks

Offline Lisandro

  • Avast team
  • Certainly Bot
  • *
  • Posts: 67275
Re: 0xc0000005 application error
« Reply #14 on: July 07, 2007, 08:08:17 PM »
L'application n'a pas réussi à s'initialiser correctement (0xc0000005)
In english : Application Error - The application failed to initialize properly (0xc0000005).
It`s a matter of access rights (error 5).
Are you installing avast in the default path?
Is there only one account with administration rights?
Can you post the last 100-150 lines of avast log? C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast4\DATA\log\Setup.log
The best things in life are free.